We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Round Top
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Polly's Rock Road, PO Box 86, Round Top, NY 12473   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Round Top B&B and Inns
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Two hours from Manhattan, this is the perfect place to relax and recharge. The inn has two clean and spacious bedrooms, both overlooking the mountains. The bathrooms have jacuzzi and a small refrigerator. The breakfast is delicious and plenty and they accommodate a vegetarian diet. Nearby attractions: bird watching, hiking, falls, golfing, a raptor center, zipp-line and it is also close to good restaurants, just ask the innkeeper for a recommendation.
Situated on top of a mountain and surrounded by the Catskills this is one of the most tranquil places we’ve ever experienced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I don't have much to add to what other reviewers have noted except to affirm that it's all true. Ellen was a generous and gracious hostess who gave us an incredible experience for our anniversary. The Sky Room was magnificent - brand new and immaculate with an amazing view. The bed was extremely comfortable and I haven't slept so well in weeks. Breakfast was comparable to the best brunches I've had in NYC - especially the Puerto Rican oatmeal and homemade schnecken. I think we will make this an annual pilgrimage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington.Ont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The view is magnificent, inthe evening there is not an artificial light in sight, just the canopy of trees, the shape of the Catskill mountains and a huge sky that is the best spectacle of colour and movement. The rooms are super clean, beautifully appointed, simple with high quality and uncluttered. There is a living area and a huge deck for guests, in addition to your own little balcony. Deer and birds and the sounds of nature surround you.The breakfast is delicious and exquisit with several courses, and beautifully presented.
What makes it all truly outstanding is Ellen's and George's genuine warmth, care and generosity. The place and its people are truly remarkable, lift your spirits,and provide an environment to rest and recharge.
Hiking, exploring small towns and cultural activities are all within a short drive,- then return to your peaceful 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Others have shared incredibly positive reviews for the GeorgeEllen and they are all totally and completely true. I'm a little skittish about B&B's. I worry that they'll fall a little short on cleanliness, can be a tad musty, and sometimes aren't quite private. No worries here!.

First, the rooms. They're newly built and modern. We stayed in the Sky Room, which has a wall of large windows, and we literally felt like we were in the clouds. We looked out over acres and acres of trees - this is a VIEW. The bed was large and comfy. The bathroom - with its oversized tub, separate shower, double sinks - was utterly luxurious. And it was all spotless.

The food was wonderful: delicious and plentiful. Ellen - who is just a delightful and flexible host - served fresh fruit, oatmeal, yogurt, eggs, french toast, breakfast meat. Nothing beat her homemade fruit compotes. And it was all fresh and tasty. You left wishing you had room for more.

Finally, there is the location. To be sure, this is off-the-beaten-path. If you're seeking an urban B&B experience, you'll want to look elsewhere. But for me, the point of a getaway is to get away. This house is off of a small road, about a 20-25 minute drive to Hudson or Woodstock. When you get there, everything else fades into the distance.

Do not miss this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Before spending a night at the GeorgeEllen, which I found on a Catskills tourism website, I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and thought someone was playing a joke on me. How is it possible that every reviewer has given this bed & breakfast five out of a possible five stars? As my boyfriend and I were driving through the Catskills up to the property, I didn't see a single other hotel or bed & breakfast that looked as beautiful as the one in the pictures on the GeorgeEllen website. Neither of us can believe this place actually exists. We are still shocked that we stumbled across this incredible gem.

Ellen greeted us when we pulled up to the house and welcomed us inside her home. She was very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding areas. She gave us some great recommendations about where to eat and where to hike. We were given the upstairs room. It was absolutely beautiful and completely immaculate. The guest rooms must be no more than a few years old. Our bathroom had brand new appliances and a gigantic jacuzzi. The view from the upstairs bedroom is also not to be believed.

In the morning, Ellen served us a delicious breakfast of omelettes, bacon, some type of banana bread, fruit, bagels, and her special "Puerto Rican Oatmeal" with homemade blueberry preserves. I enjoy trying new restaurants and have frequented many in New York City, but this was far more memorable than any brunch I've had recently.

We have recommended this serene retreat to several of our friends and hope to be back soon so we can meet George!

-Amanda & Adam, NYC

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Words alone cannot describe this place. Besides the view, George & Ellen were super nice & very accommodating. Ellen is an amazing cook. Very quite/peaceful. Slept better than I have in years. Very secluded area but easy to get to. We will definitely be back !
Dave & Debbie, San Diego

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I use Tripadvisor often and was never compelled to write a review till now! Went away with my wife for 15th anniversary and see the foliage. The house was secluded at the top of the mountain with amazing panoramic views. You will not find a warmer Innkeeper than Ellen and her breakfast’s rival some of the finest brunches I have had in NYC. I highly recommend this B&B to any couple looking to get away and unwind.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms at this B&B and we stayed in the Sky Room which has an amazing view, king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast

Address: Polly's Rock Road, PO Box 86, Round Top, NY 12473
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Ellen Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.