We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Rochester to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Rochester
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 East Main Street, Rochester, NY 14604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tully, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel was fine. Bell staff assisted with carting boxes to the attached convention center.
Suggested places to eat and walked with you in the direction you needed to go.
Room was large and you could even open the window for fresh air!

Room Tip: Higher floors have city or river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you thought our staff was great. We appreciate the loyalty to our company and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    155
    94
    30
    26
See reviews for
125
80
18
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Haledon, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The staff in Rochester was awesome to say the least.I had to make an early departure for family reasons and they could not have been more accomodating. Jayme & Renee were what hospitality should be all about.Will be staying there again when Rochester calls :) Roger Lane --Shoretel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor for our Downtown Rochester property. We appreciate the comments about our staff. Rene and Jayme are great assets to our company and we are glad you were able to enjoy your time. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I travel extensively for business and spend just over 100 nights a year in hotels. All those rooms are pretty similar so for me, it's the little things that make a stay memorable. On this particular trip, I had already been traveling for four days and was very ill upon arriving in Rochester. My most urgent need was to get comfortably situated. I had been unable to eat for the 2 previous days so I reviewed the room service menu to see if there was anything I could eat. I was looking for soup/dry toast etc. so was not surprised to see nothing on the menu. I went down to the restaurant and was met by a gentleman (RG I believe) whom I asked if it was possible to get some simple broth and dry toast. He was fantastic, immediately surmised that I was under the weather, and suggested I go back to my room and they'd bring it up for me. A short time later he arrived personally, told me the soup and toast was "on him" and wished me a speedy recovery. The meal was exactly what I needed and fortunately, I awoke the next day feeling much better. I later discovered the gentleman was the hotel GM. . Excellent hospitality and empathy. He's a terrific leader and is setting a great example for his staff. There's nothing worse than not feeling your best, except being away from home when it occurs. I'll stay here again when back in Rochester.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the comments left for our Downtown Rochester property. We are glad that you were provided such excellent customer service from our very own GM. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room is a good size with cable tv and coffee for the morning. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed it. They were able to accommodate my dietary restrictions as well (gluten and dairy free). We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. The staff really appreciates your feedback and I have sent this to our Chef so he is aware of how his team made a difference during your visit. We look forward to your next trip to Downtown Rochester so we can serve you again. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just spent 2 nights this week for a business trip. The front desk is staffed with professionals anxious to provide assistance but sometimes fell short of the mark. The hotel room was just as requested with two queen beds not near the elevator or vending machines. The bathroom was adequate with excellent water pressure and HOT water. The front desk answered all my questions and provided me with the FEDEX boxes and sent my documents by facsimile. I called the hotel when I arrived at the airport and 20 minutes later the hotel mini-van came for me. I ate all my meals in the hotel restaurant Scene on Main. The menu was simple and the dishes well prepared as well as artistic. Buffet breakfast bla-bla-bla... you know. However the plates were ice cold so the eggs and etc .. soon were cold as well. The morning wait service does really very little but pour you some coffee and juice and bring the check within 5 minutes of sitting at the table and then they disappear. The waitress did not bring any creamer or sugar until I requested it; and never returned to inquire if I wanted anything else... I also booked a meeting/conference room for the two days to use and there wasn't any trash can or coat rack. I mentioned this to the front desk and on day 2 the situation remained the same. Perhaps I am a little particular but why not. We were all wearing winter top coats and suit jackets. A coat rack would have been appreciated since I did request the same. No trash can for the empty water bottles and gum wrappers or crumpled notes, etc... No one cleaned up the room until the next morning at 8:30 am or so when I came down to place my luggage and briefcase in it.

Room Tip: state what you want because you are the guest. don't be bashful. if the heat or A/C does not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate the thorough review of our hotel. I apologize for the concerns in our restaurant and in your guestroom. It disappoints me that we were very close to a 5 star review from you but missed some service related items. I hope you will come back and see us again as I know we can do better for you. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great location room was excellent was expecting to pay a lot more between the room, drinks, and bar but very very reasonable. Room service food was exceptional and wasn't getting gouged. Staff was excellent when I inquired about things to do in the area will def stay here again when in town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are really happy you enjoed our Downtown location and our room service. I have let our Chef know so he can share your comments with his team. We hope you come back and see us again soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for our annual NYS School Nutrition Association and had a wonderful time! I cannot say enough about the staff. They were always there to say "hello" or" do you need anything"' I think they were stationed at every corner! My room was clean and neat and the meals that were provided were far from "hotel" food! Everything was delicious! It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor of our Downtown Rochester location. We are excited to hear all the great comments about the staff being great and great customer service. It is with pride that we respond to this review. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Rochester

Address: 125 East Main Street, Rochester, NY 14604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rochester
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
#11 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect blend of location, style and pampering amenities at our newly renovated downtown Rochester hotel. Whether you're in town for business or leisure, you'll find Hyatt Regency Rochester is always the ideal choice. Attached to the convention center by a convenient sky bridge, our urban contemporary Rochester New York hotel offers over 21,000 square feet of newly renovated function space with a connection to an additional 100,000 square feet. Take advantage of our central setting to visit the many corporations located nearby or plan a relaxing weekend of touring wineries and attending the theater. Situated just minutes from the airport, our welcoming Hyatt Regency offers stylish guestrooms with thoughtfully selected amenities, superior services and an uncompromising dedication to customer satisfaction. Whether you're planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion or a romantic getaway, Hyatt Regency Rochester is the premier accommodation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.