We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utilitarian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rochester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Rochester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2835 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Spring Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Utilitarian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here to participate in a family party in Brighton, and it was fine. The front desk staff were very helpful, and the hotel is smack in the middle of great shopping, including Wegman's, which is a must for getting in-room munchies. A complaint (at the risk of giving TMI), is that my daughter had a surprise need for feminine products, and they didn't have for purchase (let along as a complimentary "something I forgot"). But the place was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Cynthia K,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. I am glad that our location worked well for your party in Brighton. I hope next time you come to our area you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank You,
Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
21
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The staff make this hotel a great place to stay. Their warm welcome is greatly appreciated after a long travel. Heather is very personable and attentive as are other staff as well. The breakfast is set up well and clean and fresh. The fitness room is a nice addition. The nearby restaurants make the environment easy to meet your needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
annetteh828,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your experience with us. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that Heather was helpful for you. I will be sure to give Heather recognition for her great effort. I hope next time you are in Rochester you will stay with us again.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

After some Thanksgiving drama with a sibling that over-imbibed, I found myself & my son without a place to stay. I came rolling in after midnight and handed over my card without even asking how much it was going to set me back. Fortunately, the room was relatively clean. The toilet did look like it had been wiped down with dirty water, but the seat looked okay. The shower was more of a mist, and the breakfast didn't really taste like real food. Was it worth the $129 + tax I spent? No. But it was quiet and the beds were freshly made, and it was a roof over our heads when we needed it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Onsafari c,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your recent stay. I am glad that we were able to get you into a room so that you would have some place to go. I hope you visit us again when you are in town with family.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was not what I expected. The hotel comprises of 2 buildings (one next to a fast food type restaurant). Although the bed was decent, the rest of the room was a bit gross. The carpet was all patched up and the bathroom was outdated. We stayed there a total of two nights. On the first day we noticed that our shower didn't work. We notified the hotel at 6 am the next morning. It was not fixed until 2 pm that day (even though we had asked for a new room). When the service man repaired the shower a horrible smell penetrated the room. I can only imagine what was uncovered. The morning we left, we noticed the biggest, grossest silverfish bug on the wall. ...Nasty...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
travelgal22102,

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was not up to standards. I will definitely investigate the conditions you described and see that they are corrected or improved. We are in the process of getting carpets replaced and working on doing some renovations throughout the building to give a fresh look. I know that there is never an excuse for providing a guest such as you with anything less than the perfect experience. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations on this visit to our hotel.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Have stayed here 4 times and each time seems a little worse. The rooms are getting a little more worn, the breakfast seems a little skimpier, and this last stay the Priority Club "amenity" was a bottle of water from Costco and a 50-cent package of crackers. I know lodging is a tough business and the economy is bad (perennially in rawchacha), but still, people are staying here from out of town- Can you treat them like guests?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
dlafky,

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was not up to standards. I will definitely investigate the conditions you described and see that they are corrected or improved. I know that there is never an excuse for providing a guest such as you with anything less than the perfect experience. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations on this visit to our hotel.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Andrews West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were awaken at 12:30 PM when the client above us arrived and paced the floor.The floor joists were creaking at every one of his step. At 6:00 AM upon his awakening he was again pacing the floor and woke us up again. We complained at the front desk and they said that they were aware of the problem and on our next stay The walls and floors are not sound proof. I do not recommend this hotel in Rochester. I complained to the head office and they assure me that my complain will be transmitted to the manager responsible.
Charles

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Charles V,

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was not up to standards. We are analyzing the floor noise situation and working on a solution so that this is corrected permanently. I know that there is never an excuse for providing a guest such as yourself with anything less than the perfect experience. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations on this visit to our hotel.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NYS
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights in a suite here while attending a wedding and were very pleased. We were in Building 2 which does not have an elevator but we were on the first floor so that was not a problem. This building is only a few feet away from the main building where a full breakfast is served every day.
Our suite had a full kitchen area with a coffee maker, decent-sized mini-fridge and a microwave. The rooms were large and clean. Although this hotel is located near the expressway, we couldn't hear any traffic noise at night. Large flat screen televisions were in the living room and bedroom. The mattresses were not bad, but seemed a little too hard to me. Less than a mile away there is a large mall, and there are several restaurant choices close by. Check in and check out were easy. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Building 2 has no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
sgcurise,

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found the accommodations to your liking and needs. I hope on your next trip to the area you choose to stay with us again.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rochester

Address: 2835 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Rochester is conveniently located near major Interstates 590, 490 & 390 and the NYS Thruway I-90. We are just a short drive from the Greater Rochester Intl Airport as well as Nazareth, St. John Fisher, Rochester Institute of Technology, University of Rochester, and other universities in Rochester, NY. Our Complimentary hotel amenities include our Express Start Hot Breakfast each morning where you can relax and read the free weekday newspaper while enjoying our featured famous Cinnamon Buns and Pancake Machine, 24-hour Business Center, free fiber optic high-speed wired & wirelessInternet access, 32 inch LCD TV's with HD Programming, and Fitness Center. Here we go beyond to offer a level of service and comfort that is sure to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rochester Hotel Rochester
Holiday Inn Rochester
Rochester Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.