We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just your average Joe” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Roslyn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Roslyn Hotel to your Saves list
The Roslyn Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Old Northern Blvd., Roslyn, NY 11576   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roslyn
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just your average Joe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Old dated property, a trip from the 80's. Needs a good renovation. The breakfast was cold , looked like it's been there for hours . The only good thing about this hotel was the massage chairs on each floor

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    40
    43
    29
    34
See reviews for
63
39
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
central new jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here in March as it was near to the Riverside Funeral Home, and it was reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. The beds in the room are a bit small, 2 doubles, and the beds were lumpy and short. My husband who is only 5'11" just about fit on the bed. I kept rolling into the middle of the bed as the mattress was worn. There were stains on the carpet. Also, I had to cancel a reservation as they could not accomodate me for a second night, and found out that my reservation had not been cancelled by the front desk personnel. But, the staff did not charge me since it was there mistake. The pluses of this hotel is the cookies upon check in and the free water bottles. Also, beware if you leave the hotel at night thru the bottom level. I went to go to my car which was parked on the bottom level, and could not get back in as the night manager had locked the door (it was only 10pm) and there was no card key access. Luckily they answered the intercom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I was disappointed that although I booked a twin room we ended up with a double but as the hotel was totally full there was not a lot they could do about it. They did offer to put a cot into the room so they did make an effort to rectify the problem.
The staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel frequently for both business and pleasure. Lately, though, I have seen very good changes to this hotel that makes my stay very enjoyable. The new ownership has made a lot of qualitative improvement such as complimentary full breakfast, Kuring coffee in rooms, water bottles( which they were charging $2.50 before), fresh coffee in lobby 24 hours. The staff is super friendly, courteous, and professional. Free message chair and super fast free wifi always a plus. I will defintely come back!!!

Room Tip: Always choose top floor overlooking the Roslyn harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is located near the little town of Roslyn within walking distance to a few restaurants, but there is nothing else there. It is an hold hotel that needs some renovations and upgrades. Some Indians are now taking ownership, so things may get better or worse, who knows. When I was there, the phone line was not working. It is a cozy hotel with a home feeling. The staff are kind enough and the restaurant serves good food. The included breakfast is simple but very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Was in town w/my family (2 adults, 2 teenage girls) for 1 night. The room was plenty big for the 4 of us - 2 queen beds, desk, couch, chair, dresser and flat screen TV. The hotel was clean and tastefully decorated; the staff was very helpful and friendly. The windows did open, if fresh air is desired. The hotel offers a basic breakfast - cereal, fruit, bagels, eggs, bacon, potatoes and breakfast sandwiches.

We were only there for the 1 night, so I can't comment on any other amenities or the area; the hotel was easy to get to from the major Long Island highways.

The price is very affordable and the hotel a good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had a room on the main level, which was great. The lobby is cute, old-fashioned, but the lobby loveseat needs the upholstery cleaned. The carpet in my room was a lighter color and inidcated it was in need of replacement, seemed worn. Liked the Keurig pot in the room, the TV was modern, but everything else was not modern. OK, if you know what to expect. Kind of remind me of staying at grandma's house with the older furnishings. The bathroom reminded me of a Marriott property with the tile floors, lighting and such. All it was missing was a decent (newer) showerhead. The breakfast was marginal- an assortment of pastries, melon salad, sausage/bacon and reconstituted "scrambled" eggs. Coffee was good, though. The area was very pretty and the hotel is ok for sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyYoung, General Manager at The Roslyn Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment and sharing your review about our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we are happy your overall experience was pleasant

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have taken note of the items you mentioned in your review and addressed each of them.

We will be updating our hotel in the spring and truly hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roslyn Hotel

Address: 1221 Old Northern Blvd., Roslyn, NY 11576
Location: United States > New York > Roslyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roslyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roslyn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Roslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roslyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.