We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wish they could switch Allegany with Niagara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Seneca Allegany Boulevard, Salamanca, NY 14779   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Salamanca
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Just wish they could switch Allegany with Niagara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Seneca Allegany is a great place to get away once in awhile but it's in the middle of nowhere. It's a tough drive from Niagara Falls especially if you have to drive at night when the deer are roaming about. I prefer Allegany over Niagara. Better customer service, not as smokey and as a penny slot player I seem to have a bit more luck here than in Niagara with emphasis on the word "bit". If I owned a casino I would offer a minimum 95% payback on penny slots. My casino would be filled to capacity every night because of it. Word would spread. Allegany like all casinos offer between 87% and 90% penny payback. We can only hope that one day Casino owners and management will get it.

I continue to have two wishes that so far have fallen on deaf ears. 1) enlarge the casino no-smoking area and prohibit smoking in all common areas off the casino floor. 2) stop with the annoying and unnerving announcements about the most recent jackpot winner. We penny players know that 99% of those jackpot winners are playing dollar or higher limit slots or are playing 300-500 pennies per spin.

Still, if the Seneca Allegany Casino Resort was in Niagara Falls I would go there every week in place of the Seneca Niagara and Niagara Fallsview Resorts. Great restaurants, great rooms, great customer service, it's spotless and offers great comps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    71
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
37
156
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

PRO: Beautiful hotel, great sized rooms, large bathroom, very updated decor, very clean, quiet nights sleep, firm mattress, great pillows, fair room rates for the room your getting

CONS: asked for non smoking room, were given a smoking room, didn't smell like smoke but ashtrays and matches were present, casino slots were tight, lots of machines but not a lot of variety, pricey snack and food establishments, no self serve "refreshment centers" and casino waitresses were scarce. Parking garage elevator doesn't serve hotel rooms.

FYI: If you have a Seneca Niagara players card, even though its linked you still need to register for Seneca Alleghany but you do not qualify for free play as a "new" member!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc P, Vice President of Resort Operations at Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you, helpingtheeconomy, for choosing Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel, and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and exceeded your expectations of quality, amenities and cleanliness. We take great pride in our facility and we appreciate your positive feedback.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed here four times, and EVERY TIME we have issues at check in! Once they lost our reservation; they won't guaranteed a handicapped room (isn't that against the law?); and we are never able to get rooms next to each other. We book our rooms MONTHS ahead, yet we always have problems. The clerk told us "You have to request that when you make the reservation", but our "requests" go ignored. Also, the food at the Cafe goes downhill every time we eat there, and breakfast there is expensive. Next year we will stay at the Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc P, Vice President of Resort Operations at Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi, Pauline53449. Thank you for your recent stay, though I am sorry to hear that your arrival needs were not available upon check in. We strive to to ensure your comfort and I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. Would you kindly contact me directly and it would be my pleasure to assist you further to ensure your many satisfied returns.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just returned from our overnight stay at the Seneca Allegany Casino. This is a great hotel with many great things going for it and very few opportunities. We booked our stay on the internet and ended up getting a good price with a promo code. We stayed on a Tuesday night into Wednesday so therefore it wasn't as crowded. Check-in was very easy and we stayed in a room on the 10th floor. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated and the bathroom is fantastic!! The bathroom has a walk-in shower, huge vanity area and separate toilet area. The show pressure and temp of the water is great!! We did notice however that the mattresses on the beds are very very firm..... we would have liked a softer mattress. We ate at the buffet which was great (make sure you have a players card for 2.00 off per person) and the staff there very accommodating. The only opportunity I saw there was the fact they only had one type of bread (sort of a wheat roll) and there weren't any other choices accept for the cornbread. We really enjoyed the Idaho mashed potatoes. We walked through the indoor pool area which is nice and off from that is an outside deck with a Jacuzzi. At the right time of day the sun shines right on the Jacuzzi and its fantastic. I used the fitness room which I really enjoyed. It has 2 treadmills, an elliptical, bikes, weight bench, free weights, and a Life Fitness weight system. It is well equipped for a hotel. The only suggestion I have for that was possibly adding some mirrors on one side of the wall for weight training. Finally, we enjoyed the casino however in order to earn 1 point you have to have $170 worth of activity on your card. My friend went up to ask at the desk how to earn points and this is how she found out. One thing I didn't like was that if your a new player you get $10 free slot play, however if you have been to Seneca Niagara and belong there you don't get that. I would think they would appreciate the "return business" so to speak and want to drive the business. Overall though we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would probably stay again and if they had the right promotion we definitely would.

Room Tip: room 1016 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from two nights at the Seneca Allegany Casino and Hotel. This was our sixth time staying there. The rooms are spotless and big and the hotel staff I have dealt with are very nice. The bathrooms are all tiled and very large. Obviously, I like the casino there alot. I play table games and it is very easy to get a seat or spot anytime. I like going early in the morning to the craps table. I am the only one there and the dealers are great. The restaurants are uneven, sometimes very good and sometimes not so much. Patria, the Italian place, I think suffers from this more than the steak place, The Western Door, which is generally very good. Also, you should choose wisely at the Thunder Mt. Buffet since some of the offerings are great and some just so so. And, yes, some items are a bit pricey, particularly if you go for something other than a house wine. I think if you are used to the rude and fast paced play at Atlantic City (partucularly craps), Seneca will be a welcome change. And if you get tired of gaming, take a ride to Jamestown to see the Lucy museum or Lake Chatauqua

Room Tip: The rooms in the original part of the hotel are larger than in the later addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc P, Vice President of Resort Operations at Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We love your FIRST CLASS review, freods! So happy to hear how much you enjoyed our luxuriously well-appointed accommodations and friendly table games. We aim for consistent, world-class service at every opportunity. Would you kindly contact me directly when you start planning lucky trip number 7 so that we are better prepared to dine you next visit?
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youngstown,ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The room was beautiful.....bathroom very large with an awesome shower and decorated beautiful....large tv...overlooking the mountains....much more than expected. King size bed very comfortable....lots of light.. Would surely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethport, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I visit the casino approximately once a week..and have also spent the night at the hotel . I think everything is GREAT about the casino and the hotel..except for the fact that I honestly NEVER win anything. I would like to just win enough to be able to stay for a few hours and play! So...my only suggestion would be to maybe loosen up the machines a bit! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel

Also Known As:
Seneca Allegany Hotel Salamanca
Seneca Allegany Hotel
Address: 777 Seneca Allegany Boulevard, Salamanca, NY 14779
Location: United States > New York > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seneca Allegany Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.