We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average mid level hotel freebie breakfast, friendly staff, but rooms are worn, and some residual smoke smells.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   797 East Henrietta Road, Rochester, NY 14623   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average mid level hotel freebie breakfast, friendly staff, but rooms are worn, and some residual smoke smells.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I have been in town visiting a sick relative and have been hopping between hotels during my visit using Hotwire, and thi place came up. It was a reasonable value, and te decor fit the name, very country. Staff was quite friendly, the clientele all seemed to be families from smaller towns around downstate New York, not many business travelers here the day I stayed. I was struck by a cigarette smell about the lobby, it struck me more when I saw the sign that said it was a smoke free environment. It became apparent that the smell was coming off some of the guests there, who apparently chain smoked in a closet until they smelled like an ashtray. When I got to the room I was a bit disappointed, there was a musty smell there, definitely a trace cigarette odor, although given my experience in the lobby, it might have just been residuals from a past guests clothes. The sheets were quite old though, and the bedcovers a bit old and faded. The bed was a bit saggy, but not enough to complain. The bathroom door was broken and wouldn't close but the bathroom itself was nice and clean, with good hot water. The sink was placed outside the bathroom, and there was a bit of water stain on the carpet below.

Overall, probably wouldn't go back unless they updated the place a bit, especially given the base list price compared with some others around the area, but a decent hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    91
    46
    15
    7
See reviews for
126
58
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel. We stayed here Oct 6-8, 2012 on the 4th floor standard double Queen. Although there is only one elevator (very dated) we never waited long for it. The room was clean but the lobby entrance floor was sticky when we checked in (at around 3pm). This was not cleaned until the next morning. Kids loved the cookies and hot chocolate. They used to also have assorted cheese but I guess budget cuts? The breakfast was very good with lots of varieties. The lady did a great job keeping the area and tables clean.

Shower water pressure was very good but there was no ventilation in the bathroom! There was also a full size mirror (for the ladies). The temperature fan control was a bit loud so we turned it off at night.

Overall, I would stay here again if price was good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Friendly, helpful lodging. Clean rooms and good breakfast.
Very quiet and comfortable.....very low key.
Easy access to turnpike and businesses.
Short trip to airport.
Good location with many restaurants nearby.
Even gave me a free upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is clean and the rooms are great, their hot breakfast is well stacked and is a cozy place overall. Gordon, Jessica and Tiffany are always there to make things comfortable for you. We have been going there a few times now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is excellent value for money. From the fast check-in (Gordon was very friendly and helpful getting us acquainted with the property and its amenities) to the warm cookies and hot tea and coffee, to the free DVD rentals and library, to the complimentary hot breakfast (with lots of selection), this hotel was exactly what we were looking for in a home-away-from-home. While the property is "tired" looking in some areas, we weren't there to stare at the walls of our hotel room. We wanted a safe, clean, and friendly place to stay - that's what we received - all at an excellent price.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide more of a quiet atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Usually, you have to settle for 2 out of 3. Here it was great. Close to the highway and plenty of shopping. I am sure picky people could find fault with anything. but it was great. We stayed in a queen suite and the staff was so knowledgeable about the area. Free breakfast onsite and free dinner at their sister hotel about a mile away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. At check-in, we waited briefly while the person at the front desk was assisting another customer. Although the wait was very short, we received a gift bag with treats and water for our patience. The room was clean and nicely appointed. There were always free fresh cookies and coffee in the lobby. Breakfast exceeded our expectations. It was more than your typical continental breakfast of packaged danishes, cereal, and toast. The hotel was conveniently located near a few restaurants and a rite-aid. There was easy access to both I-390 and I-590. The free in-room wifi worked well. Overall, this is a reasonably priced hotel with many free amenities that add to its value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton

Address: 797 East Henrietta Road, Rochester, NY 14623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rochester
#6 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Country Inn & Suites, Rochester Brighton, we try to make you feel right at home. From our Country decor, to our great customer service, and more! We are conveniently located across from Monroe Community College and The Sports Centre at MCC. This property has 89 Non-Smoking rooms featuring a complimentary breakfast buffet. The hotel is situated within walking distance of several popular restaurants. TGI Fridays is right in our parking lot. If your goal is relaxation, there is an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center located on the grounds. If business is your game, we offer free high speed wireless internet. Guests will find their commute to Rochester International Airport quick and easy with the free shuttle service. Club Carlson Rewards earns 20 points per dollar spent on qualifying stays. Our client are sure to rack up major points to redeem for hotel stays, airfare, car rentals, merchandise, gift cards and more. Whether you are here on business or pleasure we have a lot of amenities to suit your needs, including a hot complimentary breakfast, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness center, free wired & wireless internet, refrigerators & microwaves in all rooms, and more! We are close to a lot of Rochester's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Rochester Brighton
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Brighton Hotel Rochester
Wellesley Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.