We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit was a good one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elmwood Inn

Elmwood Inn
1256 Mount Hope Ave, Rochester, NY 14620-2937
585-271-5195
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,126 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“first visit was a good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I went tonite for dinner. We ordered wings (garlic park) for appetizer and yummmm we made a mental note to come back for wings. Then we had the cheddar broccoli soup which the server reminded us has jalepeno...and she wasnt kidding! got another bowl to go also which I will share with coworkers. my chicken parmesan was very good. Husbands caesar salad was just so-so. We will go back. ps next table over had some great looking nachos LOL

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Elmwood Inn is a casual restaurant and bar with great food! On the side of the restaurant with the bar there are many TV's around the room that are tuned to sporting events. The bar is in the middle with tables around the perimeter of the bar, and also another smaller room down a few stairs with a large TV at each end. In the summer they open patio dining off the bar side. On the other side of the restaurant are tables with no TV's. They have a great fish fry on Fridays, and a very nice menu of dinners, salads, burgers, sandwiches, wraps, quesadillas, etc., along with a full bar drink menu. They have a rewards card that is free, and what you spend on dinner add to your points, and when you reach a certain number of points, they send you a gift coupon. Periodically they also send out a newsletter with coupons inside, and for your birthday and your half birthday, they send you a coupon for a free dinner up to $12.95 - with no strings attached! It is a nice, neighborhood establishment that I am happy to recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I joined a group of foodies at this restaurant recently. I was expecting good things when I looked at their menu beforehand. So disappointed. Sounded fancy, but came rather average. Should have expected that as soon as we walked in the door, because it was more of a pub atmosphere. The food was just ok but came warm. One of our group had a long hair on her plate and needed to send it back. No apologies from the server. All in all, if you're just looking for a beer/wings/burgers etc. then this is the place for you. Sadly, we will not return if/when we come back to visit Rochester.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good for "The Cheers" pub grub neighborhood bar/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The kitchen is open late, maybe as late as midnight or 1:00 AM. This was very important to me given the limited selection of late night eateries other than dinners in Rochester. Very close to the U of R, Strong Memorial and Highland Hospitals.
They offer a reasonable selection of pub grub, as well as nightly specials. I am a big fan of their Black and Blue salad, as well as their honey Cajun chicken wings. They also have beer specials and a frequent guest program that rewards for accumulated spending, they also give you generous rewards on your birthday and half birthday.
The staff is incredibly friendly and personable. You quickly become a member of the "Cheers" sort of community that the Elmwood Inn fosters. Also I think the parking issue has been somewhat corrected as the home that was immediately next to the Elmwood Inn is no longer there. And if parking is still a problem it is worth the 100 foot walk for the food, service, and good feeling the Elmwood provides IMHO.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Limited parking outweighs good food!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I had not been to the Elmwood in for many years. When we got there, we realized that one of the issues we had many years ago, still exists! Nowhere to park!! Especially when there is snow on the ground and some of the few spaces are filled with plowed snow. Then, you have the idiots that just park wherever they want, and end up making it really difficult for those already parked, to get out when they leave! Very limited parking in their lot, and the front of the place is on a main road with no parking. To the north is a one-way street but if you want to park on that, you have to go around a large block, and then deal with confusing signs for alternating parking. So .. we got lucky and found a spot just as we were to go somewhere else. The hostess and servers were very pleasant, and we were seated right away. Luckily we arrived around 5:30 on a Friday night, because by 6:00 PM, people had to wait to be seated.
They have a nice menu and reasonable prices. Our waitress was friendly and always check on how we were doing. We were impressed when a couple of elderly ladies came in and were seated near us. One of the ladies staed that she really liked the Talapia and all that came with it ... BUT ... she wanted everything except chicken instead of Talapia. Once the waitress realized what she wanted, she told her that they can make the change to get her what she wanted. When the salad came out, it had some toppngs that she didn't want. Again the waitress said .. no problem and replaced her salad with what she wanted. Nice to see them accomodate people instead of being locked into only what's on the menu!
So, the bottom line is that if you can get past the frustration of trying to find a parkng spot, it was a nice place with good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmwood Inn also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Elmwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.