We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overhyped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Madison & Main

Madison & Main
126 Main Street, Sag Harbor, NY 11963-3007
631-725-6246
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 39 restaurants in Sag Harbor
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Madison and Main Restaurant is located on Sag Harbor's Main St,formerly the Paradise Cafe. Madison and Main's co-owners, MichaelGluckman, notorious Hamptons restauranteur and Eric Miller of Food &Co. are a fantastic dynamic duo for this soon-to-be Hamptons hotspot.Classic American Style Cuisine Restaurant and Bar Service with on and off premise catering.An extensive menu features fresh local seafood to prime steaks, whilelocal produce make up large salads, all crafted by our own EricMiller. Keeping the cozy feel of Paradise, there have been some tweaksto the spot, the bar has been relocated to the front of the restaurantaccompanied by French doors that open up to Main St. Tables will beplaced along the sidewalk for those lucky diners who can secure aspot. With the bar upfront there is more space for dining. Largebanquets line the once covered 100 year old brick. Located in the rearof the restaurant is a majestic outdoor patio, filled with beach grassand twinkling lights. An attentive and energetic staff are sure toguarantee your best dining experience in the Hamptons.
New York
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After hearing are reading a lot about this place, decided to give it a try. It was quite busy for a mid week night. Bar is well stocked and drinks well made but very pricey. Menu is about what one would expect for an American style restaurant. One of us had a burger served on what appeared to be a store bought hamburger bun (which was too light for the sized burger and soggy to pick up) and some undercooked fried (try cutting them thinner) and a small overly wet side of cole slaw. Burger itself was too thick to serve medium rare without charring the outside (flame clearly too hot). Pickles straight from the jar! The other entrée was better but not overwhelming to make up for the overall kitchen quality issues. Most likely won't be back anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    18
    17
    6
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A place to dine if you don't want to hear anyone”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant has the highest noise level of any place we have ever eaten in the world. On a weekend night, we literally had to check off what we wanted on the menu since the waitstaff could not even hear us. Service decent but for these prices there are much more civilized restaurants with bar scenes in the area. First season and it seems to be a "happening place" but certainly not for serious eaters or anyone intending conversation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Enjoyed lunch here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Quick stop for lunch which was excellent. Can't vouch for dinner but the food and waiting staff were helpful and professional.

Even know a bit about local wines etc which surprised me for the lunch crew.

Worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptons. NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unpleasantly noisy, average food, excellent waiter.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We'd been to a show at the Bay Theater and this seemed a good spot for a late supper. Not really. We arrived at the clamoring, deafening bar area at 9.45PM. Spotting our gray hair, the greeter quickly found a table for us deeper in the long interior. Unfortunately, we were across from six shrieking young women who seemed to confuse conversation with cacophony (we try to avoid tables of celebratory young women; booze, decibels and estrogen levels run too high). Our enthusiastic waiter, Rick, quickly set us up with two glasses of sauvignon blanc. Soon after, we were digging into small plates of spicy meatballs and crab cakes. Neither choice impressed, they were bland to the point of 'meh'. A too vinegary side salad didn't redeem them. Maybe our food choices were poor but a return visit is not on the cards. As we left, we heard that that the noisy women had run up a tab of $300 without giving a tip. Clearly, more generous with noise than anything else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Be afraid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Be very afraid. Having experienced the best this place is the worst. Poseur do nothing manager, cheeky inefficient waiter. Patrons scary, not the usual Sag under the radar crowd. Food was ok and might have been acceptable without the distraction of the other very frustrating experiences. Trying too hard to be cool and everything's off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison & Main also viewed

Sag Harbor, Hamptons
Sag Harbor, Hamptons
 

Been to Madison & Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison & Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.