We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait To Go Back To Winter Clove Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Clove Inn

Save Saved
You added Winter Clove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Rd, PO Box 67, Round Top, NY 12473   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Round Top B&B and Inns
Long Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Go Back To Winter Clove Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

We just returned from a wonderful getaway at Winter Clove Inn. Since we booked late, we did not stay in the Main House (as we have been doing for our family Reunion for over 20 years), but in the Oaks Lodge; about a one minute walk to the Main House.
Our room was warm and welcoming, clean, and decorated in Early American. The view was beautiful, and everything was so peaceful in the Oaks Lodge. (Great for reading and "catching-up" with each other).
The skiers in our family skied Windham Mountain for 2 days. Our waitress, Brianna,packed them picnic lunches, to go-she thought of everything! Sandwiches, drinks, fruit, dessert, and lots of goodies to snack on. After a full day of skiing, the hearty dinner served at the Inn, really hit the spot. My husband, who's a bit of a gourmet cook, said the roast beef was the best he's ever had (he wants the recipe). My chicken was juicy and perfectly seasoned. There are foods that I have never had elsewhere, from fresh baked muffins and bread, to homemade soups. But my favorite is the good, old fashioned breakfasts-something we're always too rushed at home to have.
Our last day we decided to stay at the Inn and do some cross country skiing. all the equipement is free of charge! We had a blast!
To me, Winter Clove Inn is a great way to spend time with your family and friends. There is skiing, sledding, bowling, swimming (there's both an indoor and an outdoor pool), or toasting marshmallows at the Bon- Fire. In warmer weather there's miles of hiking trails, a covered bridge over a beautiful waterfall, (see if you can find the rock carving of Winter clove Inn, that's over 100 years old), tennis, a 9 hole golf course, basketball, volleyball, shuffleboard-there's a nice gift shop where you can buy local crafts, maple syrup, and cozy fleece sweatshirts. Our girls are already planning their next stay (a family reunion) in March at Winter Clove. Can't wait to go back to Winter Clove Inn!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    34
    4
    9
    16
See reviews for
76
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse N.Y.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

We had a family reunion two years ago at this property and it was excellent. This time was awful!! After spending $500.00 for two adults the food was not edible and the dinning room was so loud we could not carry on a conversation with each other. My husband is on oxygen and there was no one to assist us in getting our baggage or the O2 concentrator to the second floor.
there was no place for us to get away from loud screaming children. There was a Bonfire scheduled for 8:00pm on Saturday evening and it still was not started by 8:30pm.
Saturday there was a power outage and the staff could only come up with one candle per table. We needed flashlights to see what we were eating for dinner.
Needless to say we will not be returning to this Inn again.

  • Liked — The location and enviorment
  • Disliked — Terrible food and loud screaming children in the dinning room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brydan, Innkeepers at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2008
As the Innkeepers, we do our best to make everyone’s stay enjoyable. We are happy that these same guests had an enjoyable stay two years ago. However, we can only address, and then rectify, a problem if we are aware of it. If we had been informed of these situations during their stay, then perhaps we could have resolved them before they left with bad feelings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the Winter Clove Inn August 14-18 of 2008 and were determined to have a relaxing, lazy vacation. We got in late on the 14th and noticed the inn keeper had left our keys on the front desk with a note as to how to get to our rooms. My husband and I were traveling with another couple and we got rooms right next door to each other. Be careful on packing as there is no elevator. We were surprised by the spaciousness of not only the bedroom but the bathroom. We think the bedroom was about 9x11. The next morning was breakfast where we meet Scott, Scott was going to be our waiter the entire time we were there. (He is the GREATEST waiter ever and we are sad that he was leaving Winter Clove in a couple of weeks.) Over the weekend we did a lot of sleeping, reading on the giant porch, lounging outside, and eating. It was beautiful outside and we took to just sitting around enjoying nature. I found myself one morning complaining about a buzzing noise, only to discover it was a bumble bee on one of the bushes. The bowling lanes were fun and cost $3 per person per game. The gift shop is nice and has beautiful fleece throws, among other Winter Clove products and overall folk products. We went to the local Windham winery which sells the best Sangria wine and the best Maple Syrup Wine, yes you read that right, maple syrup. Did I mention how delicious the food is? Every meal was tasty and nothing was weird enough for you not to try it. Here is a list of the types of food we ate: Cream of Broccoli soup, Beef Barley Soup, Lamb, Pork with Applesauce, Chicken Florentine, Stuffed Tilapia, Potatoes’ (all types), Spice cake, Bundt Cake, the best homemade muffins and bread around. We also noticed that if a kid ordered the kid meal, normally Grilled Cheese or Hot Dog, it came with the same vegetables as the grownups. And we saw many kids eating their vegetables. The only thing I would change is that the waiters have to wear formal wear in the evenings but polos and khakis in the daytime. The formal wear in the evenings made me feel underdressed. I would keep them in their polo shirts. Overall, we all loved the inn and can’t wait to go back soon.

  • Liked — The Food, the quietness of the whole place
  • Disliked — The formal wear and the fru fruness of the evening meal.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

My family (daughter, son, grandson, two granddaughters - including one baby - and I) just returned from 4 nights at Winter Clove, our second trip there. We all had a wonderful time!

When it rained, we could sit on the huge, covered front porch and read or play cards. The kids loved the hikes, the pools (outdoor when nice out and indoor when it rained), the playground, the tennis court, the bowling.

We found the food plentiful and good and the service was very pleasant. The rooms are large and each is decorated individually with homey touches. Even the crib came with a small quilt.

One of the nice features is that the guests were all very friendly. We enjoyed talking to the 90+ yr old and 100+ yr old women who come every year for 2 weeks, the other families with small children, the other grandparents, etc.

I look forward to returning and sitting on the front porch in a rocking chair, reading a book.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI, NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We've been coming here since we were single, it's the best place to go to get away from it all! No cell phone service, no internet, no TV!
Just time spent with your family. The accomodations are old, but it's very quaint! It's like going to your family's vacation house. We usually eat so much at breakfast that we skip lunch. We never had a complaint about the food, I don't know what some people expect.
There's a few trails for hiking, a pond, a stream, a waterfall, we wandered about most of the time, just taking it easy.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

This was our second visit, and we plan to make it an annual tradition. The Winter Clove Inn was exactly what we were looking for. It's close enough to Windham Mountain (25 min drive?), and the features and price are well worth the extra travel time to the slopes.

It has a nice size heated swimming pool. It operates a bowling alley and game room across the street. It has nightly activities for the family such as bonfire with marshmallows included. It has nice hiking trails all around the property that feature a large stream, mini water fall, covered bridge, etc. They offer snowshoes and cross country skis & boots for free. And they have several sleds for sledding. We did it all on this trip in addition to skiing at Windham. Our kids (age 5 and 9) loved it.

All meals are included and they'll pack a lunch if you're going to the slopes or elsewhere. We're not talking 5 star restaurant quality, but the food is wholesome and tasty.

The rooms are spacious (some more than others), showers have plenty of force and hot water, which is key after a day on the slopes. Rooms have no tv, which forces you out of your room and into the shared living room which has a tv, fireplace, piano. This is a good thing as it allows the kids to interact with other kids in the hotel instead of gluing themselves to the tv.

Highly recommended for families with small children who are just getting into skiing and want a fun family vacation.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

This is not a spot for the pretentious, self centered, or folks looking for the traditional morgue like silent vacation that fancy cookie cutter hotel chains specialize in. The Winter Clove Inn exudes fun activities, social interaction, and is an overly family friendly full of life place.

The food is hearty country Americana where seconds are OK, and they will bend backwards to accommodate, especially if you have small ones. Reviews (plural) criticizing meals originating from a country where they still eat horse meat needs to be carefully weighed! If you are looking for snails, frog legs, a ritzy quiet dining room, or the posh experience of being looked down on snootily by your waiter and/or Wine Stewart; do yourself and the other guests a favor, go elsewhere.

If you want an opulent room to spend the entire time in; ditto! The rooms may be a little dated but are rustic, cozy and very clean. This country inn is all about the country! There are no in-room TV's or telephones and thank goodness for that!!

I was actually upset because my Sprint/Nextel gets one or two signal bars as they lit up the nearby Hunter Ski Bowl area but managed to keep work at bay by still advising no cell service and keep it off. I highly advise doing same.

All of the kids meet up with other visiting kids, form friendships, and have the kind if fun all children do with all the associated noise, chatter at meals, and even the running around that kids do. With the fresh mountain air, at night, they drop like bags of ice!!

Those who are aggravated by the sounds of life; kids having fun, all ready have one foot in the grave and sadly forgot what being is a kid was all about. Again, look elsewhere and please re-evaluate life's priorities of what is really important in life; living it!
PS: Laughing adds 7 - 10 years to the average life expectancy; lighten up.

  • Liked — Service, hearty country meals, activities, environment, and the scenary only available upat this county inn.
  • Disliked — Let me think and get back to you...
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winter Clove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Clove Inn

Address: Winter Clove Rd, PO Box 67, Round Top, NY 12473
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on over 300 pristine acres and nestled at the base of North Mountain Winter Clove Inn is an all inclusive family resort offering three delicious meals served daily, indoor/outdoor heated pools, bowling alley, 9-hole golf course, miles of hiking trails, waterfalls, fitness center, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and much more. YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Winter Clove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Clove Hotel Round Top

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Clove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.