We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No cure short of dynamite” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   173 Sunrise Highway, Rt. 27, Rockville Centre, NY 11570-4705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No cure short of dynamite”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is structurally impossible. Open exterior walkways are totally unsuitable to a cold climate--you open your door that the outside is right there. The only window in the room looks out on the walkway leaving a choice between light and privacy. Clothes bar impinges on the sink area, so you keep backing into your clothes. Third floor elevator call panel was inoperative.

Add to that a weekend-long gathering of costumed pre-Halloween celebrants of the macabre, whooping and hollering between the walkways and the parking lot until after midnight.

This place needs to be closed and demolished.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Neil:

I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. Unfortunately, we cannot do anything about the structural design of the hotel. I am hoping that my staff provided you with some great customer service to overlook these defaults such as exterior corridors. WE are in the process of renovations to give our hotel a fresher look and hope you can give us another opportunity to show you how we can surpass this obstacle.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Alan Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    78
    34
    13
    12
See reviews for
81
31
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although the room itself is passable, the single window looks out onto the walkway by the door so anyone can look in. (The rooms all open to the outside, motel-style.) This means it's necessary to block all the natural light in order to have privacy and feel safe. The hotel is next to a really busy road and the traffic noise stopped me from sleeping, even with earplugs and the very loud air conditioner switched on to try and cover it up. Not a pleasant experience. I had no say in the choice of this hotel as it was booked as part of a business trip, but I can't recommend it and will certainly avoid coming back.

I feel sorry for the staff, who are friendly and very helpful, because there's nothing they can do about the problems, which are an inherent part of the building's design. Advice to Best Western: demolish the building and start again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mancunius:

I like to thank you for your comments about your stay. Here at the hotel we cannot do anything about the physicality of the building but what we lack there we make up for in customer service. We are currently under renovations to give the hotel a fresh look and hope that we can overlook the surrounding areas and give our guests an enjoyable stay.

We like to welcome you again to the hotel and hope that we can make your next saty a better one.

Thank you

Alan Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It is obvious that this was once owned by someone else b4 Best Western took over the property. The bathrooms are in dire need of a serious update, especially the bathtubs. Twice, my friend stayed here and both times the reservation were messed up. There is 1 central elevator and if ones room is on the other side- be prepared to walk. In general the rooms are quiet,clean and great AC. Lots of stores and good places to eat nearby, most will deliver to your room. A pharmacy is across the road. Moments to transportation and parking is free to guest. The best is the free breakfast, lots more to choose from than a continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Quick access to major roadways and public transportation. The rooms on the north side are a tad larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Rosie:

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are in the process of renovating the entire hotel starting with the exteriors and lobby and working our way to the rooms. I know it can be a bit of a walk from one side of the hotel to the other but let us know when the next time you will be visiting us. I will make sure to put you not too far off from the elevators.

I am also glad you enjoyed our complimentary beakfast. Our belief is you cannot start a great day without a great breakfast.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Alan Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

An older property that needs an update, facelift, refresh of appearance and material goods. Sheets should have been replaced long ago. Not a good value for the money. This was a second choice property as there was a convention, and higher prices for rooms left at our first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for one with new sheets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Kelly:

Thank you for your input. I pologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. I do not know if you realized but the hotel has been going through remodelling of its exteriors and rooms.
I hope you do come back and give us another try once the hotel is complete with its newer look. I am sure you would not be disappointed.

Sincerely,

Alan Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Although the hotel is between Sunrise Highway and the LIRR station, there was no noise from either in my fourth floor room. At first glance, the hotel appeared to be in a state of disrepair, but this is from ongoing renovation. My room had been recently renovated and was clean and comfortable, with standard amenities. Hotel is very convenient to "downtown" Rockville Centre and adjacent to a 24 hour drugstore and a 24 hour supermarket. Price was very reasonable for Rockville Centre. Motor Inn style rooms open to outside, covered walkways. Approach hotel heading west on Sunrise Highway and pay close attention. Rockville Centre is a warren of parking lots and one way streets, so you don't want to miss the entrance. It can take quite a while to turn around -- as I found out.

Room Tip: 407 in the middle of the building parallel to Sunrise Highway was completely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. The hotel is currently under renovations on some parts so I apologize for some of our decor.

I am glad, however, that you found our rooms excetpionally well and that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one.

We hope to see you again.

Thank you

Alan Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks in this month. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Supermarket and railways station are within 2 minitues walkable distance. Plenty of restraurants are available nearby the hotel and within walkable distance. Even Manhatan city is also reachable within 30-45 minitues from the hotel by train.
Hotel provides monring breakfast but very limited items are available. As for wi-fi, the connection always flactuates especially you will not be able to talk through skpe, lyncs or similar applications using wi-fi. The hotel is very basic but kept clean all the times. The furniture is old but still well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My recent stay at this Best Western was for a family trip. Rockville Centre is convenient to where we needed to be on Long Island. The 4th floor room we had was away from the Sunrise Highway noise which we appreciated. The commuter train noise was minimal. We also appreciated the in-room refrigerator and microwave. Another plus was the sink located outside of the toilet/tub/shower area. The magnifying make-up mirror was also a plus, if only it weren't installed for someone 6'2"! The in-room heating/air conditioning unit was moderately noisy and kept the room temperature comfortable. Mattress was a little hard. And the room has a bit of a funny smell which might be from former use as a smoking room. The on-site breakfast was okay but not great. The property is undergoing renovations and doesn't have an on-site restaurant option at the moment. Overall, an average and basic room for a moderate price in what seems to be a safe location.

Room Tip: If noise bothers your sleeping, definitely suggest a room away from Sunrise Highway or bring ear plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor

Address: 173 Sunrise Highway, Rt. 27, Rockville Centre, NY 11570-4705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rockville Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rockville Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Best Western Mill River Manor is a full service hotel offering complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning,free guest parking,seasonal outdoor pool with lifeguard,24 hour front desk,fitness center,and business center. We are located 1 block from the railroad station with service to JFK airport, Manhattan,the Hampton's,and the Beaches.The on-site Italian restaurant offers both lunch,dinner and poolside service for cocktails and food. Our concierge can arrange for transport to and from all airports as well as offer suggestions for restaurants and things to do in the area and Manhattan.The Best Western Mill River Manor offers full corporate and banquet facilities accommodating up to 230 guests.We hope to have you as a guest in the near future! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mill River Manor Hotel Rockville Centre
Best Western Rockville Centre
Rockville Centre Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mill River Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.