We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best appetizer on planet Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Cafe & Lodging

Riverside Cafe & Lodging
16650 County Highway 17, Roscoe, NY
(607) 498-5305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Roscoe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Roscoe, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best appetizer on planet Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hidden gem in the Catskills. Best appetizer on planet Earth. We have kept this restaurant a secret for several years but have decided that is so good, it would be unfair not to share. Since we are local, we find the standard menu to be a bit boring. However, I would challenge you to find better pork tenderloin or Weiner Schnitzel anywhere.

This place gives chef owned and operated new meaning. Dishes are always top quality, excellently prepared and presented. Portions are large and the sharing charge is quite reasonable for the large delectable salad and fresh, always different, baked bread provided. We prefer the seafood offerings here. Relocated from long Island, we know and appreciate really good fish, shrimp, scallops and etcetera. Tammy is the oceans master, kudos to her.

As for the best appetizer on planet earth, if you are blessed by the food gods on your visit, Baked Brie will be offered. We have dined at hundreds of the best and worst, cheapest and most expensive restaurants on the east coast and have never experienced a dish like this. The brie is baked in a delicate crisp crust, served over baby greens with fresh seasonal fruit and an onion raisin reduction sauce to finish. Yum! It makes you appreciate the thought, time and effort that really good food requires.

Add to this a location and atmosphere that will make you want to stay forever. Fortunately, they have a lodge next door.

P.S. Awesome wait staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“see my review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Already rated. John W. You will be surprised. On Beaver kill 7 mi from Roscoe. Owner and staff great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston Manor, New York
1 review
“Dawne & Eric Ehlers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Love it,we go there every chance we get,great food great service.!!!! My birthday his Birthday ,Valentines day our anniversary when ever we can,love sitting and looking out at the water and the fisherman.Everyone is always friendly and make you feel at home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great surprise close to the highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

On our way upstate we stopped here and were amazed at the quality of the ingredients and the flavorful fish, chicken and vegetables as well as the amazing freshly baked pumpkin flaxseed bread. We also spotted two lovely homemade blueberry pies as we were leaving, which undoubtedly contributed to our decision to go back. And so as we headed downstate two days later, we returned for more. Appetizer was a really yummy mixture of sauteed mushrooms. Food is not pretentious -- yay! You get freshly picked fruits and veggies prepared (and often picked!) by someone who obviously REALLY knows how to cook. A real treat. Eager to return. The pies tasted as good as they looked! Pleasant sunroom location on the river, with a nice porch swing outside. Go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jervis, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We heard about the Riverside Cafe from friends at work. We could not have been happier with our experience, The view and ambience were very relaxing. We both had a Roscoe Brewing Company beer, a local brand, which was very good and ice cold. The dinner began, as they all do here, with a warm loaf of delicious raisin bread and a mesclun salad with tomato, red onion, olives and feta cheese. They serve the salad with a dressing lazy susan with bleu, ranch, and a sesame ginger dressing which was very good. We orderd the soup of the day, potato & sausage with cheddar - very good. We both had the house specialty pork tenderloin in an apple sauce-cinammon reduction with red cabbage and a baked potato- cooked to perfection and delicious. We topped it off with homemade black raspberry pie ala mode. By the way, we were so full we took half our dinner home and enoyed it all over again! We saw other dinners come out and everything looked excellent. We will definitely be going back and we highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Cafe & Lodging also viewed

Roscoe, Catskill Region
Roscoe, Catskill Region
 
Roscoe, Catskill Region
Roscoe, Catskill Region
 

Been to Riverside Cafe & Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Cafe & Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.