We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time, Brooklyn feel, creamy flavors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Pennies Creamery

Five Pennies Creamery
11 N. Park Avenue, Rockville Centre, NY
(516) 608-4344
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old time, Brooklyn feel, creamy flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I liked the flavors of ice cream. It brought me back to an old-time Brooklyn feel (the owner is from Bensonhurst). They will also give you samples of everything. Occasionally, live music graces the front of the seating area. Prices may be on the high side.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been going here for ice cream since it opened. All year round. Dan , the owner , is always helpful and letting you know what new flavored he has and gives you a taste. Always hand made in the back by him. Not processed like two of his nearby competitors whose customers are clueless and don't know what they are missing just a few doors away.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stop at 5 pennies after a movie about once a month. I was inspired to write a review because the ice cream is consistently excellent. Dan the owner and ice cream maker is always changing up the flavors so each time it's a hard deciding what to get so I ususally try a few before I can decide. I like the fact that he has a mini-one scoop option so I don't have to feel too guilty after indulging. The service is very friendly and it's nice that there are tables to sit and enjoy your ice cream in this charming, local shop.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You can't beat this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nothing better for New Year's Eve than a Banana Split in this wonderful place. Italian style ice cream blended with perfect servise.
Thumbs up!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“BEST ICE CREAM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I love this ice cream. Every time I am in NY I must go, forget diets when there is something this delicious! The owner is in each time I visit, and he is so nice. He makes the ice cream himself fresh! And will humor me and let me taste as many as I want. I almost always go back to the Curious George though. Banana ice cream, swirled with cinnamon and caramel. Whoa. I even tried the Thin Mint once.... I hate mint ice cream, but this was so good, I might like it. Tastes just like the cookies! (How did he do that?!)
I love ice cream.... it is my weakness, and this is some of the best I have ever had. My biggest pet peeve with ice cream shops is ice crystals. If you don't sell a lot, don't make a lot. Ice crystals ruin the whole taste and experience. THIS SHOP NEVER HAS ICE CRYSTALS! Hooray!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Pennies Creamery also viewed

Rockville Centre, NY
 
Rockville Centre, NY
 

Been to Five Pennies Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Pennies Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.