We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Sophistication in the Laid Back Catskills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging to your Saves list
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
2258 County Highway 41, Roxbury, NY 12474   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 week nts, 3rd is free!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NYC Sophistication in the Laid Back Catskills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Loved the Roxbury!!! My daughter and I made our annual trip to visit my son at camp in the Catskills. Last year, we made the mistake of staying at the Tennanah Golf "Resort" which, while beautiful as a golf course, was a terrible stay.

This year, we booked a room at The Roxbury. Although an hour's drive to the camp, it was well worth the extra distance.

The room (Kitchenette #5) was spotless (I mean as in "eat off the floor" spotless), decorated in a young, hip style, and incredibly comfortable. The beds and linens are great (nothing worse than crappy sheets, if you ask me) and the room was very quiet.

The common outdoor areas are gorgeous, again decorated in a young, hip style and very comfortable to hang out and read/relax. The snacks and breakfast choices were perfect for us. This isn't a place where you're forced to sit around a table and eat breakfast with strangers whom you may or may not want to socialize with.

The hosts were extremely warm, helpful and welcoming. We will definitely stay again next year (and book early enough to get a "theme" room!)

We ate at The Public martini bar which also has a terrific menu of light meals which we loved. Walking distance from The Roxbury, we ate there both nights!

  • Liked — Decor, convenience to our destination and walking distance to great food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    42
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
79
267
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We spent five days in the Catskills and five days in NYC and by far our stay in The Roxbury was the best experience, although we also had a fantastic time in NYC. The Roxbury lived up to it's excellent reputation by being: stylish; fun; impecably clean; and totally relaxing. The staff and owners of The Roxbury are real professionals and they went out of their way to make our stay really special. We had our concerns from the one very negative review we read and it turned out to be unfair. We expected Roxbury to be pretty remote and we were pleasantly surprised at the variety of activites and eateries in the area. Although it is totally possible to spend a day hiking without meeting other people there are also lots of other things to see and do. Usually we would go off and doing something in the morning and return in the afternoon to relax in the garden and make use of the Shimmer Spa (well worth the $20!). Our best tip for things to see and do is to ask Lesley (the manager) as her knowledge of the Catskills is extensive and she is extremely approachable and friendly. We only met Greg and Joe for a day and we found them to be charming and helpful (and Greg gave us super stylish tips for the rest of our holiday in NYC). We did not see or do everything that we planned and we hope to return in the winter for ski-ing. As people who never return to a holiday spot, this is praise indeed!!!!

  • Liked — Room, cleanliness, management and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

The Roxbury is such a cool and creative place to stay. Many thanks to our lovely hosts, Lesley, Greg and Joe. If you stayed in a different room each night you would experience a variety of different fantasy lives. My husband and I loved this place. We will be coming back again. Fine details and inspiring touches. Don’t hesitate to go. Enjoy the yummy chocolate chip cookies greeting you when you check in. Just let the fun begin. Excellent restaurants, small towns, farms, mountains and hikes are a scenic drive away. Check out the many suggestions on their web site.

  • Liked — Creative decor and spotless rooms
  • Disliked — No pets or pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

My husband and I planned a 2 night stay at the Roxbury after hearing about the place. We purchased the Spring hike package. Everything was exactly as promised right down to our lunch. Attention to every little detail adds up to an excellent exerience at the Roxbury. There is great information on everything including restaurants, price ranges, etc. If its not written down, the staff is extremely helpful with any request. The place is extemely clean, the staff friendly & helpful, even the continental breakfeast included healthy choices. We stayed in George's spacepad which was totally unique and fun! We had the best massage ever from Daniele. Definitely will return - only problem is choosing which room to try next. Also want to sit out at night with that gas fireplace and enjoy the night. Oh and listen to Greg - do not use mapquest - cost us an extra hour.

  • Liked — Unique
  • Disliked — Hot tub closes early
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed over the memorial day weekend and had a really relaxing time. It does help to have great weather and be outside to walk, hike and sunbathe. You do have to go to the Catskills to want to relax in response to the couple complaining there is not enough to do. It's very quiet and Roxbury is a sort of run down old railway stop town in a very charming way. I won't even mention how great the motel and service are, as well as the public bar since everyone here agrees with that. I'll just share some activities that we did that were not mentioned anywhere else here. On saturday the farmers market was surprisingly good. Not that you need breakfast because the motel provides such an excellent one...BUT they do make waffles, sandwiches, fresh scrambled eggs, and lattes. It smelled amazing ! We did buy fresh made goat cheese and crackers for our room. We also went wine tasting in Windham on the way to see a movie in Tannersville ( 60 minutes) but a beautiful drive. And as many mentioned....Peekamoose is an absolute must! And lastly about the Roxbury Motel, if you are like us and hate flowery b&b's yet enjoy the countryside....you will love The Roxbury. The cool factor is unbeatable outside of any major city hotel like The W.

  • Liked — The cool factor
  • Disliked — A pool would make it PERFECT!!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

I had a two night stay at the Roxbury over Easter 2008 travelling with my wife and four friends. It's a little hard to describe the Roxbury; it definitely isn't just a motel – more a really funky boutiquey B&B, and I can't praise it too much. You find everything to be just as the website leads you to expect. We stayed in the Mod Pod which was immaculate. It could have been decorated the day before we arrived. Everyone on staff is extremely welcoming and you are given the feeling that nothing is too much trouble. I thought the spa pass very good value. The spa is kept extremely tidy with lots of clean towels always available. I had two spa treatments, particularly enjoying my “salt rub” from the wonderful Joan. The almost on-site Public bar is a great place to spend an evening, the owners are extremely welcoming and the place has a great vibe. I also had dinner at the Peekamoose, which is a lively bar and restaurant serving quality food.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, relaxing and welcoming. All meeting the expectation set on the website
  • Disliked — Nothing. No complaints.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

I have nothing but praise for the Roxbury Motel. I am a germaphobe and it was impeccably clean. The service at the office is great, and everyone at the motel was super friendly. Coffee was awesome too! HOWEVER, be prepared to drive around if you want to do anything. There is NOTHING to Roxbury. It's like two blocks long total. One of those blocks was an old folks' home, a school and some private residences, and the other block was auto parts/thrift shops and a couple of restaurants with the rest of the buildings in foreclosure. We went in three restaurants in Roxbury, and I think they were the only three. Two were for sale and the third was a typical dive bar (T Bar - it was the only thing open on Wednesday night before Memorial Day).

The East Branch Grill was decent but they don't make milkshakes before Mem Day. They have milk. They have ice cream. Something magical must happen that they can't be safely combined pre-Mem Day though. That sticks in my mind as it was about the 50th thing not open/available pre-Mem Day, and at that point my husband asked what I thought. I said I thought Roxbury was the most depressing place I'd ever been. We packed that night and left the next morning, a day before we were scheduled to leave, so we could salvage what was left of our time off together.

The Public Lounge (walking dist from the motel) is fantastic and also from what I recall had a for sale sign inside. Too bad, I hope it thrives because it was really great food and drinks, and the service was every bit as outstanding as at the motel.

There *were* things to do, but I commute 140 miles a day and most things were 30 - 60 mins by car. The last thing I want to do on a vaca is drive an hour to Woodstock or 30 mins to Peekamoose, which by the way was closed until Memorial Day for repairs. Also, scratch the driving range at Shep Hills - not open until - wait for it - Mem Day!!!!

If you are willing to spend a good amount of time driving around to different things/places, this motel is worth a visit. If you want to get somewhere, settle in and have lots of things to do at your fingertips and neat little restaurants and shops, keep driving. We couldn't get out of Roxbury fast enough, which is truly a shame and again had nothing to do with the motel. I wish someone had given me this info before we booked - it would have deterred me from blowing 3 precious vaca days in what can only be described as Depression Era America.

  • Liked — The service and the rooms were both fantastic.
  • Disliked — Location completely blows. Roxbury is like post-communism Republic of Georgia. Yes, it's that bad.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoxbury, Owner at The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging, responded to this review, May 24, 2008
We would like to thank these guests for their nice comments about our hotel. Because each and every one of our guests' stay is extremely important to us, it pains us a great deal to hear that their experience with the village of Roxbury was not what they expected.
We remember this couple. We saw them walking around the village and it was clear that they were unhappy. They were here midweek in early May (one of the slowest times of the year) and they seemed very upset that the weather was cool and rainy and uncooperative. It kept them from enjoying the many outdoor activities (like hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding, kayaking and canoeing, fishing, and more) that are either right outside the door or less than 15 minutes away from The Roxbury.
If you are looking for Las Vegas or Disneyworld or a shopping mall, then you should probably not come to Roxbury, or any of the villages in the Catskills for that matter. However, to compare the village to depression-era America or post-communist Republic of Georgia is not only a very cruel thing to say, but completely inaccurate.
The sense of place that a centuries-old village like Roxbury offers may not be for everyone, but it has garnered us many return visitors who greatly appreciate its cultural, historical and recreational resources. The whole village is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and was honored by the White House in 2007.
In addition, it is true that you cannot walk outside your hotel door to a large variety of restaurants, but the description of having to drive 30-60 minutes for a good restaurant is also inaccurate. One has only to read some of the other reviews about our area to see that it is possible to come to The Roxbury (even during the middle of the week during off season) and not only enjoy the hotel itself, but also the beauty and the activities that lie within and surround the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

Address: 2258 County Highway 41, Roxbury, NY 12474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Roxbury, a supercool boutique hotel nestled amongst the picturesque Catskill Mountains. Whether you call it "cool design," "whimsical elegance," or, our favorite, "decadently over-the top," we're all about design and how it makes your feel. At The Roxbury, we want to make you smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels so you can book your The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging Hotel Roxbury
The Hotel Roxbury
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.