We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delmonico's Italian Steak HSE

Delmonico's Italian Steak HSE
125 White Spruce Blvd, Rochester, NY 14623
(585) 424-4242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,095 restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth going”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Good food, fun atmosphere, expensive. I come here every time I go to rochester. Salmon is better than the steak. Great soup!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    51
    38
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, N.Y.
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Best Bang for the Beef Buck anywhere, bar none”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Having visited this steakhouse numerous times with friends and family, we were most happily confronted with yet another delightful experience. Great food, promptly and pleasantly served, reasonably priced. A pound and a half of prime, tender, tasty beefsteak, trimmings a la carte should you wish them, good appetizers (try the pasta chips!)....a great meal. The only downsides I can see are the "no reservations" policy, and an uninspired dessert offering. The wait is considerable (1.5 hours unless you got your name on the "not-reservations" list which they make some to-do about cutting wait time in half (??)), and though certainly acceptable the desserts are not up to the standard set by the remainder of the menu. Apparently I would recommend the place to friends for we continue to return, a few times each year.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service paired up with awesome food/drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The restaurant was located within walking distance of our hotel which was nice already. It was lit up with lights and nicely decorated for the fall season. The restaurant had nice music and our waitress was awesome. She was super energetic and friendly. We had steak which was cooked to perfection. The drinks were yummy and strong, just like they were meant to be. The prices were pretty decent too, given the fact that it's a steak restaurant. I would recommend it for families, friends or couples.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They sold me the sizzle, I would have preferred the steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Guess I got caught by the name, thinking of the Delmonico's in NYC. Then thinking I wanted a Delmonico steak I went for it. I had their signature steak. It was good, ok. Not great and amazing. There was way to much work for me to cut through the inedible parts. When I am at a great steak house I should not have to be cutting away inedible parts. The edible parts were delicious.

The schtick was a bit to kitschy for me too. The ancient decor and waitresses in hotpants and black stockings. Guess it might be fun with a goup. I prefer a good steak without the BS.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice steakhouse, not so Italian.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

I loved the ambience of this restaurant and the filet mignon was in the top ten that I've had.

Good:
Curteous staff.
Fresh baked bread.
Good wine selection.
Food cooked very well, to order.
Good desert menu.

Nitpicking:
No olive oil and basalmic vinegar offered for the bread.

Overall a great dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delmonico's Italian Steak HSE also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Delmonico's Italian Steak HSE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delmonico's Italian Steak HSE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.