We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Rochester to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Rochester
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 East Main Street, Rochester, NY 14604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business trip and found it very comfortable, clean, and pleasant. My room faced the river and the bridge which was a wonderful view. The room had everything one needs and the front desk staff was outstanding. I also liked that the shuttle to/from the airport was free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are certainly glad you enjoyed your visit and I will ensure our front desk staff sees the great comments you left. We hope you travels bring you back to Rochester and the Hyatt soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    155
    94
    30
    26
See reviews for
125
80
18
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skaneateles, NY
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were looking for a downtown hotel within walking distance of the Rochester Jazz Fest. The price was excellent for a week-end night which included wifi and breakfast. The lobby and hallways are modern and bright. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The décor is a little dated but it did not bother us. The views from the higher floors are nice, especially if you are on the river side. The location is a mixed bag- it is close to restaurants, the Blue Cross Arena, the convention center, and the jazz festival sites. However, you have do have to walk past many bus stops and homeless people. I don't fault the Hyatt because when they built it in 1993, it was most likely a better area. The check in and check out were both smooth. The people at the front desk were friendly and the breakfast buffet was fabulous. Parking was $4 which we consider a bargain for a city hotel garage. Overall, we were pleased and we felt like we got a lot for our money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripavisor. We really appreciate the nice comments about the hotel, our front desk staff and the wonderful Jazz Fest we host in Rochester each year. As many downtowns, Rochester‘s is going through a period of transformation. Although our Main Street may look uninviting right now, change is in the air. We are excited about many new developments in the downtown area such as those at the former Midtown site including the nearly completed Windstream Corporation Building; the Midtown Tower revitalization into mixed use retail, offices and housing; the new roads and park (scheduled for late summer completion) going in at the Midtown site; the plans the Winn Corporation has for the former Sibley Building on Main Street (this company revitalized Faneuil Hall in Boston). We are excited about the new developments and hope you will visit again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Standard Hyatt Regency experience: clean, understated, normal featured rooms with normal business amenities. Dated property but facilities/features have been kept modern. Flawless stay with excellent standard breakfast buffet - real eggs/food and reasonable selection of all other food groups. Service was perfunctory and friendly. Downside/upside is its urban downtown location - not the most comforting area to be in, especially at night, but right next to convention center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I know our Chef will really appreciate ithe comments about the buffet as he continually tries inventive and fresh products. As many downtowns, Rochester‘s is going through a period of transformation. Although our Main Street may look uninviting right now, change is in the air. We are excited about many new developments in the downtown area such as those at the former Midtown site including the nearly completed Windstream Corporation Building; the Midtown Tower revitalization into mixed use retail, offices and housing; the new roads and park (scheduled for late summer completion) going in at the Midtown site; the plans the Winn Corporation has for the former Sibley Building on Main Street (this company revitalized Faneuil Hall in Boston). Also, we have a new Transit Center going up just around the corner from Main Street; and many housing units being built in historic buildings in the downtown neighborhood.

Plus, right now there are a couple of wonderful, lively, and exciting neighborhoods within easy walking distance of the center of downtown. It’s a safe environment, but if you feel uneasy, we do have a program that provides escorted walks to local restaurants and attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's a very nice hotel that deserved a 5 rating ten years ago. But it is now out of touch on a few things. Travelers (at least this traveler) have grown accustomed to free Internet access, and a refrigerator and microwave in the room. They are important to us and we missed them.

Otherwise, the staff is unbelievably friendly and eager to help, and the room was very, very clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but a parking tip. You should park in the first available spot to avoid the nightmare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate the nice comments about our staff as well as the cleanliness of our guest rooms. The hotel does offer refridgerators and microwaves upon request so you are aware for future visits. We look forward to your next visit for leisure or for business. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold3480
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room is warm as air conditioner doesn't cool properly. The pillows are tiny and flat. Used them all and still wasn't enough. The bed is uncomfortable and the lightbulb by the night table is out. Also, still can't find the valet parking as it's hidden somewhere. Self parked which is a pain. Stayed here for one night on business and will not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is crucial in helping us continuously improve our hotel and guest service. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your guest room as well as the parking arrangements. The Valet Services are offered in the main entrance of the hotel located on the Main Street entrance. We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is attractive, clean, and staffed by helpful, polite people. The room and mattress were good. The bathroom, which had a magnifying mirror, was modern and clean. I'd gladly stay there again. Very convenient to the convention center.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the nice comments about our staff, rooms and downtown Rochester area. We look forward to your next visit for leisure or for business. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

When I arrived to check into the hotel there were 5 of us that had room reservations - all were found except mine so I stepped back until the others in my party could be checked in. Micah J. noticed the anxiety I was feeling and offered to help - with a reassuring smile and calmness, he promptly found my reservation. His great customer service shined not only then but several times over our 3 night stay. Jeff at the lounge was also very friendly and helpful. There was also a gentleman that offered to shuttle us to our evening destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt H, Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are excited to have Micah and Jeff as part of the team and I am glad Micah was able to assist with locating your reservation. We look forward to your return to Rochester and our Hyatt. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Rochester

Address: 125 East Main Street, Rochester, NY 14604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rochester
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
#11 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect blend of location, style and pampering amenities at our newly renovated downtown Rochester hotel. Whether you're in town for business or leisure, you'll find Hyatt Regency Rochester is always the ideal choice. Attached to the convention center by a convenient sky bridge, our urban contemporary Rochester New York hotel offers over 21,000 square feet of newly renovated function space with a connection to an additional 100,000 square feet. Take advantage of our central setting to visit the many corporations located nearby or plan a relaxing weekend of touring wineries and attending the theater. Situated just minutes from the airport, our welcoming Hyatt Regency offers stylish guestrooms with thoughtfully selected amenities, superior services and an uncompromising dedication to customer satisfaction. Whether you're planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion or a romantic getaway, Hyatt Regency Rochester is the premier accommodation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.