We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar and sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Press 195, Rockville Centre

Press 195, Rockville Centre
22 North Park Avenue, Rockville Centre, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Baldwin, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice bar and sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place has a great bar. We actually ate at the bar when we went. Staff is very accommodating and cheerful. We stayed later than we would have because they were having music which didn't start until 10-1030. The music was very disappointing, a DJ who turned on some music which sounded like it should be played in a department store...and then disappeared for most of the evening...I must say the food is good here, great Panini's and drinks made for a pleasant evening...would have liked some better music though..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old Bethpage, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unique fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not your everyday pub or burger place. Dozens of Fantastic sandwiches all pressed and delicious. Don't miss the fries. Some people order them as an appetizer, they're that good. The food, service, atmosphere, all great. Good for families as well. And yes, you can a burger, and it's great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not what you expect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Press 195 was not what we expected. We visited with friends on a cold, Friday night. Rockville Centre was crowded, parking was insane and there was a packed lobby at Press 195. With our party of six, we decided to brave it and waited to hear how long a wait it would be. Surprise! We were seated immediately! We were ushered past the bar with customers three-deep, past the cozy little booths for two, past an open table area and out to what was a surprise back room, filled with larger tables and strategically placed TV's. Perfect! the glass- enclosed room was winter-proofed with heaters and a very warm and welcoming staff. I can only imagine how nice it is to dine there in the spring and summer.
Be prepared! The menu choices go on forever.......everything you can imagine (chicken, cold cuts, meat loaf, veggies) can be put into a ciabiatta or wrap and pressed. I found the number of choices to be overwhelming and with many dishes, while I liked most of the ingredients, there was one that was a deal-breaker for me. So,I ordered the Classic Burger (so did my husband and girlfriend) and in all honesty....it was one of the best burgers I have ever had. It was cooked to order (rare for me) and piled high with lettuce cut like cole slaw, fresh tomatoes, a delicious soft, buttery roll and a sauce that was better than any I have tasted. Best damn burger - seriously!
The others in our party ordered pressed sandwiches were happy with their food, but it was the burger eaters who were raving!
We also had some appetizers at the table - a pastrami knish, loaded with pastrami, sauerkraut and mustard and a bowl of new england clam chowder (reportedly real good!) and an order of their famous belgian french fries. I cannot tell you what is so special about the fries, except that they are delish and you cannot stop eating them! They do charge for special dipping sauces, (75 cents) which i think they should throw in for free.
I have to tell you that what impressed me about Press 195 (other than the hambuurger) was the staff. General manager, James, was great and took time to interact with us, even though the place was packed. Our server, Amanda, paid good attention to us even though the place was packed.........and even though the place was packed, we had a good, fun, delicious time at Press 195 - not what we expected to get - but so happy we did. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but a reliable, go to place that pleases all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Press 195 is an excellent addition to the Rockville Centre restaurant scene. This village is known for its large selection of great eateries, and Press 195 fits right in. As its name implies, Press 195 has an enormous selection of pressed sandwiches. They offer one mouthwatering selection after the other. There is an ample selection of pressed sandwiches for my fellow vegetarians, as well. In addition to their namesake sandwiches, they are equally applauded for their outstanding Belgian french fries. They are served in a wire basket lined with waxed paper and interesting dipping sauces are available upon request. Try the chipotle mayo; it is always a crowd pleaser. The burgers are excellent, as I have been told by my carnivorous friends and family members. If this sounds too much like starch heaven to those who don't indulge in such dishes, Press 195 offers several soup choices per day and has many diverse salad options. The salads are not boring lettuce and tomato salads by any account. Choices include Mediterranian Salad comprised of chucks of feta cheese, chick peas, cucumbers and Chicken, Hudson Valley Salad with Granny Smith Apples and Hazelnuts, Roasted Beet salad, Chicken and Avocado salad, etc. There are appetizers to entice all as well, from chicken wings to hummus plates, meat and cheese platters, arugula and roasted red pepper salad, apples and brie, the list goes on. A unique feature of Press 195 is the "add ons", which for some unknown reason has been omitted on the most recent menu. It does still exist however. The add ons are items, which as the name suggests, may be added to any sandwich or salad, just in case the endless, interesting selection of sandwiches and salads leaves you still wanting something more! Press has a good reputation for its wine choices, but more notably has a very large and impressive selection of beer; both large batch and micro brew types. They pour a good cocktail and have developed quite a following of their Sangria. Press 195 makes several tempting and unique desserts, just in case you still have room after your meal. The portions are generous, so pace yourself! An added bonus is that Press 195 offers delivery service, so you never have to be without the food you crave! This is a reliable, go to place with options to please literally every palate.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best fries around! Comes with a variety of dipping sauces. Nice atmosphere, good service.
Nicci at the bar was the nicest. A great selection of sandwiches for every taste. Great for couples, friends, family, EVERYONE!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Press 195, Rockville Centre also viewed

Rockville Centre, NY
 
Rockville Centre, NY
 

Been to Press 195, Rockville Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Press 195, Rockville Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.