We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I highly recommend this hotel. It is a standout property.

The hotel itself is very clean and well-maintained, with generously sized suites. I found the staff to be attentive, personable, and helpful. And the location doesn't hurt. It is located on East Ave, near the George Eastman House, and other stately homes of his era.

Surprisingly, this hotel has an excellent bar and restaurant. We enjoyed a steakhouse-quality meal in the restaurant, which is unusual for mid-tier hotels. Char is a good restaurant that just happens to be inside a hotel. It is not a hotel restaurant.

With the bar and restaurant being popular, there is a bit of traffic in the evenings; but that helps to bring energy into the space. We stayed on one of the upper floors and were not bothered by the activity or noise.

Interestingly, my father stayed in a room along the rear of the property the same weekend and had to switch rooms because his room smelled like smoke. (He thought something was on fire at first.) The staff at the front desk was not surprised. Apparently, this is a known issue with some rooms (presumably those above the kitchen). When checking in, you may want to insist on a room that faces the front of the hotel. Or at least one that is not along the rear side.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    97
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
135
113
16
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice, clean hotel and great location within walking distance of many attractions. So why 2 out of 5? We checked out around 10AM and went about our business in the city and eventually started driving out of town. By 4PM, my wife realized she accidentally left her dress in the hotel bedroom closet and called the hotel to let them know. By 5PM we were back at the hotel to (presumably) pick up her dress, but unfortunately the dress could not be found. It wasn't a particularly expensive dress, but it was very frustrating that it was missing when the only people with access to the room during that time worked for the hotel. The manager did follow up with my wife and unfortunately didn't offer up any solution to the problem, but she did offer up that "most of the cleaning staff is African and wear traditional clothing, so they wouldn't have a use for your dress". You can't make this stuff up! It really doesn't matter to me what race, color or creed someone is, I just don't like having my property stolen and the management of this hotel should be embarrassed on a variety of levels by the way they handled the situation.

Room Tip: Lock up your valuable when you leave the room and for heaven's sake, don't forget anything w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 days ago
I was actually the manager on duty and the manager that spoke with your fiancé concerning her lost dress. The associates cleaning during your stay turned in an ipad and a camera on the same day, they are all very honest and dedicated. We all feel awful that you would call them thieves. The associates are from the country of Africa, they wear traditional garments and would not have any use or know the value of your fiancés dress. I spoke with your fiancé and told her I would keep her contact number in case it turns up anywhere in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are so pleased that we stayed at the Strathallan because we had heard so much about the service and cleanliness of the rooms. The staff went above and beyond to make sure my family enjoyed their stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is beautiful and clean. The staff is courteous and helpful. That being said, the non-stop noise from various parties in the hotel made sleep impossible. I am not one who usually complains about such things.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In a lovely residential area and convenient to the University and downtown. A very good choice and good value. The restaurant is excellent for dinner. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Staff were helpful. Digital check in worked effectively.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Strathallan has been rennovated and only the rooftop is still being worked on. The rooms are nicely proportioned. The shower and bath are modern and the bed very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is also located near many nice restaurants and museums. There is WiFi in the rooms and it is fast. A perfect stay for business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My business partner and I recently spent a week at this hotel. Our rooms were spacious and well appointed. The staff is beyond wonderful! Every morning, we were taken to "our table" and were provided with a delicious breakfast. The buffet has a myriad of options, but you can also order eggs to be cooked as desired. I ordered the best Eggs Benedict I've ever eaten. Both the hollindaise and the poached eggs were perfectly cooked.
Additionally, their on site restaurant, Char, is amazing. It's a bit pricey, but you definitely get a first class meal.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.