We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond DISGUSTING OWNERS!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Parkside Diner
4353 Culver Rd, Rochester, NY 14622-1514
585-323-2710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #530 of 1,105 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beyond DISGUSTING OWNERS!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I no longer care how my experience was over the Holidays, I go to locally owned, family "Mom n Pop" places to SUPPORT THEM. I will never again give my hard earned money to these absolutely lower than pond scum owners, THAT DO NOT HAVE ONE IOTA OF COMPASSION, OR HUMAN DECENCY for those that make them their money!

Imagine a beloved, close family member JUST DIED. Your boss tells you if you tend to you and your family's urgent needs (grief, funeral arrangements, etc) you'll be FIRED. You choose to support your loved ones and your loved one's memory. Your now EX-boss, while you are FRESHLY GRIEVING WITH YOUR FAMILY, sends you horrific txt messages along the likes of "every one has lost a loved one....you aren't the only one to experience a loss.....etc.". Sadly, this is what the owners of this establishment find acceptable.

I will spending my hard earned money elsewhere FOR SURE!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NO Way!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The owners of this establishment refused to give time off to an employee when a family member died and the family was at the hospital. Subsequently he was told he would lose his job for taking days off to be with his grieving family. This lack of compassion by owners Jim and Greg is totally insensitive and lacking in ethical practice for employers and shows a total lack of care for humanity and we wonder why our society is the way it is with people like this?
I will not again darken the doors of the Parkside Diner and will encourage all others to do the same. Good food and great atmosphere can be found elsewhere with employers of integrity and compassion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irondequoit, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Boycott this Place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I will never eat here again! Considering how they treated an employee who's brother in law passed by firing him for taking time off to be with his family. Totally uncompassionate owners and does not deserve anyone's business!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unethical, immoral business practices - AVOID!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The owners of this diner refused to let an employee go to the hospital to be with his family as his brother-in-law had just passed away. When he asked for time to be with his family in the days following, he was told to show up for work or be fired. He stayed with his family and was fired. So you really want to support a business with such horrible ethics?? I hope not!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Fish Fry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My Wife and I try a lot of local places for fish fry we stopped in to Parkside on a recommendation from a friend and it was great, I had the Beer Batter and My wife got the broiled, people were great very nice price also what"s why we will be back and I can not wait till next week ., we found a keeper THANKS

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkside Diner also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Parkside Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.