We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Diane

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trattoria Diane
21 Bryant Avenue, Roslyn, NY
516-621-2591
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Diane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 35 restaurants in Roslyn
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Skillman St.
Transit: Five minutes from the Roslyn train station, 10 minutes from the Portwashington and Manhasset train stations.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went here with a group for New Year's Eve and the food was really good. I can only imagine that the food is even better when it's not a holiday. We were seated at a round table and it was quiet enough for us to all talk. The service was good although the waiter was visibly disappointed when none of us ordered dessert. It was definitely a find and we will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    11
    7
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, NY
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Got better with Time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Haven't eaten here in a long time and recently had an opportunity to eat there twice in a week. Excellent food and service. Small but nice wine list, very well priced. Pasta was cooked perfectly al-dente. I ordered a Bronzino and ended up with a bucatini, but it was excellent and a great excuse to eat wheat. Staff was apologetic and willing to change. Don't let the "boorish" clientele scare you, this is a gem for a great, well priced meal. Diane's deserts are amazing. I would love to see some new additions to the old favorites. Def give it a try, especially during the week when less crowded.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Horrendous service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The service in this place is HORRENDOUS. We used to go to this place fairly regularly as the food is very good until we got sick of the terrible service. We hadn't been there for 2 1/2 years until we decided to give it another try last night.

We had a 6:30 reservation for two on a Saturday night and arrived on time. The place was empty. The host told us they needed to get our table ready. Really? We were the first wave of customers in an empty restaurant and you need to get our table ready? Shouldn't it been setup and ready to go? They offered us a seat at the bar while they got our table ready. Why would we need a seat at the bar, the restaurant is EMPTY! Strike one.

We wait a couple of minutes, table still not "ready", another big party comes in after us. That distracts the host as he figures out how to get them seated. Not sure why that took priority over us, but it did. I guess the the 4 or 5 other staff members standing around doing nothing couldn't have seated us. Strike Two.

We continue to wait, then another couple comes in after us, walks right up to the host, shakes his hand and is immediately shown straight to a table!! This was the last straw. At that point I pointed out to the host that we had been waiting and we had still not been seated. At this point the inner Gordon Ramsey I didn't know I had came out! We exchanged pleasantries, ok, it was more like me exchanging unpleasantries and we left the restaurant.

The owners of this place should be ashamed of themselves. Nothing has changed here with their terrible service. People come to a restaurant to be welcomed in, not to be left standing there like two idiots. Never again for us as this place.

We headed over to La Pace in Glen Cove where we walked in with no reservation and were seated immediately, treated with respect and had a great meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Excellent classic Itallian food .Simple,hearty fresh ingredients and desserts to die for.Definitely worth a trip to.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise in the old village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Roslyn village has had its share of small, quality restaurants. This is one of them. Atmosphere is energetic in a small to medium sized space. There is a bar with about 7-8 seats. Octopus, fried artichokes and salad appetizers were great. We had the duck, tuna entree, salmon entree, and pasta bolognese (decadent in a good way. Tell them to put the cheese on the side!) , which were all excellent. Wines by the glass were generous and reasonably priced (full bodied Malbec for $12 was great. Twice). Service was attentive, friendly and unobtrusive. They have a bakery and pannini operation that you should definitely visit during the day. Grab some of that to carry-out and walk the village and duck pond. The baked goods are superb. This place is on my short list of favorites.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Diane also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Diane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Diane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.