We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend in Watkins Glen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Knight Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Golden Knight Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Golden Knight Inn and Suites
4461 State Route 14, Rock Stream, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rock Stream
pittsburgh, pa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great weekend in Watkins Glen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent three nights at the Golden Knight, and it was wonderful. Exceptionally clean. Our trip to the Finger Lakes was spectacular. If you're looking for a great, comfortable 'home base', the Golden Knight is perfect. Right down the road from the finest wineries, and up the road from town. Nothing was too far away. Do not miss a trip to Bellhurst Castle. The motel owner advised us regarding dinner at the Decoy. It is not to be missed. Also told us about the Windmill outdoor market. It was a great experience. Also,loved the bed linen, so pretty along with the quilt. I appreciated that alot.

Room Tip: We stayed in rom 217 because it had the fireplace, but the weather was in the high 70's, low 80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I just returned today from a 3 night / 4 day stay at the Golden Night Inn. This was our first trip to the Finger Lakes and we will definitely return!

While preparing for this trip, we did a lot of internet searching and found many different motel / hotel accommodations. After communicating via email with the inn keepers at the Golden Knight, we chose to stay at their facility. As many know the internet and brochures can be less than truthful about their accommodations. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. While checking in, we spoke to one of the inn keepers (I believe her name was Carol) and she was very helpful in providing information on local restaurants, wineries, breweries and other attractions. The Golden Knight is an older facility, but appears to have been recently updated.We found our room to be very clean and quite comfortable. The Inn is located about 5 miles north of Watkins Glen and is centrally located to most attractions.

As I said earlier in my post , this was our first trip to the Finger Lakes, but it definitely won't be our last. On our next trip, we will definitely stay at the Golden Knight Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mordor, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed several nights in two adjoining rooms. The staff were very helpful and always pleasant. When I called to make the reservations the woman who answered the phone patiently helped me to figure out the different options and prices for rooms for our family.

The rooms were spotless and pleasant. Each room had an AC, a microwave, coffeemaker and a minifridge. We had some issues with the wi-fi, but there is a wired internet access in each room as well--so bring a laptop not a smart phone or tablet. The beds were comfortable.

Rock Stream is about 5 minutes from Watkins Glen by car, so we were close to the state park and various restaurants and shops. Several wineries and a cheese-trail site are practically next door.

This is a family run motel, so there's no 24 hour desk staff, no restaurant, nothing like that. We didn't miss it. Although the motel has no pool, there is a gorgeous free community pool in Watkins Glen State Park with a separate wading pool.

One tip for travellers--the local water has a particular taste. Not bad, just noticeable. We got some bottled water from the Walmart in town and used that for our coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed our last minute, 1 night stay at the Golden Knight Inn and Suites. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this place and will tell my friends and collegues about this wonderful family run establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us!! We were glad you were able to get up to this part of the state and enjoy the area!! Take Care, and we hope you get a chance to get this way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but a nice place to get rest from a full day of sightseeing waterfalls. They also have the inn at Hector Falls so we were given permission to view it from their property. Nice perk. Would stay there again. Both locations are family run and they are very friendly. Enjoyed talking with them.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
It was our pleasure having you as our guests!! Thank-You for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Golden Knight is exactly what it is advertised. Economical and clean. Family owned and everyone was very pleasant. If you are looking for luxury then keep looking . but if you are looking for a place central to all Seneca Lake wineries for a great price then the Golden Knight is just what you are looking for. No frills but close and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank-You so much for choosing our facility for your one night stay. I would like to clarify that each of our rooms include at least one very comfortable king size bed, a refrigerator, a microwave, a coffeemaker, coffee & condiments, an iron & board, hairdryer, cable TV with HBO/ Cinemax, wired hi-speed internet as well as WI-FI.Though, our sheets are 250 thread count, I know we are not a luxury hotel, I have never said we were. But, no frills?? I think we should qualify for at least one frill. Thanks for staying with us, we appreciate your business!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massillon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Smelled, looked and felt clean. Gorgeous view. Close to restaurants, marina & Gorge park. Within easy biking distance of lots of wineries. Great rates; got a 'last minute' deal for $81 per night. Nice owners. The toilet paper was super thin and showers were either scalding or freezing, but other than that, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank-you for commenting on our view!! It really is quite beautiful, especially in the morning when the mist is coming off the lake. We are glad you were able to take advantage of the last minute special from goldenknightinn.com. It is an economical way to stay and still have some cash left for wine, cheese etc. We had just changed toilet paper supplier and this product is a bit thinner than our previous brand. We have taken this comment into consideration. I do wish you had mentioned the trouble with the shower during your stay. It is very important to let us know when you experience a problem, so, we have an opportunity to rectify it. Thanks so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Knight Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Knight Inn and Suites

Address: 4461 State Route 14, Rock Stream, NY
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rock Stream
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rock Stream
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Seneca Lake Wine Trail, this Rock Stream hotel features Wi-Fi access and rooms equipped with a microwave,refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & board. Watkins Glen Village is 5 miles away.Cable TV with HBO movie channel and tea and coffee-making facilities are available in each traditionally decorated room at Golden Knight Inn and Suites. Select rooms feature a sofa bed or spa tub.Family suites are available that accomodate up to 6 people.Guests can enjoy the picnic area that has barbecue facilities. Glenora Wine Cellars is a 4-minute drive from Golden Knight Inn and Watkins Glen State Park is 9 miles away.Make your stay in the Finger Lakes a "Golden Knight Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Knight Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Knight Hotel Rock Stream
Golden Knight Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Knight Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.