We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Rochester” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 E. Henrietta Rd, Rochester, NY 14623   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Place in Rochester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This hotel met all of my needs- clean, quiet, good location, good internet access, friendly staff, and great breakfast area with lots of room. I would recommend this location for anyone looking for a good night's sleep in Rochester.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    74
    26
    20
    12
See reviews for
114
42
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Really, my only gripe is that it's a touch pricey for Rochester, NY. Good rooms, good parking, good staff, ok location, and its quiet and comfortable.

It does have one "gotcha", the signs are almost impossible to see from Henrietta Rd, unless you're headed out of town or come from the freeway. Since I came the other way, I had to do a song and dance to get back to the hotel entrance.

Oh, and the italian restaurant across the road from the hotel rocks. Large, busy family owned place. Yay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Smallish rooms, just off an interstate. Can't miss a canary-yellow painted 5 story building. The windows in the rooms do open - but that causes a droning wind-tunnel whistling inside the rooms facing the front of the building. Rooms across the hall facing the back don't have this problem -- the noise from the interstate off-ramp and cars queued at the traffic light definitely drowns out the eerie whistling. Whatever. And do check the bill slipped under your door before you leave -- I caught an rate overcharge. Sure, it likely might have been fixed afterward, but.... just check. Rated in the top 5 in Rochester? Is this possible? Ending on a plus: pet-friendly.

Room Tip: Use you best discount. But do that every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed two nights during a family funeral. We had seven rooms all together. They have a bereavement rate of $75 and even have a handsome printout with your loved one's name on it giving directions from the hotel to the cemetery, etc. The rooms were handsome and quiet. The breakfast included eggs and many other items. The staff was excellent in every way. The location was very convenient for our group. In addition the airport shuttle was free.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed at this LQ for one night while driving accross NY state. Among all the hotels on our road trip, this was one of the best. We had made reservations online and arrived at the hotel around 6PM, shortly after dark. What we immediately noticed was that lobby and breakfast area looked comfortable with chairs and sofas and were nicely lit - other people seemed to feel the same and were sitting there reading magazines. The breakfast area is open 24/7 and offers complimentary coffee and tea. The front desk clerk was very friendly and already had our express checkin prepared. What we weren't prepared for was her last comment that still sticks in our head: "cookies at 8" - she was serious, I don't know if it was a special day or if it was because of a university reunion happening that weekend, but they were seriously serving fresh cookies later that evening, together with fresh coffee. Never seen anything like it.
When we got off the elevator on the third floor the overall impression continued - thick, clean carpets that absorbed all noise. The room was in very good shape, nice thick bed covers, quality looking furniture, flatscreen TV, comfortable chair, nice lamps, we immediately felt comfortable. Instead of the regular rectangle-shaped bathrooms this one had a special touch to it, it was more like a triangle. There were lots of mirrors, again nice lighting, we really enjoyed it. Later that evening I went down to the business center which is in a separate room, also quiet and nicely done.
There are a few restaurants nearby, one is next door, but we decided to drive somewhere else. Locationwise the LQ is located directly at the interstate exit, making it easy to find. I don't know about the noise levels in the rooms facing the road, we were facing the parking lot and had a very quiet night.
The next morning we enjoyed a really good breakfast. Selection was great, an employee was constantly checking if everything was still stocked all the way up to the end of breakfast hours (open until 10AM even during weekdays), the area was sufficiently large so that we found a table (others had returned to the comfortable sofas).
Staying here was a very pleasant experience, the staff was great, the property is great, the standard is very high, probably one of the best LQs I have ever been to. We will gladly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

The important things were top notch - the staff was wonderful and accomodating, the common areas and room were spotless, and the cookies and continental breakfast were a just right touch. Having said that, however, the heating left a bit to be desired. The hallways were chilly and stepping into the elevator was not much warmer than stepping out to the 25 degree parking lot. The room heating unit had trouble overcoming the cold drafts flowing in from the hallway and around the unit itself. Bring a sweater and warm pajamas and you'll be fine. Also, we had a fantastic dinner at the Crab Shack (located adjacent to the hotel parking lot) and will certainly eat there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast US
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Pet friendly -- great plus, traveled with an ice hockey team and they worked with us to make the trip pleasant. Staff was friendly, had cookies ready for the girls after games. Rooms were overall ok except window heating units must be replaced due to noise and cold air leaking around them. Little things like phone being really dirty and lamps being dusty bothered me but for the price and event I used some wet wipes to clean the phone and remote and moved on. It's a budget but family friendly place and I would give it a much higer rating if just a little cleaner and heater quiet, but all in all I would stay there again, particularly if traveling with a pet. Again, staff went out of their way to be helpful so kudos to them!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South

Address: 717 E. Henrietta Rd, Rochester, NY 14623
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 4 miles from the airport and less than a mile from University of Rochester, Monroe Community College, Strong Memorial Hospital and the Erie Canal. Local corporations include Xerox, Kodak, Bausch & Lomb, and Harris RF. Hockey, lacrosse, and soccer games played at nearby ESL Sports Center, Rhino Stadium, Frontier Field or Blue Cross Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South Hotel Rochester
La Quinta Inn And Suites Rochester South
Hampton Inn Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.