We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy large room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   797 East Henrietta Road, Rochester, NY 14623   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Albany, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfy large room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My mother & I stayed here while attending the Lilac Festival. The room had everything we needed including a small fridge & microwave. There was a nice charging station with several plugs for phones etc. The breakfast was AAAA++++. Staff was friendly. Rate was a good value.
The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because when we first entered the room, it smelled of cigarette smoke grrrrrr. Also the bathroom could have been cleaner, especially the tub. It smelled like urine. The switch for the bathroom light was outside the bath door & quite inconvenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISROCHESTER, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello there. We thank you for your valuable time to write about us and share your experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you absolutely loved our breakfast and service we provide at this hotel. Our staff go a long way and appreciate your kind words about them. However I apologize on issues you had with room odor, the inconvenience of the light switch in the bathroom as well as cleanliness issues. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will make sure we do our best in rectifying these issues. Thank you so much one more time and we will make sure that for your next visit, you will be utterly surprised for the positive changes.

Pinkesh Patel, General Manager and the whole team at Country Inn & Suites Rochester, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    85
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
117
54
17
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is clean and simple and a good value for what you pay. It is also quiet, with a comfortable bed. They should pay more attention to some of the physical flaws. One example: I had trouble getting into my room even though the green light would go on after putting the card in the door. When I went to the desk to ask about this, they said that with my room and some others, you needed to lift the latch rather than pull it down, as people would usually do. They should at least mention this when you check in but, better yet, fix it. Also, the wireless is quite slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISROCHESTER, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for this review. We appreciate you kind words about our hotel and happy to know that your stay was offered at a valuable rate. However we apologize for all the concerns that you had during your stay. We will do our best in resolving those issues so that you or anyone else does not have to go through them again. Also we would like to apologize on our Internet issues and we are working one-on-one with our service provider to overcome that. Thank you again for your valuable time to write about us and your feedback will really help us in having a resolution in place. We will make sure all is take care of before we see you next time.

Pinkesh Patel, General Manager and the whole team at Country Inn & Suites Rochester, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The desk staff was very helpful when I asked questions and made sure they told me where everything in the hotel was and what services they offered. My room was clean but some of the furniture was worn a bit. At $81 a night it was a great value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISROCHESTER, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Our service goes a long way and I am thrilled to know that you liked your stay and were satisfied. I thank you for providing feedback on our furniture and I can assure you that we are working on a solution for that. I would like to apologize if it may have caused you an inconvenience. I will make sure that your future stay with us will be excellent and again I really appreciate your valuable time to write about your experience at this hotel. We strive to give you the best service possible and I am sure we will see you soon when you come back to Rochester, NY.

Pinkesh Patel, General Manager and the whole team at Country Inn & Suites Rochester, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Back again and everything was GREAT, as usual. We got into Rochester early but were able to check into our room with no difficulty. We headed out to lunch but decided to wait a little bit and go to the free dinner. Nice, Nice Nice!! Relaxed with a cocktail and then the buffet.
The staff at this hotel is always curious, friendly and that is way we keep coming back. A special "Thank You" to Gordon. You are a true professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISROCHESTER, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We truly appreciate your time to write a fabulous review about our hotel. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our dinner is worth waiting for; it is a very good amenity for our guests traveling during weekdays and serves as a great value. Again we would like to thank you so much for writing such a good review about us. I am sure we will see you soon again when you visit Rochester.

Pinkesh Patel, General Manager and the whole team at Country Inn & Suites Rochester, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon checking in, we felt very welcomed. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only problem with the room was the light switch for the bathroom was in a weird place and there was no venting in the bathroom. There was enough pillows and even extras in the closet! Small fridge, microwave, and even nicely folded towels and faceclothes! There was always hot coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lobby along with cookies and the breakfast was wonderful. There were ALOT of very loud children in the pool and hot tub when my husband and I went downstairs at night to use them--perhaps a time of "no children under 16 after 9:00" would be great. We ended up not using either the pool or the hot tub. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISROCHESTER, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Your time is very valuable and we thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are sorry about the inconvenience of the bathroom switch and ventilation in our bathroom, and I can assure you that we are working on placing an exhaust fan in the bathroom and switching the switch to the other side of the door. I am thrilled to hear about how our room were clean and that you liked all the amenities we have in rooms and in our lobby. However I apologize on noise issues and children in the pool. We would love to have you come back and experience our hotel again and we will make sure that you do not encounter anything but good things at our hotel. Thank you so much once again for writing about your experience at our hotel.

Pinkesh Patel, General Manager and the whole team at Country Inn & Suites Rochester, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was travelling solo on business and had never been to Rochester. Tisha at the front desk was friendly and helpful. I had an issue with my room and she was courteous and empathetic and speedily changed my room to my satisfaction. Although it was an older hotel it has clean rooms (recently renovated I think) and friendly staff. The other front desk person (can't remember her name) was also helpful with directions the next morning.

Room Tip: Choose room further away from elevators and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISROCHESTER, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about our hotel and very excited to know that Tisha and all of our front desk agents took care of you. Tisha is great and is very pleased to hear about this review you put in. I am sorry to hear that we had to move you to a different room due to an issue. We will make sure that this does not happen again as we will do what it takes to keep you happy and very well accommodated at our hotel. I am sure we will see you soon for a business trip to Rochester. Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate all your kind words.

Pinkesh Patel, General Manager and the whole team at Country Inn & Suites Rochester, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jervis, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel about 7x and have always been pleased with the the service, staff and great location. With a Fridays on the property it works out great to walk over for a bite to eat and a drink. Several other restaurants are within walking distance. The rooms are a great size and supper clean. Next time we hit the area we will definately stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISROCHESTER, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!! We thank you for staying with us again and again. I am glad to hear that you are pleased with all we do at this hotel. Our service goes a long way to accommodate a guest happily. With a great location with TGI Fridays and Delmonico’s Steak House right next to us is a great plus of staying here at this hotel. I am also thrilled to know that we will get to see you again when your travel brings you to Rochester. Thank you so much one more time for a fabulous review and appreciating our work at this hotel.

Pinkesh Patel, General Manager and the whole team at Country Inn & Suites Rochester, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton

Address: 797 East Henrietta Road, Rochester, NY 14623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rochester
#9 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Country Inn & Suites, Rochester Brighton, we try to make you feel right at home. From our Country decor, to our great customer service, and more! We are conveniently located across from Monroe Community College and The Sports Centre at MCC. This property has 89 Non-Smoking rooms featuring a complimentary breakfast buffet. The hotel is situated within walking distance of several popular restaurants. TGI Fridays is right in our parking lot. If your goal is relaxation, there is an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center located on the grounds. If business is your game, we offer free high speed wireless internet. Guests will find their commute to Rochester International Airport quick and easy with the free shuttle service. Club Carlson Rewards earns 20 points per dollar spent on qualifying stays. Our client are sure to rack up major points to redeem for hotel stays, airfare, car rentals, merchandise, gift cards and more. Whether you are here on business or pleasure we have a lot of amenities to suit your needs, including a hot complimentary breakfast, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness center, free wired & wireless internet, refrigerators & microwaves in all rooms, and more! We are close to a lot of Rochester's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Rochester Brighton
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Brighton Hotel Rochester
Wellesley Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.