We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a smoke-free Comfort Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 West Ridge Road, Rochester, NY 14615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Not a smoke-free Comfort Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A small sign on the entry door says smoking in designated rooms only. It is very obvious that at least some smokers can't read. The elevator and stair wells (I like to use stairs for some exercise) were NOT smoke free. If smoke is a problem for you stay away. Room was clean - we skipped breakfast - way too crowded. Our room fronted on Ridge Road - a bit noisely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 'back' not facing Ridge Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1501, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I would like to start out by thanking you for taking the time out of your day to post a review of our hotel. I want to apologize that your stay was unpleasant due to our guest not following the guidelines we have in place. Holiday weekends are always a busy time for travel. I am sorry you didn’t visit our breakfast where you could have enjoyed fresh made waffles along with all the essentials of a hot breakfast. I hope you provide us with an opportunity to exceed your lodging needs in the future.

“Come bring your family to meet our family”

Sincerely
Dennis Duthoy General Manager NY407 Ph: 585-621-5700 email: gm.ny407@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
19
15
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Well, we booked a non-smoking room and when we got there they told us they were all sold out.
We even received a confirmation the week before saying they were looking forward to our stay.
So, they ended up finding us a room which was smoking. Needless to say, it was very disgusting
staying in a room all night that smelled like smoke. The women at the desk checking us in was
very rude to us, if there was a manager there, I would have reported her. I would not recommend
this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I'll give you a good tip, don't go there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1501, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review of our property. I apologize for your experience at our hotel and with what sounds like a third party site that you made your reservations through. What I suggest to all of our guests, is to use our official site for Choice Hotels (Choicehotels.com). There you will receive all the detailed information you need to find the right hotel to fit your needs, as well as the best price available.

Please contact me to discuss this in more detail. Please email me at gm.ny407@choicehotels.com.

Thank you in advance

Dennis Duthoy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were in the King bed/Spa bath room. It was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and the staff was plesasant. Breakfast was okay. With the senior citizen discount, we'll be back again.
Coffee maker, fridge and microwave were brand new. Loved the fact the our favorite restaurant was right next door.

Room Tip: King bedrooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort1501, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear 242Jone,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to you visiting us again at the Comfort Inn West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the hotel was just minutes from the hospital. The in room coffee was surprisingly good! I would stay here again
The lobby was being renovated but the staff was friendly and it didn't affect our stay. My only complaint was the poor pressure in the shower

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We just needed a bed for our head. For the price of this hotel, you would be better off staying somewhere else. The staff was very nice and so was the breakfast. But if an updated and cleaner room is of importance to you (it is to us) then I cannot recommend a stay here. To maybe pay just a few dollars more and go to a much cleaner hotel would be worth it. Our room was very outdated. There was food in the freezer along with lots of piled up frost. The bathtub had lots of hair left in it along with the bottom of the tub dirty. Around the handicap bars in the tub was black slimy dirt. We had no luggage rack in our rooms and the pillows on the bed were a 15 x 15 inch square. The phone in our room was very dirty and we could barely hear out of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Clean, comfortable and spacious room with two queens, microwave, coffee maker, fridge and TV.
Breakfast was better than some other Comfort Inns with lovely DIY waffles but be warned they stop serving EXACTLY at 9.30am and the woman in charge is plain rude.

The rest of the staff were all friendly and helpful. One lady in particular spent a lot of time suggesting places for us to visit that she had enjoyed and gave us a real insight into the area.

Parking and good fast wifi are free. There is a gym (ladies only) across the road and I believe an exercise room in the hotel too. Within a block there is a starbucks, old country buffet, red lobster, dollar tree and toys r us and a lot more within a few extra blocks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

very clean and spacious rooms. the staff was very friendly and i liked that it was close to places to dine and places i needed to be. continental breakfast was average. the only thing i really didn't like was the 2 dollar charge for the safe they snuck in that wasn't stated when e reservation was made or upon checking in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 1501 West Ridge Road, Rochester, NY 14615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Rochester
Comfort Inn Rochester
Rochester Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.