We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Atmosphere--Just Plain Bad Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vittlesticks Cafe

Vittlesticks Cafe
54 Maple Street, Salamanca, NY
(716) 945-4525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 25 Restaurants in Salamanca
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint Atmosphere--Just Plain Bad Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Its was basically the worst dining experience we ever had. The sandwiches were a joke they should have been embarrassed to serve them. The salami and ham sandwich we had only had one micro thin piece of meat on them. The cream of broccoli soup tasted like dirty dish water,the French onion soup wasn't to bad. Atmosphere was nice but you don't eat the atmosphere. I would not go back and would not recommend this place to anyone. Trying to support the locals didn't pay off this time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The whole experience was bad. The menu doesn't have much on it, we asked what was on a particular panini and it came out different, the bbq was microwaved (we were the only ones in the place and we could hear everything), and we ordered dessert to go and it took over ten minutes to receive it because the waitress had to run over to the grocery store across the parking lot to buy something to make it. I Unfortunately, I definitely would not return or recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem tucked away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went antiquing at the Salamanaca Antique Mall. It was lunch time and we'd seen Vittlesticks Cafe as we pulled into the Mall parking lot. It's a small, Victorian House located at the back corner of the parking lot. I am so glad we gave it a try. I had the pulled-pork sandwich and coleslaw. The bun was perfect for the sandwich, the pork was perfectly shredded and with delicious barbecue flavor - not too drenched in sauce or overpowering. The sweet, mayo-based slaw was a perfect complement to the sandwich. Husband had a hamburger that was obviously freshly prepared and not pre-pattied or frozen. The service was spot-on. We were told that the owners hope to convert the property to a bed&breakfast. I'm not certain if the location would support that change, but I do hope that others discover the great food so as to keep it up and running.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Go in fall=local APPLE cider!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Everything here was good, and was reasonably priced. Small quaint place. Only downfall is they close early. Like today I was gonna revisit and they were closing at 2:30pm(the day after July forth). I SO wanted to return. Decor inside was beautiful, and clean restrooms too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Go in fall=local APPLE cider!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Everything here was good, and was reasonably priced. Small quaint place. Only downfall is they close early. Like today I was gonna revisit and they were closing at 2:30pm(the day after July forth). I SO wanted to return. Clean restrooms too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vittlesticks Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Vittlesticks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vittlesticks Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.