We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The American Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The American Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sag Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The American Hotel
Save
You added The American Hotel to your Saves list
49 Main St., Sag Harbor, NY 11963   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sag Harbor
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The American Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I went on a getaway weekend in Sag Harbor. We decided to splurge on a nice room, since it was February and we knew we would be spending a lot of time there. The pictures on the American Hotel internet site do not do the place justice. Our room, #15 was really beautiful and spacious, but there is no picture of it available. The bathroom is very nice, too. There is a restaurant, which is very expensive. In this case we decided to have lunch there in order to have the experience at less of a cost. It was lovely, I can't imagine that dinner isn't very nice as well. The room comes with breakfast, which is Euro-style, breads, pastry, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, cheeses and cold cuts, plus coffee and tea. Possible downsides: The building is very old, and that has a lot of appeal to us, but there is no elevator and we had to walk up and down 2 steep flights of stairs a number of times. Some people may find that a bad situation, but we figured the exercise would do us good. The hotel is right on the main street. Not really a problem for us on this trip, but I suspect there could be noise issues in the summer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same price. Choose number 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed just one night for business and thoroughly enjoyed the American. I think I was one of very few guests there because it was off season, but the staff was very nice and helpful. The Hamptons can be full of attitude at every turn, but Sag Harbor is thankfully a little more real. I just love it out there in the Fall/Winter. I sat and had a glass of wine in the bar before going upstairs, and my room had a jacuzzi which was amazing after a work day! The bed was enormous and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband, infant son and I stayed here over the Christmas Holidays, and loved it. It's a charming hotel with a lot of history. The room is full of antiques, but it's not stuffy. The beds and sheets are comfy and soft, and the bathrooms (and bathtubs!) are really spacious, which was unexpected. The complimentary continental breakfast was great as well. And, the staff were really friendly to us. Just note that the rooms are up one or two flights of stairs, so if you're uncomfortable with stairs, this may not be the spot for you. And, if you're with a boisterous crowd, this wouldn't be the place either, as you can hear your loud neighbors. But, overall, I just loved our experience here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The reception is not your normal reception: it's in the middle of the restaurant. Once we were inside, we were greeted very kindly, so we felt very welcomed. The hotel had reserved the really cute "apartment" on the top floor for us, which has two levels, connected by stairs. Even though it smelled a bit stuffy, the bathroom with a whirlpool bathtub, living room, and the bed upstairs in the attic were all very clean. The apartment and the stairway leading up to it looked more like a B&B or an Inn than a hotel.

We wanted to try out the restaurant inside the hotel, but the waiters were so busy, we heard them apologizing for the long wait at the table next to us, and after we still hadn't received neither our menus nor any water after 15 minutes, we decided to leave and walk to the nearby Tutto il Giorno - which was an excellent idea. But I'll save that for a different review. :)

At night, back at the American Hotel, we slept really well, with the window of our cozy attic bedroom opened all night. The bedroom faces the back of the hotel, not the street in front of it, so you are guaranteed to sleep peacefully (at least now, in the off-season, hehe). The queen size bed was super-comfortable and the sheets and comforter kept us nice and warm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Took a group from Australia for lunch At The American on 23 October 2012 and it was wonderful.
Loved the hotel. Staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Loved the ambience and everything about the hotel and its superb Main Street location in this gem if a town. Put it on your list.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Feels like a guest mansion, with luxurious, spacious, high-ceiling rooms and plush comforters. One of the most comfortable beds ever. Still has manual keys, but personalized service and old-fashioned details make it feel more like a special get-away and add to the warmth of the place.

Room Tip: Only saw 12 and 15 but they were both gorgeous and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Interesting inn, I would say more than a hotel. This is a restaurant with rooms. If dining book a table outside which is more or less on the street but good for people watching. Good central location - easy walk to harbor.
Rooms are spacious - old fashioned, a bit like a guest house in the UK. Very efficient but noisy air conditioning.
Great pictures and stuff on the walls. Huge wine list but first bottle went back as not good - indifference from the waiter but we have had a lot worse service.
Rooms were clean, beds comfortable.
We arrived very late and bar was crowded but were met with a smile and someone dragged our heavy bags up the stairs. one flight but steep.
We left early and dragged our own bags out!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Hotel

Address: 49 Main St., Sag Harbor, NY 11963
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Sag Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sag Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
American Hotel Sag Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The American Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.