We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad pick up from airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orange Park, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad pick up from airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had scheduled months in advance for myself to be pick up from the airport of the evening of my arrival and when I arrived they were know were in site. I called the hotel and they side yes that they had me on the books to be picked up but they had forgot about me (My flight was actually early on my arrival). When I asked if they could please turn around to come and get me they said that they could not do that, that I would need to call a taxi. I am a young female and the last thing I wanted to do was take a creepy taxi cab to the hotel in a city that I had never been at before. So as you can imagine I was very up set:(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visitng Rochester. We pride ourselves in exceeding guest's expectations and appreciate your feedback. We log every airport pick up and know how important this is to our guests, your feedback will help us to improve our roll in your comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    97
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
135
113
16
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is well-run, and well located. Its near several museums in a beautiful, quiet, residential area of Rochester. There are also lots of restaurants near-by, in the Village Gate area and along Park Ave. The staff was very helpful and attentive. And the pool was lovely, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovid, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Traveled to Rochester for a weekend getaway with our 23mth old twin boys. Room was set up with two VERY clean cribs. It was a very efficient check in. We got a suite. it was convenient having a kitchen with the boys. Great room. Although the boys were horrible on their first trip. Only thing I would say is since there was a kitchen there should have been like paper towels at least!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visisting Rochester, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff lived up to all expectations of a great hotel experience. My wife and I were extremely pleased with the room, the restaurant was amazing. The room was very clean. The staff went above and beyond to make you feel special. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are very proud of our excellent staff and appreciate when they are recognized for their outstanding efforts. We look forward to seeing you on your new visit to Rochester and The Strathallan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you are looking for one of the best hotels and suite, go to the Strathallan in Rochester. We had a fabulous 2 night stay in a corner suite. The suite was superb, clean, nicely air conditioned, sitting area with TV and bedroom with TV, a kitchenette, beautiful bathroom with a separate shower stall as well as a tub. Our suite had a balcony off the bedroom as well as off the living/sitting room. Their restaurant and breakfast food was the best. Nice bar in the lobby, a beautiful fire pit that was lit in their gardens at night, etc. The staff was great and we truly felt welcome. We walked to the Science Museum which was very nice. We also ate nearby at the Gate House which was wonderful too. We definitely will be heading back there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at The Strathallan and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

OK hotel in suburbs but close to town, spoiled by officious female parking attendant. Decent, and clean, rooms, way better than the downtown hotels close to the convention center, but a drive to downtown. Walk to Park Avenue restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan, while visiting Rochester. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations so we can continue to work on our guest services. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was the first time my wife and I visited Rochester, a wonderful little city full of character. We stayed for three nights at the Strathallan, not to be confused with the other Doubletree in the east end, which is surrounded by commercial, mall retail and abuts the main highway.

Location, location, location for the Strathallan. That, and a fairly upscale ambience. It's basically in a fully residential area with churches across the street and the Eastman House and the science museum within a five minute walk. Downtown (not much there) is an ambitious half-hour walk, as are the lovely river area and recommended Museum of Play.

We love cemeteries and Rochester has a great one with Mount Hope -- the first municipal cemetery in the U.S. You may be struck, as we were, with the modesty of Susan B. Anthony's grave site but it is perhaps fitting, considering her deep social conscience. Some of the other more elaborate graves are marked with plinths, mausoleums and eerily awesome statuary.

For eating, you must go to Dinosaur BBQ and the trip out to Pitfield Farms Dairy for humongous ice cream cones and other confectionary and baked goods, including apple pie.

In all, Rochester is a great experience -- a charming, friendly, clean place with plenty to do, including indoors, should it rain.

Room Tip: Judging by our room, they are probably all good. Ours overlooked an Art Deco apartment block and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. We couldn't agree more the we are in a wonderful location. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the Rochester area. We hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.