We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a place to get a good night sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roslyn Hotel

The Roslyn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Roslyn Hotel to your Saves list
The Roslyn Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Old Northern Blvd., Roslyn, NY 11576   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roslyn
Ewing, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It's a place to get a good night sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just spent a night at Roslyn Hotel with several family members (we had a block of rooms) celebrating a milestone event in the area. Hotel was clean and room comfortable but we had several problems with one room as the toilet backed up and we woke up to find there was no toilet paper. Staff was responsive enough but it made for a very stressful time as we were dressing for the affair. Heat had two settings in room, furnace and off so we just left it off and made the best of it as a Noreaster blew through the area. We were able to get a good night sleep and the location was perfect given the weather. Hotel is a bit dated and tired overall. Complimentary breakfast buffet was fair. Wouldn't be my first choice if we returned to the area but you could do worse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    27
    36
    17
    22
See reviews for
58
18
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We used this hotel recently for our wedding and had 80+ guests staying there. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. The hotel is quaint, clean, and comfortable. We had vendors (hair & makeup) coming to the hotel and there was plenty of room in the bridal suite for everyone to get done. We hosted a private breakfast for our guests the morning after the wedding, and the food was plentiful and delicous. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with a large group such as a wedding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here over Thanksgiving. Room 317 was clean and cozy. I had previously requested no feathers and was told hotel did not use down pillows however upon arrival there was one down pillow. The pillow was quickly replaced. The service was wonderful and the Front Desk staff very helpful. The breakfast was great and offered a wide variety of choices. Any problem that I had was quickly addressed and rectified. It is an old hotel and could use a little sprucing up - closet doors do not close well; furniture was dated .

Room Tip: 317 overlooking the parking lot was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Overall our stay was good. Atmosphere was nice and clean. Only concern was that when we accidentally left a item behind in the room, we had to call 3 times to see if cleaning staff located it and we were told no. When our friend came to try to pick up the item for us, he walked right in the room and found it! Therefore we were not sure how concerned the staff was for locating the item for us.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel with great staff, comfortable rooms with local shuttle in the morning. Great restaurants in the old town of Roslyn within walking distance. For some history, visit Hendricks Tavern, go inside to the back bar room and look up to see many pics of George Washington, he once stayed there when it was a printing factory. Thyme has an amazing cobb salad, MP Taverna great food & draft beer, Deli across from MP Taverna has great NY style pizza, Kyma is expensive but nice, Labogetta great italian, Kotobuki for great sushi! enjoy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were staying at the hotel with a wedding party, the staff was rude and nasty to us. We were there for less than 5 min and were told to shut up by hotel staff. There was a women changing her child's dirty diaper by the bar area, that is disgusting. The bride and groom were so upset they left immediately as did we. When we told the from desk we were checking out and wanted a refund as the rooms were not touched. The front desk had no authority to issue a refund. I was told to call Randy the next morning. I called and conveniently he is out of the office all week. I left a message for the manager Cindy and still have not received a call back. Do not stay at this hotel!! If I could give this hotel a 0 I would.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel may be somewhat dated, but it is still a comfortable place to stay, with very good restaurants within walking distance, and if you need a car, Budget and Avis are just across the village, a ten minute walk. There is a lot to do in the immediate area, from great museums, real north coast Long Island historical sites, and more great places to eat if you drive out through Plandome or Manhasset to the harbor. And the city is a close train ride away if 5th avenue is calling.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east-- second or third floor-- then if you need the window open there is little outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roslyn Hotel

Address: 1221 Old Northern Blvd., Roslyn, NY 11576
Location: United States > New York > Roslyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roslyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roslyn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Roslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roslyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.