We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best doubletree I've ever been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton to your Saves list
Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best doubletree I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Who would have thought that a doubletree hotel would be so luxurious? What a great surprise. Large room. 2 queen beds in a separate room seating room with convertible sofa. 2 flat screen tv's. Great shower. Breakfast buffet with made to order eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, cereal. Yummy! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    97
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
135
113
16
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A business seminar brought me to Rochester and the Strathallan was less than a mile away. The remodel is very nice. I received an upgrade to a suite and was very happy. The suite was roomy and very clean.
The staff at the Strathallan were very friendly and professional. The bell staff were especially helpful and cheerful.
The hotel restaurant, Char, has great food and a super bar. However, it is expensive for the business traveler who has to justify his food expenses. Also, the restaurant did not seem super kid friendly.
On the whole, I would absolutely stay here again for business travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're glad your had an enjoyable stay in Rochester and at The Strathallan. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

WOW is the best word to describe this hotel, in all aspects this place is a winner. Great restaurant, friendly employees and super clean accommodations . Area surrounding the hotel is great with plenty of places to walk to for food ,drinks and entertainment . Best hotel in Rochester, New York!

Room Tip: Our room had a great area with refrigerator and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your great feedback. We are all very proud of our hotel and staff and hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I both ended up having MLK weekend off and decided instead of traveling anywhere we would stay at the new Strathallan and walk around the Park Ave area! What a beautiful hotel! Our suite was a huge corner suite with beautiful views of the Church across the street. In fact I sent a picture to my daughter and she thought we had gone off to Paris! The service was perfect , the room immaculate and comfortable. We invited friends to meet us up in the room for drinks and then went to dinner on Park Ave. I wish we had stayed with our original reservation at CHAR - it was a busy place! The only problem we had was a car alarm that continually went off all night long into the morning. Made for a restless nights sleep. I would come back again. Thoroughly enjoyed it! Good Job!

Room Tip: splurge for a suite - next time we will ask for the 9th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your weekend off. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope you can visit again and dine at Char soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Strathallan for two nights on a business trip. The property seems to have been recently updated because all of the decor and furnishings were very modern and nice. I was upgraded to a corner suite that was like a mini-apartment! Very nice and spacious. Breakfast in the restaurant was sufficient, though I got there around 9AM and many of the items were almost gone and hadn't been refilled - probably due to lack of customers. The food was tasty, though, and there were several options to choose from. Our server was outstanding in the restaurant. The bed was quite comfortable and the suite I was in had two balconies. There is a really nice outdoor patio with a fire pit and bar in the restaurant area that also looked very nice. My only complaint would be the front desk staff weren't all quite as attentive and friendly as I would expect at a Hilton property. However, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We pride ourselves on our guest services in all departments. Thank you so much for you feedback so we can continue to strive to meet our guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It's cold in Rochester in the winter, but the warmth of our welcome at the beautifully redesigned Strathallan made us glow. We liked everything -- our well-appointed suite, the glorious bed, the dining room -- but most of all we liked the open, friendly, chatty, delightful, eager-to-accommodate staff. Everybody -- the doorman, the front desk crew, the dining room people, the maids, the maintenance guy, the shuttle driver -- literally everyone treated us as though we were personal friends, not just paying guests. I've never had a hotel experience to rival it. The Strathallan's location is also ideal. It's in a neighborhood of big old homes, well-preserved relics of a time gone by, and a block from the Memorial Art Gallery, virtually on the campus of the University of Rochester. We are Hilton Honors members of course and we have reasons to be forever grateful to the Doubletree people (beyond the warm chocolate chip cookies!) and all that helped put us in a positive mood to begin with, but whatever our expectations might have been, they topped them. We will ALWAYS stay at the Strathallan when we go back to Rochester.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We agree that while Rochester can be pretty cold in the winter the Strathallan is a warm and welcoming place. Our staff is the best and we are thrilled you had a great time here. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The renovation is terrific and the room we stayed in, a very spacious suite, was superb. Also, we were very pleased with the friendly and helpful staff. They even have free valet parking! Yes, there's the warm cookie when you arrive, but it has nuts in it so not my favorite. The coffee we ordered every morning from room service was strong and delicious. Loved the comfortable king bed and extremely comfy bedding and soft pillows. Would be thrilled if other hotels were more like the Strathallan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayrettberg, General Manager at Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We so appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave., Rochester, NY 14607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.