We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roslyn Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Roslyn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Roslyn Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Old Northern Blvd., Roslyn, NY 11576   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Roslyn
Maspeth, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the Roslyn Claremont Hotel this past Sunday into Monday. The room I stayed in desperately needed updating, having out dated curtains and bedding. The breakfast that was promised was just average, having very few choices for healthier eating (other than some fruit and cooked oatmeal, which was actually good!). My biggest complaint about the Roslyn Claremont was the lack of air conditioning. The room was stuffy and stiflingly warm! It was very difficult to sleep through the night due to the heat in my room. Unfortunately, the Roslyn Claremont Hotel was a big disappointment, especially for the price that we paid!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the main street as it was quite noisy in my room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    38
    25
    30
See reviews for
56
35
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It was a pleasure staying at the Roslyn Claremont Hotel after our wedding. Katie Russo (group sales manager) was a pleasure to work with and offered great rates for our guests. The staff at the Claremont was great in making our guests comfortable and helpful in making sure our guests received their welcome bags. Everyone enjoyed their breakfast in the morning! The hotel itself is pretty and kept very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Old dated property, a trip from the 80's. Needs a good renovation. The breakfast was cold , looked like it's been there for hours . The only good thing about this hotel was the massage chairs on each floor

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central new jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here in March as it was near to the Riverside Funeral Home, and it was reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. The beds in the room are a bit small, 2 doubles, and the beds were lumpy and short. My husband who is only 5'11" just about fit on the bed. I kept rolling into the middle of the bed as the mattress was worn. There were stains on the carpet. Also, I had to cancel a reservation as they could not accomodate me for a second night, and found out that my reservation had not been cancelled by the front desk personnel. But, the staff did not charge me since it was there mistake. The pluses of this hotel is the cookies upon check in and the free water bottles. Also, beware if you leave the hotel at night thru the bottom level. I went to go to my car which was parked on the bottom level, and could not get back in as the night manager had locked the door (it was only 10pm) and there was no card key access. Luckily they answered the intercom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I was disappointed that although I booked a twin room we ended up with a double but as the hotel was totally full there was not a lot they could do about it. They did offer to put a cot into the room so they did make an effort to rectify the problem.
The staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel frequently for both business and pleasure. Lately, though, I have seen very good changes to this hotel that makes my stay very enjoyable. The new ownership has made a lot of qualitative improvement such as complimentary full breakfast, Kuring coffee in rooms, water bottles( which they were charging $2.50 before), fresh coffee in lobby 24 hours. The staff is super friendly, courteous, and professional. Free message chair and super fast free wifi always a plus. I will defintely come back!!!

Room Tip: Always choose top floor overlooking the Roslyn harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is located near the little town of Roslyn within walking distance to a few restaurants, but there is nothing else there. It is an hold hotel that needs some renovations and upgrades. Some Indians are now taking ownership, so things may get better or worse, who knows. When I was there, the phone line was not working. It is a cozy hotel with a home feeling. The staff are kind enough and the restaurant serves good food. The included breakfast is simple but very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Roslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roslyn Hotel

Address: 1221 Old Northern Blvd., Roslyn, NY 11576
Location: United States > New York > Roslyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Roslyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roslyn Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Roslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roslyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.