We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dudley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dudley Hotel to your Saves list
Dudley Hotel
132 Main Street, Salamanca, NY 14779   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Salamanca
1 review
“Great service....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great service. Will stay every time in town. Everyone is always friendly and goes out of the way to help. Decorated room for birthday, breakfast is a great deal and good food. This is a good value for your dollar and not far from the skiing area. Your second stay. While hotel is older your room has clean and large.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    17
    12
    28
See reviews for
17
31
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over MLK weekend. We stayed in the king suite-- which was fantastic! The room was beautiful and the staff were so friendly and nice. We will definitely be back! Great hotel and lovely history to it! We loved it!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I'm back at catching up with my New year's resolutions...to do reviews of places I enjoyed in my travels in 2012 and to keep up with things in a more timely fashion in 2013. As I reflect back on the summer of 2012..The Dudley stands out in my memory. It wasn't the charm of the historic building, nor the local colour of the people it collects...it was all about the welcome from the front desk when I arrived (July 26th I think) and the help to make my stay pleasant that solidifies the good memory. I arrived a bit late in the evening and I was tired. I wanted to stay connected with friends in chat but the reception of the internet wasn't very strong in my room so I sat in the hotel lobby. I was hungry and asked about local places to eat but the kindly lady at the the front desk offered to have something prepared from the kitchen. She ran over possible offerings of the day and I settled on pot roast. A little while later a huge plate of food arrived that was exactly what I needed and topped off by a way too generous portion of cake for dessert. If the adage of "a way to a man's heart is through his stomach" is correct...well the Dudley got to my heart instantly. The food exceeded my expectations...I still drool thinking about it....and the kindly hospitality was unmatched. I try to get to the area at least once each summer and you can be sure I will be at The Dudley again. Its great value, friendly staff...and good food! Three cheers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. lauderdale
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Dudley is a very old historic building. Too much remodeling to be of real historic interest. Staff friendly and helpful. Parking plentiful and apparently safe. The building itself needs some work but the room was certainly acceptable but not elegant by any means.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at the Dudley for 2 nights. Our room was well priced, clean and comfortable. The Dudley is dated but exactly as expected since it's a historical building and exudes a great deal of charm. There is a small town appeal here with friendly staff and residents in the town. The hotel is a short walk from a grocery store and a wonderful restaurant.
I would have no problem staying again and plan to in the future.
No pool or fitness center but the area holds more than enough excercise and activity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Okay, so let's manage some expectations. This is far, far from the Ritz, (not that they claim to be), but there are so many other reasons to stay here instead of at your run-of-the-mill hotel. Let's start with the staff: they are lively and interesting, and when you call to ask questions about the rooms, they're extremely helpful. Moreover, they easily accommodated a special situation for us. Next, the rooms are cheap! Especially for the area. Third, it has charm and personality. Fourth etc., you're tucked away in a neat little town, wake to a gorgeous view of the mountains, and there's a great little cafe a few blocks over (see Vittlesticks Cafe). There are also called cold sodas and numerous goodies for sale in the lobby of the hotel, along with free coffee, when requested, round-the-clock. A great place to stay, especially if you have a touch of adventurer inside.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Right in the center of town, friendly reception, beautiful lobby and clean comfortable room. And this is all at a reasonable .....no cheap price. Had supper at a beautiful restaurant within walking distance. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dudley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dudley Hotel

Address: 132 Main Street, Salamanca, NY 14779
Location: United States > New York > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Exceptional Value" best describes this special historic hotel. The Dudley is a unique and wonderful property steeped in history and charm, complimented with outstanding customer service and modern day touches. Come and experience the perfect combination of Tradition, Convenience, Quality, and Value. The hotel boasts 47 clean, comfortable guest rooms … featuring many renovated rooms and 3 suites. This wonderful property is centrally located in scenic foothills of Salamanca and uniquely situated on the Seneca Nation of Indians Allegany Territory. Its location is not only central within this heavily touristed region but also within the town of Salamanca itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Dudley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dudley Hotel Salamanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dudley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.