We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recreational travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“recreational travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

this was an excellent hotel experience. everything was completed with efficiency and consideration for guest comfort. the location of the hotel made it easy to access a variety of activities within the rochester area and the complimentary valet parking was a delight when we are so accustomed to paying for parking in cities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are so pleased to hear you had and excellent experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    97
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
135
113
16
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

centrally located - yet no too central, the Strathallan is an excellent base for the business traveler. The rooms are large and comfortable, with decent working space and a very good bed. You can easily have a 3-4 person seat down in the ante room if you want the privacy, or commandeer the business center or the conference room on the 2nd floor for a more organized affair.
The staff is very friendly and professional, the hotel restaurant is above expectations, though with little variation in the menu over the week.
Over all, a very comfortable stay. The only warning is - beware of the room heaters, they switch from petulant silence to constant heating above 69 and can dehydrate you overnight. Best bet is to set the one in the ante room to above 70 and shut off the bedroom one before you go to bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Outstanding property, great staff. The food/bar service was above the typical DoubleTree. The room was very useful especially for a family of four. The fitness center was nice except tha the A/V service was not working. We would schedule a return visit as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thanks for spending your Thanksgiving with us at The Strathallan. and for taking the time to write a review. We think you should visit again soon too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just came back from a 2 night stay at the Strahallan with my wife and 5 yo. Staff were helpful and courteous. Rooms were clean, roomy with an OK layout. Only hiccup was that the gave me wrong room key/directions/location when I checked in (but I did request a quiet room and they changed my original location, I'm sure). This hotel was more than I expected for a Doubletree chain. The location was especially great. Quiet street but close to all the amenities including Strong Museum of Play and the Science Centre. Free parking and valet was great. We enjoyed the pool and the workout room which were more than adequate. We ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast which the service was excellent on Thanksgiving Holiday where everything else was closed. Room Service was quick and one of the best sirloin burgers I've ever had! We enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying at the Starthallan again upon a return to Rochester.

Room Tip: Most of the hotel appeared to be recently renovated. Upper floors away from street level were quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Strathallan and for taking the time to write such a kind review. Our hotel has so many wonderful features and we are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy them and our uniquely wonderful neighborhood with your family. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Room was great, staff was great, food was great, safety.... not so much. I was very discouraged to see that the doors to the room need to be physically shoved to close fully. When I was walking down the hall to my room on the 8th floor, about half the doors were cracked open, and I'm assuming that wasn't intentional.. Other than that, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving with us. We are please to hear you enjoyed your holiday and your time at The Strathallan.. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This old hotel appears to have been recently remodeled, and they did a great job with it. It is very attractive inside, nice rooms, and a high service level. Located in the old "mansion row" on East Avenue, in a very beautiful, comfortable old neighborhood, just a mile or so outside of downtown Rochester.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are happy you enjoyed our recently renovated property. We are fortunate to be located in such a beautiful neighborhood and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel. The lobby and restaurant were beautiful. It was extremely clean. The room was very modern and clean and the bed was comfortable. I was disappointed in a few things, though. The design of the shower made it unable to turn on the shower to adjust the temperature without getting wet and water spraying outside the shower door onto the floor. No make-up mirror, and the wide bathroom counter made it impossible to get close to the mirror to apply make-up. Also, the sliding glass door had a 1/2 inch gap to the outside when closed, so there was a cold draft coming into the room right next to the bed. And the heating system fan was noisy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate feedback from our guests and are already in the process of installing make-up mirrors in our rooms. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.