We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 E. Henrietta Rd, Rochester, NY 14623   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Kingston, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“An ideal Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

On the surprisingly consistent recommendations of fellow Trip Advisor contributors, we selected this property for a trip to the Rochester area. The praise is well earned. The La Quinta South was well located and featured a very welcoming staff. Special kudos to Jerry, wearing a number of hats and all of them with friendly enthusiasm. Our room was comfortable and quiet, even muffling the thunderclaps of a very strong weekend storm. There is an indoor pool and an efficient fitness center both featuring generous hours. There were at least 4 dinner oriented restaurants on the same street corner and in our lobby, an adequate continental breakfast enhanced by the now iconic waffle maker. There is also a Rite Aid across the street as well as a large community college with plenty of grounds for working off a frisbee fix or other outdoor choices.
As is the case with this value chain, it was low on frills. Bring your own hand lotion and conditioner. But this hotel certainly met our needs as a base for our activities
More to do in the area than you might guess, but don't miss Letchworth State Park with gorges and waterfalls and other sightseeing as well asThe George Eastman Museum/House - a fascinating history of the man who brought us Kodak. In the summer months take in a value priced AAA baseball game featuring the affiliate of the Minn. Twins.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    74
    26
    20
    12
See reviews for
114
42
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for our daughter's visit to University of Rochester and several restaurants are within walking distance if you don't feel like driving. If you have budgets on dining, going to eat at DiBella's Italian Market (620 Jefferson Rd) is a MUST.
Amenities are updated and personally I felt the breakfast area could be larger to accommodate more guests.
Things I have concerns are no restroom or pre-shower area in the pool/spa room. Maybe that's the reason tons of chlorine was in the spa. The pool towels can be bigger.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stay at many luxury hotels, but when travelling with our dog and arriving late, look for a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay. This is perfect, Low pretense, friendly-enough staff, immaculate rooms. My dog usually stays in the car, but it was the heat wave, so I asked about keeping her in the room. I've always been hesitant to stay in a pet-friendly room because I have so many allergies, so does husband. All their rooms are pet-friendly, and every one we've stayed in has been immaculate. My Britaany esp. enjoyed to cheese egg omelets and sausage! Best deal for the money anywhere we've stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while my daughter was at the University of Rochester. They have a special rate for those attending the U of R. We arrived to the aroma of just-baked cookies and hot coffee-both were great! Our check-in was smooth and the front desk people were courteous and efficient. Our room was very nice and it included a microwave and refrigerator. The room was exceptionally clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable! Our room faced the parking lot, but we didn't hear any noise. Breakfast at this hotel was above average for "free" breakfast. The food was fresh and the breakfast bar was well-tended.
This hotel is in a nice area and not too far from the University. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Clean, good basic hotel. The mattress was too soft, however, felt overused. But very good value and convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

After two weeks of travel with two teenage boys we needed a break. The 2 room suite at La Quinta provided this. Very clean. Nice unlimited hot breakfast, eggs and sausage (or next day eggs and bacon), cereal, baked goods, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, juice, waffles, - great with bottomless teenage appetites. Good wireless (one son was doing course selection for university so this was a must), a coin laundry (you need US quarters), a business centre (two desktop computers with a free printer). A little noisy on the top floor with the mechanical room and the traffic (maybe ask for lower floor away from traffic), but in all, a welcome respite as you can be completely separate from the kids. You get a king and they get a sofa-bed. One took the sofa-bed and the other took the sofa cushions and made a bed on the floor. Insisted he was comfortable and did not want a cot. Floor, room, and hotel clean enough that it seemed like an OK idea. A separate bathroom in each room, a TV in each room, and a fridge. Nice pool and hot tub.
Crab Shack, Fridays, and Delmonicos Steakhouse within easy walking distance of hotel. Tried TGI Fridays and were not impressed, especially with the Nachos. Used coupons from the advertising rack at the hotel for Bill Grays restaurant. Got half price, very tasty, homemade style cheese burgers and $3.00 off sundaes. Their claim of the best cheeseburger may be close to the truth.
Other son searching for a particular book took us to a nearby mall with a Barnes and Noble. He found his obscure book (good selection) and we tried the International Buffet in the mall just down from the bookstore. From a distance looks a little dubious, but up close, great food and very attentive service. At about $6.95 each for an all you can eat buffet probably the best food value of the trip. Strangely, the best ice cream we had in our tourist swing through Pennsylvanian, NJ, NY, and back to Canada.
Looked for 2 different antique sales establishments in Rochester which did not seem to exist anymore although our GPS and an internet search confirmed them to be there. Go figure?
Hotel with auto club discount about $120 Canadian. We would gladly return to this La Quinta if we again found ourselves in Rochester. All in all, a restful break during our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for auto club rate, avoid street side and mechanical room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

La Quinta has definitely changed its stripes in my book. I was surprised at how nice the rooms were, the flat screen TV's, the granite in the bathrooms, etc. The bed was a little uncomfortable but my husband thought it was great. The mini-fridge was nice since we were traveling with out 6-month-old at the time. They have free breakfast and the staff is friendly. One morning we were there the whole room and the hallway smelled like cigarette smoke and I was mad but the staff assured us there was no smoking so I'm not sure where it came from. Overall, a great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South

Address: 717 E. Henrietta Rd, Rochester, NY 14623
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 4 miles from the airport and less than a mile from University of Rochester, Monroe Community College, Strong Memorial Hospital and the Erie Canal. Local corporations include Xerox, Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Harris RF. Hockey, lacrosse, and soccer games played at nearby ESL Sports Center, Rhino Stadium, Frontier Field or Blue Cross Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South Hotel Rochester
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rochester South
Hampton Inn Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.