We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cafeteria” 3 of 5 stars
Review of George Martin Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
George Martin Restaurant
65 N Park Ave, Rockville Centre, NY 11570-4105
516-678-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
George Martin Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sunrise Highway
Transit: Long Island Rail Road to Rockville Centre.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A cafeteria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Food is fine (not great) but it is loud...overblown cafeteria to me...at expensive prices. You can't have a decent conversation as it's so loud. Been there a few times so its the same. Will never go to dinner there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    22
    19
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the same”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have been here on numerous occasions, and the past few visits have not thrilled me. The pasta was bland, the fish was too, and it is not inexpensive, given the quality.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Eh, okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Here for lunch. Nice menu selection. Food was good. Service was slow, time to get the food was too long.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Solid year in and year out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

George Martin has occupied the old Backstreet space for over twenty years. Consistently good with large portions, great service in an upscale pub atmosphere. Solid Steaks, large pasta dishes and fresh seafood. The bar is beautiful, large, with a great top shelf selection , no matter what your choice is. If you live in Rockville Centre, you will see your neighbors enjoying quality lunches or dinners 7 days a week. Terrific little banguet room upstairs for private partied to about 50 or 60.
Sop in for great food or a relaxing atmosphere for a drink...all is good !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Our Fav!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just moved to Rockville Centre & we've been sampling the local restaurants. Unfortunately once we made it to George Martin's we don't want to go anywhere else!! It's our new "go to" place. The food is delicious, the crowd comfortable, and the people who work there are the best! Suzanne, the manager always makes us feel at home. Annie at the bar is awesome! We've had delicious, fresh salads, done appetizers/small plates for dinner and oh, did I tell you about the heavenly steaks? Make it a point to go there, and when you do, say hi to my husband and me. We'll be sitting at the bar!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Martin Restaurant also viewed

 
Rockville Centre, NY
Rockville Centre, NY
 

Been to George Martin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Martin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.