We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have been staying at Doubletree hotels lately and most have been sub par. This hotel was definitely not in that category. This is one of the nicest Doubletrees I have stayed in, ever ! From the front desk staff to the restaurant staff, everyone was so friendly. The rooms were elegantly decorated and spotless. The only suggestion I have is I wish they would place newspapers on the table outside the elevators on each floor so you don't have to walk all the way downstairs to get one in the morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel and my next trip to Rochester I plan to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and your feedback. We are a LightStay property, and in an effort to save the environment we no longer deliver newspapers to every guest room, but rather keep them in the lobby. If you let us however, the next time you visit, we will be more than happy to have one brought to your room every morning. We look forward to seeing you again on you next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    83
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
111
94
14
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Room we had booked was unavailable upon arrival. Moved to two different rooms and had to transport our own luggage up and down to the different rooms. Manager at from desk was extremely rude and not helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
After finding out about your unfortunate check in we talked at length. Your friends and you have decided to try us again which we very much appreciate. We look forward to your return so that we can have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

In town for a concert and the stay here made the event even better a great, great hotel experience! Great room, wonderful food, helpful staff could not have been better! The place is beautiful since the renovation. And seems as popular as ever.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are so pleased to hear you had a great night with us and enjoyed a concert in town as well. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I was forced into a business trip so I just Knew things would all go wrong, but little to my surprise everything was great with Double Tree from start (arrival at airport) to finish. Loved It the rooms felt like home I was so comfortable and the restaurant was great, there was a fireplace in the lobby area and it gave the atmosphere a home like feeling, I will come back again and I have bragged about the stay to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write such a kind review. Being called "home away from home" is about the nicest compliment we can get, and we appreciate it immensely. We look forward to seeing you again on you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

What a nice hotel and nice staff! Everyone was first class, in their treatment of the customers. The sweet ride cookie van gave us a ride to an event, and then picked us up. They just could not have been more accommodating. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The location is great. I will definitely go back to the Strathallan.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite with 2 balconies, due to Hilton status. Huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are so please to hear you found everyone to be first class; we are incredibly proud of our amazing staff! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My first experience at this property can be summarized in two words: First Class. Terrific restaurant, great floor plan, clean rooms, exception bathroom. Has a strong European look and feel to the place. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are thrilled to hear your first experience with us was such a great one and we look forward to seeing you again on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel seemed newly renovated and the room was exceptionally clean and well-appointed, and was large. The gym looked clean and nice too. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant menu was a bit pretentious but the food quality was quite high. Perfect for a business stay in Rochester.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate all our guests, especially our business travelers and are so pleased to hear of your positive experiences with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.