We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected from a Hilton 3 day stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Westchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Westchester to your Saves list
Hilton Westchester
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Westchester Avenue, Rye Brook, NY 10573   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from just $139!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye Brook
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not what we expected from a Hilton 3 day stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stayed at this Hilton for 3 days during Premier college soccer showcase March 2013. I researched many hotels in the area and although price was higher then others we decided to book because of the Hilton reputation. Upon our arrival we were pleased with the hotels appearance that was newly updated. The parking though requires a far walk from your car with bags but they do offer valet service for a fee. The hotel staff greeted us and completed our check in professionally. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable.

Now the NEGATIVE.

Room was updated somewhat but the odor of musty old air was quite evident immediately entering the room. Bathroom was spacious but not kept after very well by staff. Hair was on floor and a trash bin had tissues discarded from a previous occupant. Carpets also did appear to have been vacuumed as well.

Expensive for the quality of the accommodations......... The problem with this hotels location is no surrounding restaurants or eateries within several miles forcing you to use the hotels services. AND THEY KNOW THIS BY THE PRICES THEY CHARGE.

First off $17 PER DAY for Internet service in this modern time. I was advised by staff if I chose to do my work in the lobby the Internet wifi was free. Then why not in room like most modern lower price hotels?

Stay away from the small store in the hotel. My son purchased a ice tea, water, package of gum, package of granola bars for a whopping $18.

The following morning we went to the restaurant for our NON complementary breakfast. 2 egg white omelets with toast and coffee/tee came to $45 but was prepared well and service was standard. We could have opted for the buffet for $19.95 per person.

Upon return from my sons soccer game (1pm) our room still was not serviced. I had to ask for clean towels for him to shower.

Then the completely unacceptable. We had dinner in the restaurant. It was 8pm and not at all busy. We were immediately sat and service started off good. We placed our orders for a steak and chicken dish. After 40 minutes all we received were some not so fresh pieces of bread and beverages. We were not offered refills nor told why our meals were delayed. After another 10 minutes in asked the waiter what was the delay. I was told The well done steak requires additional time and will be out in 2 minutes...... After another 10 minutes I asked a person cleaning tables to get the manager. I did this so others were able to hear as my waiter never returned. I observed a man sitting with a woman Few tables away get up after hearing this and walk to the kitchen area. The manager responded and apologized after learning of our issue. He was very professional and offered more bread or beverage. We told him yes on the beverage and would like our food. After another 5 minutes our food was served...... My sons steak was rare and my organic chicken breast was the portion for a small child. I immediately requested the manager again. He appeared to be shocked at the portion and undercooked steak and took them back.

1 hour 20 min after placing our order we finally received the meals as ordered. The food was tasteful and good quality but we were complete frustrated in the end. While eating the manager came over to our table and asked how the food was. We told him it was acceptable but service was horrible. I was asked how could he make it up to me and I told him that is for him to decide. He offered a free dessert. We said no thank you and he walked away.

A short time later after finishing our meals that man who was sitting adjacent to us and walked to the kitchen introduced himself. He presented a card indicating he was with Hilton Corporate and was evaluating the property performance. He apologized for the service and informed us he instructed the manger to fully comp our $130 check. He also gave us free breakfast the next morning. I informed him of the other issues before mentioned above and stated the Hotel is undergoing many changes. I thanked him for his attention to the issue but told him I would be hard pressed to stay at a Hilton again as this was our 2nd bad experience with the chain in as many visits.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseRubin, Manager at Hilton Westchester, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Robert C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments via Trip Advisor. I completely understand from your comments why it was not what you expected. I am very happy to talk with you in regards to your experience. Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly at 914-934-2540. I would like to invite you back to the hotel if possible.

Sincerely,
Denise Rubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    163
    141
    90
    55
See reviews for
158
95
36
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Decent property; nothing to write home about. I am usually in mid-level properties that most often include free wifi, free paper, free breakfast. Of course, none of these are included at a Hilton- so coupled with the already higher-than-I-usually-pay rate, I was not real pleased on the overall cost to stay here. However, the common area/bar is nice for a post-business cocktail- complete with fireplace.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseRubin, Manager at Hilton Westchester, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear donwon,

Thank you for your honest comments in regards to the additional costs during your stay. As a Hilton property we do need to follow the guidelines for our property. I am happy you enjoyed the renovated area and fireplace.

Sincerely,
Denise Rubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you need to stay in the Westchester area this is the hotel I recommend. The staff is friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. I will say do not order food at the bar as it takes way too long, but the restaurant is good and the service there is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseRubin, Manager at Hilton Westchester, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear asicscout,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments via Trip Advisor. I will share your comments with the team. I do apologize fort he long wait you had at the bar. I hope you will visit again in the future.

Sincerely,
Denise Rubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

it is a great hotel out side of New york City on very large property. it is very private very roomy
the staff is very good they want to please
The food was fair but the grounds are worth the stay as is the surrounding area

Room Tip: pick a room close to the check in we had to walk a long way to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseRubin, Manager at Hilton Westchester, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear charles073,

I am happy you had a relaxing weekend while staying with us. Thank you for postin gyour feedback via Trip Advisor. I will share your feedback with our team and we look forward to having you spend another weekend in the near future.

Sincerely.

Denise Rubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel has lost its old charm and character with the renovation. Plus the pool which my kids love, was out of order. We might as well have just stayed in Manhattan! Service was so-so. The wait for breakfast was horrendous. We spent almost 20 minutes standing in line while the staff rushed around looking frazzled and avoiding eye contact with all the unhappy guests! It's probably best to go for a late breakfast after 10.30 if you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, Manager at Hilton Westchester, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments via Trip Advisor. I appologize for the long wait and pool being closed. As noticed we have completed a major renovation that did open up the lobby, restarant and lounge. We are very proud of the decor but it is a more modern than the old style.

The restaurant has enjoyed great success and a wonderful buffet. Of course I am very concerned about the long wait. We will review our staffing guidelines and we'll keep the buffet open until 1pm on the weekends.

Additionally the pool is back in service. For the safety of our guest we needed to ensure the chlorine levels were correct. Further we do have a new ADA pool lift installed.

Please let me know when you return as I would like to personally ensure an outstanding stay.

Sincerely,

Bill Scheer
Director of F&B
914-934-2555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there 2 16 2013. Great room. Great breakfast. No coffee carafe for our room coffee maker and they charged me $2 to get an extra coffee in the AM (they didn't chase me down the hall but that was what the sign said and I did not dispute). Worst has been to try and find a lost item. Know that it was left on the bed in the room, but "they have no knowledge". This was not really expensive but the lack of concern has been off putting. I would think twice about returning. I would go to a smaller hotel that actually cared about their guests. Edith

Room Tip: Huge hotel. If you have kids ask to be close to the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseRubin, Manager at Hilton Westchester, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear eandjhome,

I really appreciate you takin gthe time to post your comments via Trip Advisor. I am happy you felt you had a great room and breakfast, however I am concerned about your lost item. I am happy to assist with a lost and found inquiry, please do not hesiate to contact me. We do care and our guests are very important to us. I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Denise Rubin
914-934-2540
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Clean rooms. Staff were very caring and welcoming. Recommended for couples and great place for business. Excellent location. Buffet breakfast for two was great. The property with woods excellent. Best place to stay if you don't like city or downtown. About 20 miles to Manhattan. Will be there again very soon when the weather is much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseRubin, Manager at Hilton Westchester, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear zee o,

Thank you for the excellent comments via Trip Advisor. It is always nice to be able to share the feedback from our guests with the team. We really appreciate our loyalty and recommendation.

Sincerely,
Denise Rubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Westchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Westchester

Address: 699 Westchester Avenue, Rye Brook, NY 10573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Rye Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rye Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Westchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refreshed Hilton Westchester hotel is situated on 45 acres of lush woodlands in Rye, NY combining the relaxed setting of a resort with the flexibility of a full-service business hotel. Located just 6 miles east of White Plains, NY, 8 miles from Westchester Airport(HPN) and 25 miles to New York City. Free local shuttle service available. Newly refreshed guest rooms feel brighter and more relaxed with a complete rebuild. Guests will take pleasure in warm colors creating a residential feel for a home away from home. With improved sound insulation and Hilton Serenity™ Beds, a good night's sleep will come with ease. Contemporary amenities and elegant renovated bathrooms give the perfect start to the day. Take advantage of complimentary transportation to destinations including White Plains Airport, Rye Train Station, local businesses and downtown White Plains. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hilton Westchester hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Westchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Westchester - Rye Brook Hotel Rye Brook
Hilton Rye Brook
Rye Brook Hilton
Hilton Westchester Westchester County, NY - Rye Brook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Westchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.