We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be cleaner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 West Ridge Road, Rochester, NY 14615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“could be cleaner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I have stayed here last yr and was VERY pleased but, was very surprised when I returned with my family this year. The bathroom seat was dirty, I found a dirty towel and AC didn't work :( Yes! they fix everything right away but, it really bother me to get to a room tired and having to see this. :( Also bathroom's are too SMALL (tight fit)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
17
15
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown Pa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Our room and bathroom were immaculate. The decor was muted and very nice. The staff were friendly - both on the phone and in person. Breakfast was very good - choice of cold cereals, instant oatmeal, bagels, donuts, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit. Plenty of choices and plenty of food. Convenient to many chain restaurants. Next time, I would ask for a room away from the road, because the road is busy and noisy. We blasted the fan to drown out the traffic. However, that would be true of all the hotels along this road. Hotel itself was quiet inside. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

this is the first and worst hotel experience I have had. they charged me twice and refused to pay me back for damages

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

The rooms looked brand new at this hotel and the service was pretty good. Everyone was friendly and my room was clean. It was what I expected and the wi-fi was free.

The breakfast is pretty good and the room looked new.

I would recommend this hotel and plan on going back next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Despite exterior renovations, the interior of the hotel was clean. What impressed us the most was the Serta Pillow Top mattress in our room. We've never had such a comfortable and good nights sleep at any of the other hotels we've stayed at in the Rochester NY area!

  • Liked — Serta Pillow Top mattress; proximity of restaurants.
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

We ended up at the Comfort Inn West after being bumped from our original reservation at the Quality Inn Airport. The Comfort Inn was adequate (though farther from where we wanted to be) but due to confusion or just not caring by the original hotel we were given a smoking room and there were no non-smoking rooms left. The room itself seemed to have been mostly renovated but with a few shabby spots remaining (noticed mildew on the bathroom ceiling and electrical outlets that were very grimy e.g.) .
There are many restaurants within walking distance which is convenient. The free breakfast is pretty good and was well serviced. The beds were comfortable, the shower nice, and the window actually opened which mitigated the smoke smell somewhat. Staff helpful.
Certainly an adequate hotel but nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

My husband and I had to travel to New York for a family emergency. We stayed at this hotel because it was in close proximity to our family. Upon arrival, the woman at the front desk asked us why we were coming to N.Y from Hawaii in March. Especially when they still were having snow. When we told her it was because of a family emergency, they gave us a discount on our rate. Nice touch.

Usually when we travel, we stay with another hotel chain. So we were a bit apprehensive about this trip. Although this is not one of your more upscale hotels, the staff more than make up for it .

Our room although nothing fancy, was clean and large, with a couch and coffee table, table and chair, fridge, microwave, as well as a comfortable bed. Most of all it was quiet.

A deluxe continental breakfast is included in the price. Which was a nice way to start off your day. There are alot of places to eat in the area for lunch and dinner as well

I would highly recommend this hotel to someone visiting the Rochester area who might be on a budget.

  • Liked — The wonderful staff.
  • Disliked — For the money, I didn't have any complaints.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 1501 West Ridge Road, Rochester, NY 14615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Rochester
Comfort Inn Rochester
Rochester Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.