We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is a true embarrasment and disgrace!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Roslyn Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Roslyn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roslyn Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Old Northern Blvd., Roslyn, NY 11576   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Roslyn
longisland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel is a true embarrasment and disgrace!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Do not have your wedding here you will be sorry!

We spoke to the banquet manager and went over all the details. One of my concerns was the dirty, scratched up dance floor. I requested a new one. The banquet manager promised over and over but never delivered.

We made a mistake by not requesting a tasting before we put down the deposit. For 6 months I chased down the banquet manager for a tasting all I received were excuses. Eventually he final came through. The food was disgusting! What a huge disappointment as we went into panic mode now!

We booked rooms for out of town relatives and they screwed up the reservations twice. The second time we really have to do some wheeling and dealing to fix their mistake.

The wedding finally came, during the reception the banquet manager asked me to leave the suite I had reserved for 5 days, as someone else reserved it I was told. How could I leave my wedding? Why was someone bothering me on my special day? Multiple times my reception was interrupted by the banquet manager.

After the reception, the banquet manager came to my room and a full scale argument started. He got so bad, I was afraid he was going to hit me. Lucky my husband was nearby and chased him away.

Here I was, just married and we had to relocate to another room. I don’t know why, because the room was already reserved. No assistance was made available to us, and a guest was forced to sleep in an unmade room, because they screwed up the reservations.

After the wedding I was clearly upset over the treatment I received from this employee. I spoke to the owner, who did nothing. I spoke to the general manager who also did nothing. My bill also appears to be wrong.

stay away from this hotel or you will be sorry!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    38
    42
    29
    34
See reviews for
61
37
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at the hotel last month on WED, to my surprise there was Manager's reception night of unlimited complimentary wine and hot appetizer. The staff was very helpful and had the causey atmosphere. The location is convenient to Roslyn area of NY I will recommend this place any time of day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Roslyn Claremont for two nights while attending a wedding. This hotel was used as the booking hotel for the wedding and over 30 rooms were booked. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a pleasant sitting area and small area by the lobby. However, most people encountered problems with reservations upon check-in. The bride and groom were told on check in that there was not room for them and many wedding guests were required to double up in rooms ! These problems were only compounded by a manager that was both unpleasant and unprofessional at every level. For all the postives of the buiding, I would avoid staying here if at all possible. As we were departing, another large party was beginning to check in and it was like watching a rerun of our experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Due to the hurricane sandy. When we first arrived our room was $189 and our reservation was for two nights. Due to no power in our home we had to stay longer than anticipated. When they finally said we can stay due to cancellations the rate went up to $295! We were at a loss because we had no where to go. My husband spoke to the owner and he refused to keep the rate at $189. It was disgusting. They took away the complimentary coffee in the lobby and limited guests on clean towels and sheets. The staff was sympathetic and apologized for the change in rate but there was nothing that could be done. How can an owner do this to local residents and others. I am outraged and shame on him! When all settles in the local area he will be sure to lose business because no one in my community would ever give him another dollar! They don't even participate in FEMA. It is disgraceful and disappointing in a time like this you help your community not over charge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyYoung, General Manager at The Roslyn Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all of our reviews very seriously.
Hurricane Sandy was truly a very difficult time, and our staff at the hotel tried their best to accommodate guests with the resources we had.
We regret at one point we had to eliminate our complimentary 24 hour coffee service, but our coffee distributor was shut down for many days, and we wanted to make sure we had enough coffee for breakfast. Our breakfast is included in the rate and we had many more people staying in the hotel than we normally do.
Our laundry service was with out power the first few days of the storm so we did not receive deliveries. We were limited on our towels and sheets, and we tried to distribute them accordingly.
We allowed families of 4 or 5 with pets in rooms that normally accommodate two because of the situation, so we virtually tripled or quadrupled the number of people that usually occupy the hotel.

Thank you again for writing a review. We have already discussed any changes we need to implement in case of a future disaster and we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel was clean near work, lovely little village, food wasnt great on the first night, we didnt eat there the second night. Would advise eating out and having drinks out, worked well for where i was working for the week

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we arrived from CA at night , we couldn't believe how noisy the whole place was (due to 2 reunions going on). We were exhausted, but I was ready to move to any other hotel, or even just to drive around until we figured something out. Then my husband talked to Patty and Olga about it, and they upgraded us (no charge) to a suite that was actually totally quiet. We stayed there for 4 days, and all was great. Alicia was also really helpful during our stay. The hotel is charming, in a beautiful village neighborhood, and I loved the free massage chair right up the stairs from the lobby. It's true there was no heat (this was late Oct.) which I did think was weird. But, all in all, we loved the place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I must include the fact that I was with a small group as well. There were 5 of us and two of the nurses from California had a similar experience with regards to the mediocre service. They had complained of lackluster service upon their arrival as well. So it seems the best treatment and service went to the large group that was there at the same time. Clearly, offering your guest a blanket b/c YOU (the manager) have decided the temperature has warmed up (57 degrees) it simply NOT good service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Roslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roslyn Hotel

Address: 1221 Old Northern Blvd., Roslyn, NY 11576
Location: United States > New York > Roslyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Roslyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roslyn Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Roslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roslyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.