We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BeerFest Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canadaigua, United States
1 review
“BeerFest Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were going into Rochester for the BeerFest at the downtown market on a Friday night. We did not want to drive and the hotel was more than willing to drop us off and pick us up at the market, no extra charge. Beats a DUI any day. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We really did not want to leave the next morning due to how nice the accommodations were. There multiple restaurants within walking distance yet far enough away not to have any of the downtown traffic noise.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    93
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
125
107
15
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We just spent a weekend in Rochester visiting The Strong Museum of Play with our 5 and 9 year olds. We had a 1 bedroom suite - king size bed in its own room with a queen sized pull-out couch. Room was a good sized - bathroom was modern and large. Room also had a small bar sink, bar fridge (with freezer) and microwave - very handy for keeping snacks on hand. Staff was courteous, friendly - very helpful with local restaurant recommendations. We appreciated the complimentary valet parking - a rarity now for hotels. Also used the hotel's free shuttle - very handy for short trips where the distance was a bit too far for the kids. The fitness room was great - the pool was also fun - small but there was never any one else there - a bit cool but fine for splashing around with the kids. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed here based on the TA reviews and was not disappointed. Large spacious clean rooms. Quiet location on the edge of downtown Rochester, within walking distance of shops, museums, and restaurants.. Friendly staff, a fire with a jazz band outside on the terrace the night we stayed.
My only criticism would be that a trash truck came and emptied the dumpsters at 3:00 a.m. and was very loud for everyone staying on the backside of the building. Outside of that, we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: Get the two room suite, it is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, NC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had booked another hotel, but switched to the Strathallan due to its close proximity to the Eastman School of Music (campus visit). Minus one disappointment, there were no 2 queen suites available due to a wedding party that weekend so my son had to sleep on the sleeper sofa, this hotel was the highlight of our trip. Nicely renovated with modern appointments. The suite was beautiful and comfortable with a view of downtown in the distance. I took advantage of the online option to order items for our arrival and we enjoyed a cheese & meat platter with cold drinks in our room after our long drive to Rochester. We visited Memorial Day weekend and most of the restaurants in downtown were closed that weekend with the exception of the Irish Pubs. We ate breakfast daily at Char, the hotel's restaurant and enjoyed the menu offerings. Our favorite meal was at Napa Woodfired Pizza on South Clinton Avenue---food was delicious and there was a large outdoor patio to enjoy the summer days. I wish that there was a Strathallan hotel near me---it would be perfect for weekend getaways.

TIPS: The Eastman House is a few blocks down the street--- take the docent lead tour of George Eastman's home

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

EXCELLENT HOTEL- Spent a night in Rochester -visited zoo and strong museum with grand child and daughter. We stayed in a one bedroom suite- very BIG living area with frig microwave coffee maker and balcony-very BIG bedroom with a real king size bed and great mattress, beautiful bathroom and very very clean. My daughter slept on the pullout couch and had no problem with it. Easy to check in and out. Pool and workout room. We ordered up breakfast and it was fresh and very good. At night, we sat by the bon fire outside - just a nice extra. Complimentary valet parking and free wifi This hotel is ina residential area so very quiet but only a few mintues from downtown Rochester. We will stay here again-- loved it here!

Room Tip: stayed on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Looking for a midway stop-off for taking son to college. Located and booked for two nights, one westbound, one heading home. First night experience: Beautiful property, clearly recently done-up. Arrived as a wedding party was going full tilt. Easy to find at night with both side and front patios lit up with gas fire pits. Advice for most is to request the valet. Limited parking and car was well cared for both times. Knowing they cannot always meet this request, they did locate our two rooms close together (greatly appreciated!). The only let down for the evening was CHAR - the on-prem restaurant. Although pleasing to the eye, enough seating to manage, and an excellent staff, our taste buds are not tuned to the degree the food is all smoked. Others may well enjoy so not fair for me to criticize, only identify for future travellers. Rooms are very clean, and we rejoiced to see an actual full tile shower with glass entry door. No tubs! Slept well, checked out with no issues. On return two nights later somewhat different experience. Our second room clearly had food from CHAR earlier due to the smell on entering. And regretfully around 3am I was awoken by the local freight train rumbling through town and generously using his whistle. I cant tell if any rooms might dodge this bullet but you might want to ask about this at checkin. One very minor issue - how the heck to make the phones work. Tiny buttons - one actually turns it on. Overall, the facility and staff are top shelf. It is easy to get to, and to return to the highway. I would highly recommend it for small or large parties. Clean, comfortable and well located.

Room Tip: Consider asking for rooms on side opposite of rail lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan for both of your stops and for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to exceed our guests' expectations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Staff, service, and amenities were great. Definitely delivered beyond high expectations. Was there for a wedding and the hotel made the entire experience enjoyable and memorable from check-in, to events, to dining, to check-out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear you had an excellent time with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.