We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Rochester to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Rochester
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 East Main Street, Rochester, NY 14604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Rochester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I was amazed by the fact that every staff member was attentive and friendly. I never had to ask for help, it was offered. Most all of the staff looked you in the and greeted you. I credit the management because, everyone had a good attitude. Lobby needs updated. Rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of the Hyatt Regency Rochester.

We appreciate all the wonderful comments you have about our staff. We have an excellent team who are dedicated to providing our guests with the most genuine and authentic hospitality possible.

We hope we get the chance to see you again at the Hyatt Regency Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    146
    90
    25
    24
See reviews for
119
77
16
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The catering manager Chet and the entire staff did an absolutely amazing job with our wedding weekend!! I had been working with Chet for over a year planning my wedding and he was an absolute pleasure to work with!! My new husband and I cannot stop talking about how smoothly and beautifully everything went!! Family and friends stayed at the Hyatt the entire weekend and we received so much feedback that the staff and hotel was excellent! From the bartenders, to the front desk attendants, to the banquet and catering staff, to the housekeeping - they all did an absolutely amazing job and there is nothing that we would have changed about the entire weekend!! The presidential suite was amazing! What an emotional weekend! Everything was amazing and the staff was awesome!!!!! If you are looking for a great wedding venue in Rochester, NY we would highly highly recommend the Hyatt Regency Rochester hands down!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the five star review of our downtown Rochester property, the Hyatt Regency Rochester.

We were so lucky to get to share such a special day with you and your new husband. Congratulations again. We are happy that we were able to make this such a memorable experience for you. I will be sure to pass along the wonderful words to all of the staff.

We hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for all the wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Too many convention type people taking over the hotel, hogging lifts. Not a place for an individual tourist. Staff seem overly concerned with convention customers to the detriment of tourists.

Locality is very close to some suspicious and seedy places and lots of panhandlers. Street fighting outside, witnessed twice in one week!

A room for two should surely have necessities for two! - that is two shampoos, two conditioners etc. and an even number of coffee sachets.

Shampoo was never replaced unless it was thrown in the trash, and then only by one more!

Not an unpleasant stay but needs a little refinement in housekeeping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review.

I would love to get more feedback from you about your experience. Your feedback helps us grow as a hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly at nicole.morales@hyatt.com so that we can discuss your stay even further.

Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel was comfortable and it was a very good location. There were a number of things that were positive - great airport pickup service and extra assistance in the business center when I needed to print hundreds of sheets out at the last minute. Beds were comfortable. Lighting in the rooms was good Staff was generally friendly and helpful.

There were little to no benefits for being Platinum here - no lounge access and no offer of breakfast or other amenities. One night there was a ridiculous line for the elevators where I waited 10 minutes just to get back to my room. They did appear to have someone working the one out of service elevator but clearly their lift capacity is marginal when there's a larger number of people coming in. The escalator was also not operating that evening.

All in all, not a bad place, but with a few rough edges that could be improved.

Green Features: Did not notice any visible signs of "green". No recycling bin in the room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Your feeback is very important to us.

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We want all of our guests to have the best experience possible while staying with us.

We hope that you will return to the Hyatt Regency Rochester again soon. Please let me know the next time you are in town. I would love to welcome you back and show you an even better experience then before.

Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We hold our largest Association event at the Hyatt each year, and it never disappoints. The staff there go above and beyond to meet our needs -- from food, to last minute requests, to working within our budge. Flexibility is the cornerstone of great customer service -- and the Hyatt has that! The staff -- from waiters to bartenders -- even remembers us by name each year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the five star review you wrote. We greatly appreciate it!

It is always a pleasure to host your event each year and we are happy that you feel it is always such a success. We strive to make sure that every event we host is something special and that we make genuine connections with our guests. We look forward to next years event and seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great hiring and great employee engagement. You can tell the team here really loves their work and cares about their customers experience. From check-in onward there was not 1 person that did not go out of their way. As an example, Erin her manager Laurie in the restaurant went out of her way to get a special order for us. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for the five star review of the Hyatt Regency Rochester.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and had great interactions with our staff. Our team members are all dedicated to providing our guests with the best service possible and genuinely care about each and every person who stays with us. It is great to hear that it shows through our service.

We hope you get another chance to stay with us and if you do we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a great hotel to stay in. We were here for a convention this last weekend and spent 3 nights here. Despite having a large number of people here, the staff worked wonders to take care of each persons needs. The rooms were clean and well kept. The bedding was wonderful. The neighborhood is unfortunately pretty run down around the hotel...it looks like it, along with the rest of the city, used to be a pretty nice place...but over time it is pretty run down. It is not bad enough that it made us afraid to walk around a little, but there were a pretty fair share of homeless, or drunks that were begging for money or making cat calls to my wife and daughter. All of that ends when you turn into the hotel, they do a very nice job about taking care of the property.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1007 and 1008...they are adjoining and make for a nice large area for a family. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
I am so happy to hear about the great stay you had. Thank you so much for your five star review. We want to provide each of our guests with genuine hospitality and a relaxing room for them to stay in. We are glad you enjoyed your accomodations and we look forward to your next visit back at the Hyatt Regency Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Rochester

Address: 125 East Main Street, Rochester, NY 14604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rochester
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#12 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations are complete! Discover the perfect blend of location, style and pampering amenities at our newly renovated downtown Rochester hotel. Whether you’re in town for business or leisure, you’ll find Hyatt Regency Rochester is always the ideal choice. Attached to the convention center by a convenient sky bridge, our urban contemporary Rochester New York hotel offers over 21,000 square feet of newly renovated function space with a connection to an additional 100,000 square feet. Take advantage of our central setting to visit the many corporations located nearby or plan a relaxing weekend of touring wineries and attending the theater. Situated just minutes from the airport, our welcoming Hyatt Regency offers stylish guestrooms with thoughtfully selected amenities, superior services and an uncompromising dedication to customer satisfaction. Whether you’re planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion or a romantic getaway, Hyatt Regency Rochester is the premier accommodation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.