We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Park and Visitor Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allegany State Park

Allegany State Park
2373 ASP, Rte 1, Ste 3, Salamanca, NY 14779
(716) 354-9121
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Salamanca
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Snowmobiling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest state park in New York that offers hiking trails and camping.
Stephentown, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Park and Visitor Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Nice drive around the park, nice visitor center and gift shop. Got out to walk on the beach - LOADS of goose droppings made it a less than perfect experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Even in the rain, this park is amazing...expansive, well-maintained, and easy to get around. Don't miss the Stone Tower and Bridal Falls

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great day out for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Husband and daughter loved the trek!!!
Great scenery. Serene. Followed the river and the rocks and was amazed at the size of it all.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoneycreek
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Well maintained with many side roads to explore if driving. Would like to return at a warmer time to fully enjoy the many trails.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Winter Camping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My family and I just completed a winter camping trip to Allegany. We have been there in the summer but wanted to try icefishing the 2 lakes there. We rented a cabin and had a very good time. I was a little upset at the writing and name gouging that was done to the walls of the cabin but it didn't take away from the experience. There is a stove,refrigerator and very good heat in them.The park is beautiful in the winter. The ice fishing left something to be desired. Fish Quaker Lake if you go, we caught a lot of small fish but a least it kept everyone busy. There is not a lot to do outside the campground so plan all your activities for inside the park. I would definetely do this again, I only wish more State parks were open during the winter for cabin camping.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegany State Park also viewed

 

Been to Allegany State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegany State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.