We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sackets Harbor Battlefield State Historic Site

Sackets Harbor Battlefield State Historic Site
504 W. Main Street, Sackets Harbor, NY 13685
(315) 646-3634
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We do enjoy historic visits and this was one of the best. to start with we had never heard of the Battle of Sackets Harbor, but then we didn't learn about any of the battles the British lost in school.

We walked the field and the information was comprehensive, and really helped to get the idea of what a 19th century battle was really like and the scale of the event.

Well worth a vist, very well done.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Off season too early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

it was off season and the museums were closed but we enjoyed a stroll along the waterfront reading the historic interpretative signs, even in a misty rain.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Acres, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Peaceful fresh air any time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

There is a little walking path that offer peace and serenity any time of year. The battlefield area is a great place to sit and read a book. The museum area is also interesting and highly educational. Good story about outwitting the enemy as part of the tour - I won't ruin it for you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“American History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

An easy walk after dinner at one of sackets harbors great restaurants, the Battlefield offers excellent views of the Black River and map guided historical walks. When I was a young boy there was a block house on site, and many an afternoon was spent playing war games there. Now it is more adult themed. You can see where the british landed on Horse island. Where they waded across the shallows, and the fields they attacted through before being repulsed. Stand there and imagine all that happened. It's facinating!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Picturesque Jefferson Barracks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have loved this place since first seeing it in various states of ruins since 1985. This is the historic site with buildings extant from Revolutionary War, War of 1812 and Civil War eras. The siting is on Black River Bay at historic Sackets Harbor, itself a fine and notable attractions of battles sites from 1812.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sackets Harbor Battlefield State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Sackets Harbor Battlefield State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sackets Harbor Battlefield State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.