We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roxbury Motel offered comfort & funky decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging to your Saves list
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging
2258 County Highway 41, Roxbury, NY 12474   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 week nts, 3rd is free!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
nyc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Roxbury Motel offered comfort & funky decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

We just came from staying at the Roxbury Motel, where we went to ski and stayed in the Shagadellic Room. First off, the rooms were IMPECCABLE (and I'm a germaphobe!) and they were decorated in such a fun and innovative way! We had a great time staying there. We met Leslie & Greg, who were super nice to us and seemed like very friendly, down-to-earth people. The rates were reasonable as well (though could be a little cheaper for such an out-of-the-way motel). The Spa looked really nice but we didn't get around to it. They even had a great dvd selection incase you just want to stay in.

The only con was the actual town of Roxbury, which was a little deserted and not much to do, but that's not the hotel's fault!
And Breakfast was available out by the main office...but selection could be improved...maybe some warm options? Mainly pastries
and muffins were available and I'm not much for sugar in the morning. We also checked out the Public lounge next door. Very cute, small, and we had a great hostess. Would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — the cleanliness & the decor
  • Disliked — the price was a bit steep
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    42
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
267
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed at the "Upstairs, Downstairs" room in a recent ski trip with another couple. It was a great choice where each couple could have their privacy, as well as have a common space to hang out. The rooms were immaculately clean, very comfortable and felt like home away from home. The photos on the website do not do justice to the property. The dvds and games you can borrow, the products in the bathroom and the breakfast spread were fantastic. The Roxbury is one of the best hotels I stayed at in a while and would go back in a heartbeat. This place will exceed your expectations!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, swanky decor, attention to detail
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

We had such a good time on our two-day getaway from NYC. We were looking for a nice drive, a cool place to stay, and just a little time away from crazy city life. The Roxbury more than delivered! The owners are wonderful--helpful, friendly, accommodating, and genuinely neat people to chat with. The rooms were even better than they look on the site (we stayed in the Cloud room which is GORGEOUS) and as we were checking out, got to take a peek at some of the other rooms too! All very cool, with killer attention to detail. We loved our massages and time in the spa, the in-room DVD player and wine, and really everything about our stay. It was a great chance to just kick back, watch movies, and enjoy each other's company. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — fabulous rooms, super-friendly staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

My boyfriend and I just got back from our last minute "weekend getaway", and we couldn't be happier to stay at this gorgeous and cozy well, it shouldn't be called "motel" it should be "the roxbury suites".

Where to begin when everything was great.. humm. Lets see: The rooms exceeded our expectations! The pictures on the website are very good, but don't do the justice the entire hotel deserves. This place is inpecable just as we like. The service is outstanding and when they say that "they go out of their way" to make customers happy THEY MEAN IT! We stayed in one of the Theme room studios "The Partridge Nest" and we looooooved it! Egyptian cotton linens, pillow-top mattresses( I think we haven't slept that good in months). cute ribbons on the toiletry, magazines, flast screen TV, complimentary coffee, water etc.. . I am extremely picky when it comes to cleanliness, and we actually took a nice relaxing bath (I NEVER DO UNLESS THE PLACE MERITS or in my own tub)."You have to bring your bubble bath and salts of course! . No candles due to their strict non-smoking policy which was fine by us. Nice clean rooms are better!
The staff is extremely helpful and kind! (specially HOPE such a sweet lady). We checked in late due to traffic, so what they did was to leave our key in an envelope on the front office's door for us. How cool is that, plus it shows how safe the place is.

If you are looking for a nice relaxing weekend or week in a luxurious yet affordable spot. This is the place to go to. The roxbury motel has everything the website describes and then some! Oh they even have DVD movies (til 10 pm)for you to watch if you decide to stay in "which we did" becuase our room was way too cozy to be out there in the cold. Breakfast was ok. Oh yes DO NOT forget to visit the Public lounge, we overlooked it and regret it til this day lol. Jk. we are going back!

My boyfriend and I are planning a trip during the ski season so that we can stay at one of the suites of course at the Roxy motel. Greg one of the owners was so helpful and helpful as well! Thanks for a wonderful weekend, we definitely enjoyed it and came back home happier :)

Happy couple from Long Island, NY

  • Liked — Cleanliness, amenities, room, staff, everything!
  • Disliked — I think breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

The Roxbury is a *fabulous* place to get away. The rooms are clean and comfy with a playful and inviting decor. There is a spa (with a wonderful masseuse), sauna and hot tub loaded with wonderful Lather products. Don't forget to take advantage of the 400 dvds that you can borrow during your stay. Book a room now and getaway! And don't forget your swimsuit! The addition of an ipod dock in each of the rooms would be the only thing that would make this weekend more wonderful.

  • Liked — The comforts/privacy of a boutique hotel with a b&b feel.
  • Disliked — No ipod docks to listen to music in your room.
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garden state travellers
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

this motel was great for what it was. i had seen other great reviews for this place and the website itself was so helpful. attention to detail is everything and they do this w/ ease. i dont expect much from a motel, so this was nice. it's more like a 'mod' inn. decor is fun, reminds me of the eclectic decor u see in ikea that seem a bit too loud, but they pull it off w/o looking cheesy. service is great. they gave me info and ideas of what to do in the area. they made reservations for a local restaurant before we arrived. the surrounding area of roxbury has a old small town feel. not really much to do in the area, so you're forced to relax and enjoy the view.

  • Liked — attn to detail
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

After Sofitel, NYC the Roxbury had a lot to live up to for us two English tourists and it exceeded our expectations. Exceptional value with breakfast included, beautiful setting and landscaping, the "whackiness" of Fred's Lair, the relaxing spa and everything was spotlessly clean. Part-owner Joseph was friendly and helpful and the Catskills were wonderful. Go and enjoy!

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging

Address: 2258 County Highway 41, Roxbury, NY 12474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roxbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Roxbury, a supercool boutique hotel nestled amongst the picturesque Catskill Mountains. Whether you call it "cool design," "whimsical elegance," or, our favorite, "decadently over-the top," we're all about design and how it makes your feel. At The Roxbury, we want to make you smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels so you can book your The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging Hotel Roxbury
The Hotel Roxbury
The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roxbury, Contemporary Catskill Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.