We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Jefferson Road, Rochester, NY 14623   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unclean.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011 via mobile

At first I was very impressed with this hotel as it offered delicious food, helpful staff, and clean public areas. But when we went to check in (at 8pm) one of our rooms wasn't clean yet. I know it can be slow but with an average checkout time of no later than noon there is NO reason why the cleaning staff should still be out in full force at 10pm. On top of that the job cleaning can be described as less than poor. There was at least three different people's hair in my bed and all over my pillows. There were numerous smears of dirt on the sheets. There was an immeasurable amount of loose dirt in the towels and every bit of bedding and towels were stained. The TV remote was sticky, though they offered to provide a new one. The toilet seat was still covered in an unknown liquid. The worst part was the sheer amount of air freshener that was used in the room, it made me dizzy just to enter. The air conditioner is controlled by the worlds worst control pan featuring a completely inaccurate desired temperature setting, a 100% useless "heal/cool" switch, and an "auto/on" switch. Yes, no off or fan speed or anything. I have stayed in at least 4 hotels with this exact model of heating/cooling unit and every other hotel has a control panel on the unit to set basically any setting desired that comes with the unit from the factory. Instead of allowing this amount of contol what these designers decided to do was put a (very dirty) piece of metal on it and wire it to the useless control panel and leave the fan at full blast, which sounds like you are flying in a plane with no windows. Also the tv remote has to be pointed at a VERY specific spot on the tv for it to work and there is no instruction to do this in the room. When asking the staff they readily admit to a great deal of their guests complaining but have yet to even put up "point remote here" signs. Also in my room the tv stand/dresser was falling apart and had screws dangerously poking out. I was visiting RIT and this was the recommended hotel but do yourself a favor take the extra five minute drive or taxi ride and stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
I am very sorry you experienced problems during your stay. Please contact me directly about your stay, I would like to talk with you. 585-475-1910 ex 136
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    72
    65
    45
    19
See reviews for
106
24
27
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Got a room at the Radisson through one of the well-known "name your own price" websites. It was a good room and, at the price I got, a great deal. I wouldn't pay full retail for it for future travel, though. Yes, it's clean, the staff helpful, and nice amenities such as an indoor pool and in room fridge and microwave. However, I would expect at least a clean room and helpful staff from any priced hotel. For the nonbusiness traveller, I just don't see the justification for the prices. The rooms and amenities aren't worth $100 more than a clean budget hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far away from elevator traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

It's back to the 1970s at this property, in both staff and decor. Dated and worn decor dominates throughout. Housekeeping is the slowest I've seen in awhile, and noisy to top it off. The friendly atmosphere is nice but a little too laid-back: a request to have the room made up (at 2 p.m.) was greeted with a yawn, and required a second request. The double bed (not queen) was really small, and very uncomfortable due to the ridiculous "sleep number" mattress that was uncomfortable at any setting. There's a nice pool and a decent exercise room, but the "business centre" is very small for a hotel this size. There's nothing else near the Rochester Institute of Technology that I could see, so you may have no choice. If you're stuck, ask if they have rooms with normal, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of of doing our updates and will have additional updates done in a few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I was a bit concerned about this hotel because the reviews have been very mixed. My experience is that this hotel was just fine. The front desk was efficient and friendly. The hallways are a bit dated looking and worn, but the rooms were comfortable and contented the expected amenities. The restaurant, which I used for breakfast ,was fairly priced and very prompt service. The gym and pool which I didn't use looked pretty decent. Plenty of parking and the area surrounding the hotel seems safe. While the hotel gives the appearance of being in the middle of no where there are many restaurant choices within a short driving distance. The hotel is right next door to RIT and a short 10 minute drive to the University of Rochester. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again on my next trip to Rochester.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We checked in around 9:30pm after a long day of travel. We would have checked out except for the late hour. The room was dirty. The matress was old. The bed linens were old, and torn. The hotel bar was going strong past midnight.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
I am sorry you experienced problems with your room. We have purchased a large amount of linen in the past few months and have done some additional updates as well. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I booked the room through a different website and had problems due to the big snow storm in Atlanta. Stacy at the Radisson was so nice and changed the reservation. The hotel shuttle picked me up at the airport. It was too cold (-4) to walk over to the mall the second night, so Cali, another employee, graciously gave me a ride in the shuttle. The staff has gone over and beyond the call of duty.

I will be coming back to Rochester and I will definitely stay at the Radisson.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments. I will be sure to share them with my team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We were given a room next to the housekeeping room on the first floor. Not sure why - I made that reservation 2 months in advance. Sure enough, each morning at 6:30, laughing, metal clanging, social chit-chat and that lasted all day long. I complained at the front desk, to which they replied - ''Well, I'm sure the noise didn't start that early." ? Whatever. I need to stay there due to my child going to RIT, but if I had another choice as close and convenient, I'd do it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlmgr175, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
I am sorry you experienced noise during your stay and received a room by the elevator. On future stays please feel free to request another room if the one you receive is not to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport

Address: 175 Jefferson Road, Rochester, NY 14623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Radisson
Radisson Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Rochester Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.