We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlelight Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sackets Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight Guest House
Save
You added Candlelight Guest House to your Saves list
501 W. Washington St., P.O. Box 92, Sackets Harbor, NY 13685   |  
Hotel amenities
Inland Empire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed once again at the Candlelight Guest House in Sackets Harbor. The owners, Alice and Jerry have thought of every little thing that would make you feel at home. The suites are immaculate. They are nicely furnished including comfortable chairs, adequate lighting for reading and a generous variety of literature. The bath is furnished with plush cotton towels, a wide variety of toiletries and an excellent shower fixture. All rooms have coffee service and are served by a convenient hall frig. Alice and Jerry are the perfect hosts and could not be more accommodating. They really go the extra mile to suggest places you may wish to visit while in the area. If you catch them at the right time you might get to meet their sweet Mila dog and maybe even get to go for ice cream in their electric Mila mobile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
71
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I just returned from a visit to the delightful village of Sackets Harbor. If you have never been there, perhaps you should consider it. I think you will be pleasantlly surprised. While there I had the pleasure of staying at the Candleight Guest House, located just a few steps away from Lake Ontario. Alice was a gracious host and quite personable. She has provided an inviting atmosphere with a keen attention to detail. My room was exceptionally clean, while at the same time, warm and inviting from the bed linens, bath towels and various and sundry toiletries to the refrigerator in the hall available for your convenience. I loved having the coffee service in the room equipped with mugs and spoons. No plastic or styrofoam here. Alice and Jerry were very helpful iln suggesting places to visit as well as suggestions for having breakfast, lunch and or dinner. An extra treat is meeting a lovely dog named Milia. So if you are fond of quaint villages situate on lovely lakes and warm and inviting accomdations, then visit Sackets Harbor and the Candlelight Guest House. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently spent a July weekend getaway in Sackets Harbour and chose the Candlelight based on the positive reviews on trip Advisor. We were not disappointed at all. Alice was very warm and welcoming and explained the simple rules of the house. This is a Guest House and not a B&B. What you get is a very comfortable, clean and well appointed room with an ensuite bathroom complete with toiletries, clean towels and everything one needs for a comfortable stay. There is a refrigerator available for your use, and coffee in the room, and a little patio ideal for an end of evening glass of wine (glasses provided). Alice was helpful and charming as the host of this well located accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our second visit to this charming and well situated guest house was once again a pleasure. The hosts, Alice and Jerry are welcoming and most accommodating. We also fell in love with Mila! Sackets Harbor is a lovely destination with very good dining options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a one-night stay, and were supremely disappointed, to say the least. Travelers should be warned of the awful experience that we went through.

The first point of frustration was that for a bed and breakfast, this facility didn't have the most basic of amenities. On a Friday night, we tried to sit and relax with a bottle of wine. However, at 8:30 pm on a Friday night, we were locked out of the kitchen and living room, relegated to our bedroom. Moreover, despite being labeled as a Bed and Breakfast, do not expect breakfast in the morning. You should be content with the jar of mints and 4-cup coffee pot in your room.

But the lack of "bang for your buck" isn't the beginning of the issues. On the morning of our checkout, we were preparing for our day (i.e. showering, getting dressed, etc.) so we placed the "do not disturb" sign on the door and locked it. Despite that, while I was brushing my teeth and my girlfriend was getting out of the shower, the innkeeper took it upon herself to unlock the door and come walking in, sending us both diving for towels to cover ourselves up. I can't express how mortified and embarassed we both were. We immediately packed our things and left. We could not stand to be there anymore and will certainly not return again.

I have never taken the time to write an online review. But since we selected this facility based on the TripAdvisor reviews, we felt obliged to let others know of our experience so that they can hopefully avoid this same terrible experience. The purpose of a guest house is to feel like a home away from home and your facility provided nothing of the sort

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlebb, Owner at Candlelight Guest House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
After 16 years of successfully operating this business, and 1000's of people have stayed here in those years, Mr. Cuse Guy and his girl friend created the most damage done to my property.
I believe the reason for the negative review is the fact that the reviewer was charged $45.00 for the damages. The damages were Red Wine spattered and dried on the walls, carpet, bed skirt, sheets, towels, clock and furniture in their room. He failed to mention that.
At 10:50 a.m. ( checked the time) I personally knocked on the door, 4 times at different intervals. no sound, no answer. 11:00 is check-out time.
and thank you for acknowledging that you were aware, that we are a Guest House.
Candlelight Guest House, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a delightfully decorated room with all amenities. For those that have never been to Sackets, you don't know what you're missing and the Candlelight Guest House is in the ideal location on a quite road but within walking distance of the harbour and good bars and restaurants for breakfast and dinner. Alice makes you welcome and is a font of knowledge for all things local. We highly recommend this Guest House for any stay in the Sackets area!
John & Ann

Room Tip: Any room you choose is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

As other reviewers have said, Alice makes this guest house unique! She is very proud of her guest house and her community. The Candlelight is spotless and perfect location for enjoying music in the park and an evening in Sackets Harbor. Now, there is no breakfast provided and we were ok with this. However, it would have been nice to have a larger coffee-maker for the room as we only had about 1/2 cup each and there was no place close by to run and get more for the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlelight Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Guest House

Address: 501 W. Washington St., P.O. Box 92, Sackets Harbor, NY 13685
Location: United States > New York > Sackets Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sackets Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Candlelight Hotel Sackets Harbor
Candlelight Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlelight Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.