We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Group Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allegany State Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allegany State Park Campground
Save
You added Allegany State Park Campground to your Saves list
2373 Allegany State Park, Rte. 1, Suite 3, Salamanca, NY 14779   |  
Hotel amenities
Clarence Center, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Winter Group Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were 1 of 7 couples staying at Group Camp 5 in Allegany State Park in the depths of winter 2014. This is the group of cabins recently built along with a new bathhouse and a refurbished dining hall. We had a great weekend that included lots of food, games, movies, music and friendship. The dining hall had plenty of room for everyone to spread out and included a commercial kitchen with tons of refrigerator space and a freezer. Each of the 18 rooms in 10 structures had 4 bunks, table with benches and propane heat that kept it very comfortable at all hours. The brand new bath house had 8 individual toilet/shower/sink/dressing areas each that were handicap accessible. The only complaint was that there was not quite enough hot water. The showers tended to be lukewarm but the bathrooms were heated and comfortable. There was a large stoned fire ring with benches that enabled us to have a large campfire that felt great for a cold winter evening. Everyone had a great time. Would highly recommend this for a reunion of family or friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband came here frequently as a child to go camping. Lots of cabins and some by a creek. Outhouses by the cabins. Came here for the day. Nice museum at the inn with lots of mounted animals. General store there too. Loved the lakes. One is small with a dam and one is large with boating. Loved hiking there. Must see the Bear Caves and Thunder Rocks. Very peaceful place. Lots of natural beauty all around. Benches by the water too. $7 parking fee but no charge off season.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Cain Hollow area, loop B, site 76. Large wooded site with electric. Easy to back in with our 27' trailer. Level site, just backed in and set up.
We did 2 different hikes, and went to thunder rocks and had an outdoor "tail gate" picnic!
We love camping at Allegany.
We also drove through the Redhouse Camping area, I did not care for it, very close together, no privacy at all. Stick to Cain Hollow if you want "real" camping!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

ASP was the first place we stayed on our long-term camping trip throughout various parks in NY. And, considering it was a holiday weekend, I was expecting it to be busy so I made reservations well in advance.

First, we rolled into the place and checked in at the Quaker House area. We went to our site and we sat outside of the car for a few minutes trying to figure out what to do. The two sites adjacent to us were COMPLETELY overtaken by more than a single family. Our fire pit was somehow located behind their area and their tents were basically pushed to the outside of their area right next to where we would put our tents. The multiple tents, vehicles and five hundred chairs set-up let us know this was going to be a big, noisy group full of children. (Oh, right, and their two dogs that began barking non-stop as soon as we pulled up.) There was no privacy or expectation of a quieter evening.

Thankfully there were still three sites available that we were able to drive around and look at. (And also, the guy in the park office was exceedingly nice about it.) Just a general statement: some sites looked very nice and private, whereas others were completely out in the open. Additionally, some sites are much larger than others. You really have no way of knowing until you get there. We settled on a site that was MUCH quieter, albeit it small, and had a nice night. Adjacent to us was another couple with a dog that did not bark a single time we were there. (I will say Letchworth gets some points here in that they separate loops so that dog owners and those who do not own dogs do not stay on the same loops. I love dogs but I don't want to hear YOURS barking all night.) But there were SO many people with dogs and we constantly heard barking from most of them.

Unfortunately, the second night really demonstrates why I would not return to this park. The people across from me had visitors (or additional campers, who knows) show-up the second night they were there as well. For hours upon hours, these people drank. When I was first falling asleep, they were still quiet about it. Then, at some point in the middle of the night, after 2 AM, we began to hear these morons non-stop. There was yelling. There was screaming. There was fighting. There were threats. There were people throwing things. There were people zooming out of the site that were nice enough to BLARE their horn on the way out, probably driving drunk. This went on for some time. Where was the patrol? On such a busy, holiday weekend, when I saw people patrolling earlier in the day repeatedly, why wasn't anyone out there at night?

The bathrooms were okay. Better than Letchworth but not as nice as Watkins Glen. There are two showers and two stalls but numerous bathrooms scattered throughout. I would bring an extra roll of toilet paper, especially on the weekends or holidays because both nights I was there the stalls would run out of it. There are numerous trails, which were okay, and the lake is quite pretty but what you can and cannot do is not always clear. There is a general store outside of the site (pricey) but other than that you're quite a drive away from most things. Try to bring what you need in advance!

Room Tip: If you hate your site, definitely go back up to the park office and ask what is still available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

ASP is a beautiful park - it will meet your greatest expectations. If you stay at Red House campground - lower your expectations. It is noisy and crowded unlike the open spaces in the natural areas of the park. A number of campers are there to party day and night. Expect people to be yelling profanities and other drunken nonsense into the early morning hours. In spite of the park police, there are no patrols and if you complain, nothing will be done. The staff really couldn't care less.

The bathrooms are filthy and that is being generous. The number of barking and vicious dogs rivals a city neighborhood. The cost of wood is unbelievable ($7 per tiny bundle), and that is why most people smuggle or drag entire trailers of scrap wood into their campsites.

I do love the park and always return, but I don't waste time in the Red House campground with expectations of tranquility. And hey, there's always the casino and its delicious buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I have been going to Allegany State park for most of my life. It has been the highlight of every summer for many summers. Sometimes we'd go somewhere else for vacation and always we'd bemoan that we should have gone to ASP instead. We've given up on pricier vacations because the kids said this is MORE FUN THAN Disney or cruises or anything else we tried. It is amazing, but it just doesn't cost that much to rent a cabin there. You can opt for electricity free, super green cabins which are incredibly cheap or you can get an electric cabin for about double that (still a bargain). No running water. You walk to a flush or pit toilet that is shared with about 4 or 5 cabins and you get your water out of a spigot outside. It's roughing it easy-style, but still roughing it. You bring your own cook stuff and your own bedding. There are some new pricey full service cabins that are like hotel rooms, running water, flush indoor toilets etc for the super tenderfoot.

Google Allegany State Park cabin images to get a look at what they look like.

Bring a hand saw to cut some of your own wood from downed logs or simply buy a half or quarter cord of wood there. Nice fireplace pit outside and places to sit. You generally get a table with 2 benches that can go outside or inside and a park style bench that usually sits out by the firepit.

Bring your guitar, uke or any other unplugged instrument because campers like to sing. You can have your own family sing, join someone else's--just walk around, your neighbor is campfire singing talented or go to the Hootenanny that the park holds weekly for a big sing in.

Usually there are outdoor movies under the stars and if you don't like what's playing, Jamestown has a NEWish drive in theater with first run movies. They have a couple of screens. There is another drive in movie theater in Kane, PA. We've done them all and usually planned a few movies under the stars because nighttime in SW NY state is awesome. Gazillion stars...which reminds me in some years they have professional star gazers come and share their equipment and expertise on the starriest nights I've ever seen. All FREE for whomever shows up to see it and organized by the park.

You will be amazed at all the wildlife experts that work or volunteer at the park. Even in years where funding might have been better, this park attracts some of the country's best naturalists who give talks, walks and other special tutorials that will amaze you. It is different every year, but never ceases to amaze. There are so many things to do there that they put out a broadside with the week's offerings every week. All of these are free and come with your entrance into the park.

Two towns are nearby for groceries and other attractions. Salamanca, NY has a casino and several places near there hold rodeos in the summer and each year the Seneca nation hold an annual powwow that is the best we've ever seen. If you go south, you can go to Bradford, PA. The park sells a few groceries, but for the steaks you want to cook out, you might want to go into town.

Two things you will not find there...one is good cell phone reception. The other is no internet. If you go to the Dunkin Donuts in Salamanca, they have free internet there if you have to communicate with civilization, but other than that, you are captive with your family doing fun activities that will make for many happy memories.

You will never forget a vacation like one at Allegany State Park.

Room Tip: We liked the Quaker cabin area the best when the kids were younger, but when they were older, the Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

As an avid camper, I always look forward to my fall cabin getaway at ASP. A few steps up from a tent but certainly rustic, the cabins are a nice place to sit back and unwind. We prefer Quaker area but everyone has their own favorites. We have only ever stayed in the basic cabins with no electricity. You'll find a stove with a cooktop, a hutch to put supplies, a woodstove, some cots, a table with benches, and a bench or two outside. You can order wood when you arrive and they will come with a truck to deliver it. I think it's about $25 but well worth it. My husband had never heard of the park so taking him and introducing him to it's beauty was a treat for both of us. We usually go for my birthday which falls right in line for peak fall colors. Walking trails and taking in the beautiful fall colors and vistas of the park are just what we look forward to after the lazy hazy beach days in the summer. My family has been going to ASP for what seems like forever. My mom tells me stories of "dances" that they would hold at the lodge but I guess that was a different era all together. The lodge is a glorious Swedish-style tudor building that houses a restaurant, gift shop, museum, tourist information, and a beautiful sitting area that usually has a band playing in the afternoons. The views across the lake are stunning from here and at night the grounds fill with the "light bulb eyes" of protected deer. Be sure to take a spotlight at dusk and you'll see what I mean. You can't go wrong with this park, especially in the fall. Check out Thunder Rocks, it's pretty cool. ASP is a truly great place for stepping back in time and I know we will continue the tradition for years to come....See you on Friday Allegany!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allegany State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegany State Park Campground

Address: 2373 Allegany State Park, Rte. 1, Suite 3, Salamanca, NY 14779
Location: United States > New York > Salamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 144
Also Known As:
Allegany State Park Campground Hotel Salamanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegany State Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.