We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly very good, but one big glitch...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The East Avenue Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The East Avenue Inn & Suites to your Saves list
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   384 East Avenue, Rochester, NY 14607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Western PA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mostly very good, but one big glitch...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Was in town to see a show at the Auditorium Theater, and this was the closest place I found. The outside doesn't do much for me, but really liked the interior and the set-up of the rooms. Very well done. When I checked into the room, it was very cold (no surprise, many are like that). Turned on the heat when I left for the show. When I returned (very late) I found that the heater was not working at all, and it was freezing cold. I was also just about over a cold. I walked to the front desk and was told that there were a few rooms having issues. At around 2am there weren't a lot of options. I put MORE clothes on and went to bed. Upon checkout, I didn't know what to expect, and my cold had gotten much worse overnight. The manager apologized and made things right (and in this day and age, you never know what to expect). As a result, I would definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. We'd also like to let you know that the issue with the room heater has been resolved. Thank you for your patience.

Additionally, its also nice to hear when one of our guests attends an event at the Auditorium Theatre. The East End neighborhood is home to most of Rochester's arts and entertainment venues and we are always happy to accommodate traveler's who are in town to enjoy some of the best cultural events that Western New York has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
18
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stated at this hotel many, many of times and it has always been easy to get reservations and its always been clean since their renovations and the staff have been helpful. I would defiantly recommend it to anyone. They have done a fantastic job remodeling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. It's nice to hear that you find our reservations staff helpful. While we are a small local company, we always try to provide a level of service that exceeds that of the large franchises. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There was still a noisey in the halls and rooms late at night--but this is in the middle of the bar scene neighborhood so it is expected.
All in all great staff and location, nice room, limited continental breakfast, but handy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. It's always nice to hear from a business traveler who appreciates the added value that comes with staying in Rochester's East End. We hope to see you again next time your business brings you this way.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here overnight yesterday.

The Good: The property is being completely gut-renovated, so new everything. The colour scheme, furnishing and fixtures are modern. Loved the bathroom style - vintage floor tiles were nice. Good location with lots of free parking. Lots of bars and restaurants very close- I felt safe walking back alone at night - no safety issues at all. Nice and quiet - despite the busy-ness of the immediate area we were able to sleep soundly. Beds were very comfortable. Towels were big and fluffy (but were not dried property - they felt damp). Lobby and tv lounge area is very attractive. Staff was efficient and friendly.

The Bad: Not a lot for your money right now. The property is newly opened and construction/renovations are ongoing - gym is partially done, no breakfast room, no business centre, no bar, minimal breakfast. I know they have to get some bodies in the door and being a new hotel and an independent that is their challenge. But my almost-$150 bill for one night was too high. Presently this place is not worth any more than about $90 per night. For $20 more (plus parking), I could have stayed at the newly-renovated Hyatt, with complete and extensive amenities. I should have done that. You have to walk through a nasty old hallway that is still in its old Day's Inn 1980's decor to get to your room (however the room we were in did have a renovated hallway - it was very nice). No outside appeal, its hard to tell this is an open and functioning hotel. New signage and landscaping (a couple of urns with plants out the front, etc.) should have been a priority. The bathroom was very small - very limited counterspace and getting dried and dressed with the door closed was tight. The work area/desk is way too small to be of any use. Cleanliness of room was not the best - carpet needed a more thorough vacuuming, one towel had some sort of icky stuff on it, as did the shelving it was on.

Overall, I would stay here again but only if the rate was well below $100. Better yet, give them 6 more months or so to get things up and running properly. This has the potential to be a nice quirky-type of hotel with a lot of character.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. We'd like to let you know that over the next 6 - 12 months we will be completing some of the final elements of our renovation. This includes two brand new state-of-the-art conference spaces, an all new fitness center, and a fully re-imagined landscaping design. Additionally, an upscale restaurant is expected to be opening in building adjoining the hotel sometime in 2013.

I appreciate your comments about the hotel's rates. We do hope to price our rooms competitively with value-oriented customers in mind. With that said, however, we hope that customers will see the added value that comes with staying in the East End versus downtown Rochester. Right outside our door are numerous restaurants, theaters, and museums. At the East Avenue Inn & Suites you can enjoy the weekend without ever having to get back in your car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was not expecting much from my stay at The East Avenue Inn and Suites. The way it looked on the outside was not much of encouragement either. But as I have entered my room I have realised immediately that it was my luck to choose this place. Apparently, they have renovated parts of this hotel and the rooms look just great. Very clean, spacious, nice view from the window. Even stylish, I would say, which is strange, of course, for an accommodation of this type.

This hotel is right in the area of East Avenue, which has some great pubs around. It is within short walk to downtown Rochester. There are quite a few museums around, of which the Eastman House was my favorite.

Room Tip: Just ask for a renovated room. When I was there it was not full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. It's always nice to hear that our guests are enjoying some of Rochester's world-class museums like the George Eastman House and the Strong Museum of Play. We hope we see you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have only wonderful things to say about my four-day stay to see a nearby theater production! They've done a fabulous job with their renovations, and it totally blows away high-priced alternatives (hope their rates don't skyrocket once the word spreads!). Quite a delightful suprise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Judith, Thank you for taking the time review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and its nice to hear that you took advantage of Rochester's exciting arts and theater scene. We do not anticipate any drastic rate changes here. We try to price our rooms appropriately with value-oriented repeat customers in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Updates include a large flat screen TV, free wifi, marble bath and coffee table, comfortable beds, leather headboards and personal safes. Location was ideal for our visits to the Eastman School of Music and University of Rochester, river campus. And when my son left his shaving kit, including his retainer, in the bathroom, the manager got it from the housekeeper and mailed it back to us at no charge. Awesome service and comfortable rooms. I'd definitely stay again.

Steve - Boston

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Steve, Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. It's always nice to have guests that are visiting the Eastman School of Music stay here. We hope to see you again next time you are in Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The East Avenue Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The East Avenue Inn & Suites

Address: 384 East Avenue, Rochester, NY 14607
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The East Avenue Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Downtown Rochester's only boutique hotel, The East Avenue Inn & Suites, located in the city's most vibrant neighborhood, the East End. Under new ownership and renovated in 2013, the hotel invites travelers to enjoy a modern and artistic guest experience only minutes away from all of Rochester's best known cultural attractions. The East Avenue Inn & Suites is proud to host traveler's from all around the world in our creatively styled and comfortable Deluxe Guest Rooms and Premium Suites. Our experienced and professional staff members love to help visitors make their visit to Rochester's most famous street a comfortable and memorable one. We hope you take a minute to read what others have said about their stays with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The East Avenue Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The East Avenue Hotel Rochester
Days Inn Rochester
East Avenue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The East Avenue Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.