We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel - Good, Staff - Less than Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ontario Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ontario Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ontario Place Hotel
103 General Smith Drive, Sackets Harbor, NY 13685   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Sackets Harbor
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
1 review
“Hotel - Good, Staff - Less than Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Our sons live a short drive away and we stay here multiple times a year when visiting them. We generally have a good stay, however, on this occassion there was a party going on down the hall from our room until 3:30 am. The night clerk tried on at least 2 occassions to quiet them without result. In the morning I was asked by the woman at the desk "Did you complain?" I stated "No, it didn't seem to make any difference." She then stated "Well, if you didn't complain then I can't do anything for you." Her demeanor was rude and her words were uncaring. The hotel itself is nice and we'll undoubtedly stay here again but only because there is not an acceptable place to stay in a 50 mile radius. I would recommend to others and have had family and friends stay here in the past, however, for the reasons stated above I may not in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
41
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

When in Sackets Harbor, we always stay at the Ontario Place. We were pleased to find out this visit that the Traveler's room that we usualy book were newly renovated! Dave and the staff did a great job at making us feel like this is our "home away from home" while we are here. BTW: it doesn't hurt that the Sackets Harbor Brew Pub is just steps away!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny,
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

A very adequate room. Clean, a little small, and perfect location. An older building, but reasonably well kept up. We were not impressed, but would stay here again. Be sure to eat at the Tin Pan Galley just up the street. Inside looked cramped, but the outside courtyard reminded us of New Orleans. The hangover burger Sunday morning was great.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We had a very lovely room on the 3rd floor, the view of the harbor was wonderful. The staff was very helpful, restaurants very close and very good. We were very greatful for the good location easy walking to the shops, food and Battlefield.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We passed through Sackets Harbor, NY on the way to Quebec and spent one night there as it was our halfway point. The little harbor town is adorable with historical sites, shops and some great restaurant options, but I think there are likely better options than the Ontario Place Hotel. When we arrived the room on the first floor that we were assigned smelled horribly like a septic tank. We informed the woman at the front desk and she said, "Oh, the manager mentioned something about that." She easily re-assigned us to a room on the second floor with a queen (instead of a king) bed, no problem. The place was decent enough for an overnight stay, but for your $100 or so I think that nicer accomodations can likely be had at one of the B&Bs in town. It is conveniently located next to the local microbrewery and within easy walking distance of literally everything in town ("town" is about 6 blocks maximum in any direction). But compared to the B&Bs we stayed at for the rest of our trip, I felt like this was the low point, not to mention the most expensive of all the places we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

i don't know what was up the downchute of these ornery people that have been less than kind in their reviews of the ONTARIO PLACE HOTEL!! perhaps the negative remarks by these few people reflect travellers at the end of an exasperating travel day, i don't know. however, i am a discerning, picky patron of hotels from Canada to the Florida keys, from Boston to Beverly hills. i've stayed in hiltons, marriots and i've stayed in motel 6's and red roof inns. this exempary little hotel in Sackett's Harbour, New York, definitely rates near the top of the list when it comes to ammenities, cleanliness, and service. it has no peers though, when it comes to friendly, courteous and eager to please personable hotel manadement!! dave and cathy, the brother and sister team that oversee this family owned enterprise make you feel at once, that you are comfortable and at home. staying at the Ontario Place Hotel in Sackett's harbour was a FABULOUS experience. dave would have talked with us all day if we'd not had to leave for home to beat the weather systems that were heading that direction. when he considered that we were travelling via motorcycle, he manifested a computer satellite forecast for us, even before i had the opportunity to ask for it. don't anyone hesitate to enjoy a pleasant, clean and relaxing stay at this establishment! i had never met dave, cathy, nor any of the staff before our stay there, but i left with several new friends and a feeling that i would reccomend to all my friends that they stay here when visiting this most charming destination within the 1,000 island area. no regrets about this place at all other than to say that when it gets a little later on in the night the town does become the sleepiest of hamlets. however this is not a problem for patrons of the inn as dave and the staff of the Ontario Place Hotel are ever ready to look after all of a travellers concerns. we'll be back dave and cathy, so too will any of my friends that plan to take in the quaint, friendly atmosphere of Sackett's Harbour. New York. - john ' the fogman' burkitt, Oshawa, Ontario, Canada.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

After many years we returned to the Ontario Place Hotel with fond memories....all to be destroyed in a night! My husband and I (seniors) were on the third floor and all was quiet until 1AM when a group of drunk quests returned to continue the party in the hallway outside our room, doors slamming, loud laughter and yelling...all went on for an hour before any action taken. We asked the quests nicely to be quiet, called the front desk twice and finally the off-site manager arrived to quell the noise, or most of it for awhile.. The staff treated us like we were the problem when we complainied the next morning, the front desk clerk was actually very defensive and rude with no apologies to us or even a "sorry you didn't enjoy your stay".....The Hotel Manager didn't even have the curtesy to speak with us but instructed the clerk to give us a $10. discount...Where is the customer service and hotel hospitality here, there is none!!! Guess when you are the only hotel in town it doesn't matter keeping quests happy...go to a Chain from now on!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ontario Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ontario Place Hotel

Address: 103 General Smith Drive, Sackets Harbor, NY 13685
Location: United States > New York > Sackets Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Sackets Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place to stay, in a village that has it all, look no further. Sackets Harbor boasts some of the region's best War of 1812 museums, gourmet restaurants, and exceptional gift shops - and our quaint, tree-lined streets and living history give Sackets Harbor a feel unlike any you can find elsewhere. Ft Drum is located 20 - 25 minutes away and shopping in Watertown is only 8 miles away. We are offering monthly off season rentals so please give us a call! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ontario Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ontario Place Sackets Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ontario Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.