We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely ski weekend in the Catskills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scudder Hill House

Scudder Hill House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roxbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scudder Hill House
24 County Highway 8, Roxbury, NY 12474   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Roxbury B&B and Inns
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A lovely ski weekend in the Catskills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Rae and Bruce were so pleasant and helpful right from the beginning. I believe we may have been the only guests on the off weeknights we chose to stay at the Scudder Hill House in January. It was a lovely, warm and welcoming place (especially in 5-8 degrees!) We stayed in the Rip Van Winkle room, which was really charming. They went above and beyond to make us comfortable, and it was lovely getting to know them as well. The best part were the home-made blueberry muffins in the morning!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent a 3-day weekend in January with the grandkids in the Catskills to introduce them to skiing for the first time. The Scudder Hill House was ideally located nearby both Plattekill and Belleayre. We spent a day at each, and one day horseback riding. We reserved the Railroad Depot Room which slept 2 adults and 2 kids, and Bruce & Rae gave us an extra cot for our 3rd grandchild. The breakfast was hardy with homemade fresh muffins and cakes. We were active and out all day long. The Scudder Hill House served our needs well. It was cozy for sleeping and had a good breakfast to get us started. Bruce & Rae were very helpful in giving us the lay of the land, and we enjoyed our weekend there so much that we rented a country house from them for the next 3 months to enjoy the winter weekends there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Yes the place is tiny but its comfortable. I was there to attend a wedding and I must say its not a 5 7 hotel but this place has comfortable beds and clean bathrooms and honestly thats all I need. I thank the owner for making our stay comfortable!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our family stayed in all the rooms the weekend of our daughter's wedding. Compared to other places our guests stayed, this is vastly over-priced. The rooms, while clean, were sparely furnished, no charm or comfortable seating. There was no lounge or public space to gather, the breakfast room which might have had to serve 20 people was small and very crowded with 3 tables and a dozen chairs. Makeshift repairs included rough railings on the front porch, a flimsy screen door hanging on one hinge. In short, look elsewhere for value, charm and comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights for a wedding we were attending in Roxbury. The hosts, Rae and Bruce, were lovely, happy to chat and recommend restaurants, places to go etc. Room was spotless, and breakfast was excellent. Great location, with lovely walks from the house. Would definately recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My now husband and I stayed at the Inn for our wedding weekend last week. Although the room was very clean and roomy as was the bathroom nothing stood out here as "special". Our bed was not made and new towels were never given the morning after our first night stay which I found odd. Being we were staying there for our wedding night it would have been nice to at least return to our room with the bed made ....maybe a little personal touch to congratulate us. Breakfast was a cake and a bowl of hard boiled eggs (not on ice) and some cereal boxes. We had a lot of wedding guests who stayed at other Inns in the area who awoke to home made pancakes, eggs, etc. This was the pricier Inn in the area and I expected a little more for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here last February for our ski trip to belleyre mountain. Rae and Bruce were extremely great hosts who made us feel right at home. Upon entering our room we spotted a cute wicker basket that held a variety of pamphlets informing us of restaurants and activities around the area. The room was small and quaint, as well as the bathroom. The house is very old but they keep it very clean. After a long day of skiing our bed felt great. For breakfast there was a variety of store bought items along with some delicious breads that Bruce baked. I personally like having the choice of store bought items, especially if you like to pick healthy items. During the two days we were there both Bruce and Rae made it a point to get in touch with every guest they felt wanted to talk during breakfast. We needed some suggestions on dinner and they were very helpful.
We are already planning our second trip back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scudder Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scudder Hill House

Address: 24 County Highway 8, Roxbury, NY 12474
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roxbury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Roxbury
Also Known As:
Scudder Hill House Roxbury, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scudder Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Scudder Hill House to your Saves list