We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Country Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sullivan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sullivan to your Saves list
The Sullivan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   283 Rock Hill Drive, Rock Hill, NY 12775 (Formerly Lodge at Rock Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rock Hill
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at The Sullivan after a Bethel Woods concert. The Sullivan is the redone Rock Hill Lodge. It is classy, clean and very pleasant. It is right off the road at exit 109 on 17 West. About a 12 mile ride to Bethel Woods, but an easy ride. There is an indoor pool that goes up to 4'6", for kids I guess. The fitness room is large and well equipped. There is a pool table area. The room was exceptionally clean, bathroom lovely. The staff was very accommodating and professional. I recommend this hotel highly.

Next door to the hotel is the Crust Italian Eatery. Great prices for lunch, we had an absolutely delicious home made chicken pot pie and my husband had hot wings. The salad that came with the pot pie was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    18
    0
    5
See reviews for
20
42
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely passable but I would not call it a boutique. It is a remodeled motel with that is clean and has nice linens. Don't expect nice furniture and comfy robes, but it is a good option if you are going to Bethel Woods. Big warning, exiting Bethel Woods parking can be a nightmare. After James Taylor, it took us 2 hours to drive from the parking lot back to the Sullivan (no traffic it is about 15 mins away). Bethel Woods is incompetent in directing exit traffic.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohegan lake ny
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

In town for a concert. After searching area hotels nothing compares to the Sullivan. Hotel is clean, quiet and peaceful. The staff is top notch. Beds are comfortable and sleeping with cool mountain air coming through the windows was great. If staying in the area don't bother looking anywhere else.

Room Tip: The building in the rear is extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Sullivan Hotel is immaculate. All the rooms are updated. The beds are very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Satisfying breakfast and great restaurants in surrounding area. Casino a few exits away. A must to stay at in Sullivan County.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed two nights near camp and it was fine, ok, average, meh, fair, blah. Rooms were clean, they were busy at check out. Nothing specific to complain about and nothing great either. Good locale for the local camps. It was fine which I think I already said twice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our experience at the Sullivan was awful.

First, they booked a bunch of young partiers on our wing, and on a Tuesday night. They were very loud and rambunctious, even after midnight. There is a door to the outside and every time the went through it, the door slammed shut and reverberated throughout our room.

We called the front desk to complain, and they did not do anything. The loudness continued past 2:30 AM.

The walls are paper-thin. I have never, ever stayed at a hotel with walls that thin. I thought it was only on TV or in the movies. And by the way, their pillows are as hard as rocks.

At around 4:00 in the morning, the partying host couple next door started having sex. It was very loud and woke us up. For about 45 minutes, every pounding, slapping, and accompanying female moan came through our wall and kept us up.

After a long day of flying, driving, and travelling, this is not what we wanted or needed.

The free continental breakfast left a lot to be desired and the coffee is awful.

When I lodged my complaint to the front desk, I wrote it all down as requested, and the manager never called me as I was told he would.

I will never, ever stay here again and I absolutely recommend that you stay away if you want a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels and motels in the monticello, south fallsburg area and this is about the best around!
Its a value with clean rooms and a very good breakfast.
the only negative is that it does not have an outdoor pool but it does have a very nice gym.
The places is clean and like new.
Staff is polite and responsive.
You cant go wrong with this location.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sullivan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sullivan

Address: 283 Rock Hill Drive, Rock Hill, NY 12775 (Formerly Lodge at Rock Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Rock Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rock Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sullivan 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new boutique hotel on 55 wooded acres in beautiful Sullivan County, New York. Featuring 70 inviting rooms and 2 contemporary lobbies to entertain in. Meeting space for 10 - 1000 people and a Ballroom for any special event, holding up to 300 guests. Catering done on site. Complimentary continental breakfast is included each morning with a "make your own waffle" machine. 2 great places to eat lunch and dinner right next door, Bernie's Holiday Restaurant or Crust Italian Eatery. Local Attractions include Bethel Woods Center for the Arts, Monticello Motor Club, Holiday Mountain Ski & Fun Park and Monticello Raceway & Casino. The area has numerous lakes for boating and swimming, gorgeous hiking trails and quaint small towns with local shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sullivan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Rock Hill Hotel Rock Hill
Hotel Rock Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sullivan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.