We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Not your typical BandB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborwoods Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sag Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harborwoods Guesthouse
Save
You added Harborwoods Guesthouse to your Saves list
1702 Sag Harbor Tpke, Sag Harbor, NY 11963   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sag Harbor B&B and Inns
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Place, Not your typical BandB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed here because of convenience. Only to find a wonderful, comfortable bed and breakfast, devoid of kitsch. Linens were luxurious, food was delicious, and decor was pleasant and unpretentious. Welcoming hosts without the standard bandb patter.
Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We have found it surprisingly hard to find good places to stay in Sag Harbor, but now we have one we will be back! Harborwoods was excellent - Barbro is amazingly welcoming and a great pancake cook. We stayed in the studio, which was spotless and very comfortable (5 stars for the bed). Only 5 mins into Sag Harbor, our favourite town on the South Fork.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Good fortune brought us to Barbro Magnusson and Dean Golden. I mention their names before mentioning Sagharbor because I think that wherever they would have decided to be, we would have been happy to go. It’s a little like going to an excellent restaurant and feeling that the cook loves doing what he or she does, there’s love in the food, beauty and class all at once.
Upon arrival you feel welcome right away, almost like coming home after a long trip or job abroad, and at the same time respected and left to your intimacy all at once.
It may sound like I’m exaggerating, but when you wake up the next morning, you don’t know whether you will be served fresh Swedish pancakes at the fireplace in case it’s a little bit chilly, or scrambled eggs and choices of yoghurt and fruit on the balcony or in the garden… If you don’t love generosity, you won’t love Harbowoods.
I highly recommend a weekend, a week, or, I wish, a month. And if you don’t know Saghabor, Barbro Magnusson will give you all the best indications.

Thank you Barbro and Dean,

Love Annika an Annabel from Paris, France

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed at Harborwoods as part of our honeymoon trip and it was the perfect ending of a great trip. Barbro is the hostess and she really couldn't do enough to help when we asked, whether it was recommendations for places to eat or a travel plug adaptor. The guesthouse is purpose built and well laid out with a selection of well presented en suite rooms, we stayed in Gibson. We found the mattress rather soft for our tastes and there's no TV, but in this part of the world many would view this as a blessing. There is so much to see and do nearby in Sag Harbor or the Hamptons or Shelter Island. A car is essential though to get around. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This B&B is wonderful! Very clean, great location and so quiet. Barbaro, who owns the B&B with her husband, Dean, prepares an amazing breakfast each morning. I just cannot say enough good things about it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

What a stroke of luck to discover Harborwoods. I had hoped to find a quiet, pleasant place in or near Sag Harbor for a three day get-away from NYC, but I’m hard to please and too often disappointed. Not this time. Harborwoods is a treasure. The setting is off the road, nestled in the woods, far from traffic sounds with only songs of birds to greet me in the morning. The house is beautifully decorated, with an understated luxury that meets and surpasses every need. The atmosphere is relaxed, and the breakfasts, amazing. The hospitality and warmth of the hosts, Barbro and Dean, made me feel like an old friend coming for a visit. The one thing I regretted was leaving.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We loved the Harborwoods guest house. It is in a quiet, wooded setting nicely located on the road between Sag Harbor and Southampton. The facility is impeccably maintained and we had a real sense of privacy. This was topped off by a wonderful breakfast (great coffee!) featuring Swedish pancakes. This B&B is an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborwoods Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborwoods Guesthouse

Address: 1702 Sag Harbor Tpke, Sag Harbor, NY 11963
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Sag Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sag Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-appointed bed and breakfast located just south of Main Street in Sag Harbor. Built in 2006. All rooms have queen beds and private baths, TV and wireless web access. Breakfast on the porch in the summer and in our dinning room all year. We have central a/c to keep things comfortable. In the winter sit by our hearth and relax in the warmth. In the summer enjoy the shade on our expansive screened-in porch. For a day a weekend or a week. One room or the whole house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborwoods Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.